Ratings based on 547 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location

Posted Jan 25, 2016
My experience here was good, the room was tidy I was a bit paranoid about the shutters initially I didn't want any peeping toms but there wasn't any problems with that, the pool was a bit dirty, with tree leaves and was a bit fungal the hot tub was colder than the actual pool, it would have been nice to pop in there but it was too cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Good location in city

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Great location close to shopping and eating facilities in the centre of Cairns. Accomodation was good enough without being exceptional. Handy for parking availability. Ideal for short term visit and overall was good value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast

4 Stars? I don't think so!!

Posted Jan 19, 2016
I have no idea how this hotel could be rated anything close to 4 stars, it would be pushing for 2 at the very best. Old style rooms our "King" bed was 2 single beds pushed together with a very noticeable split down the middle. Room was cramped. The tiled floors have more then likely been there since the 80's when the place was built and the old school bathroom hasn't seen an upgrade either. Was an uncomfortable 2 night stay and we were on the verge of moving to another hotel. Staff told us that they did not have baby cots upon arrival however after questioning this one was dug out of the basement pretty sure it was also from the 80's. The onsite restaurant is ludicrously expensive and with those prices I'm not sure how it survives!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2016
The amount of bucks you pay here I think it's worth, if you look around there is nothing significant better for less than 150 AUD, I paid 123 AUD and that including breakfast, location is terrific if you want more of a flash hotel then you can do the Rydges or the Double Three but that would be more like 190 AUD, which I don't think will be justify. Yes Wife only works in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Clean and tidy hotel, close to the main amenities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location nice ambiance

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Pros: the position, the comfort and the ambiance
Location: Easy walk to the Esplanade where all the vibe of Cairns is happening
it was just for one evening, very enjoyable. I really like the plantation/colonial character.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern cal

a two star at best

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: The pool area is nice, If it were cleaned up.
Cons: A redo.
Our room was so dirty. We didn't even want to walk on the bathroom floor. Our window looked at the common area bathrooms and had no sun light. The shower is built for someone under 5'8". I couldn't even get my head under the shower head. When we checked, I asked for adjoining rooms and was told they were. They weren't. There are no amenities in the rooms. After walking around Cairns, I realized there are some really nice hotels at the same price point. This was the worst hotel stay I have had in years...Only a small percentage of the staff speak English.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as expected - Disappointed

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Location was good, and the style would be nice if the place was maintained better.
Cons: Maintenance and general clenleness
The first thing we came across when checking in was that the building has leaked and the leak had not been attended to. This left the carpet wet and mouldy and this kind of smell is not what you expect in the main hallway. Unfortunately the rooms where in disrepair also. The bathroom fixings where loose and the shower tap fell off. The water pipes groaned loudly when the other rooms used the water and woke us up a number of times in the middle of the night and early morning. The air conditioner looked like it had not been maintained in the last 12 months. I will not be returning to Hotel Cains and I expected more of a hotel with a 3.9 rating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Prima Hotel, dicht genoeg bij het centrum zonder er midden in te zitten. Vriendelijk personeel, prima ontbijt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location excellent staff service

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: Staff
Location: Center of townsteve
The staff at this hotel is one of the best I've Ever had . The all go the extra mile to meet ur requirements exspicaly the young lady at the reception desk. This lady needs special reconation for her positive attitude and wanting ur trip to be a great one