Ratings based on 758 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW, Australia

Disappointed

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Stayed at the City Room for 3 nights. The building hasn't been renovated for many years and and should be maintained more if it is a hotel. It was noisy due to the traffic noise in the bed room. One of the reasons that I chose this hotel was "Free WiFi" but it didn't work in the bed room AT ALL. The staff tried to extend the service but it didn't work then they started to say that WiFi was not guaranteed. So please do remove the "Free WiFi" from the property's highlights. Shower head's holder in the bath room was broken when we checked-in and it was fixed on the following day. We could not use my both hands while we were taking shower on the first night. The tap handle for the hot water gets extremely hot during shower/bath so we needed to use the towel to stop the hot water. My son was about to get burnt. The sliding door to the balcony didn't move and we could not use balcony. It was not fixed until the day 2, so we had no access to the balcony first day/night. Swimming pool was not attractive. Breakfast at the Chinese restaurant inside the property was convenient but the food/coffee was not good. They serve the same items every morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, close to beach and attractions

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The hotel was centrally located! The stay was comfortable. Having a toaster and a mini microwave would have made it more convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Hotel style is very tropical with large rooms. The staff is excelllecnt and the hotel is walking distance to everything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SYDNEY

Standard Hotel within walking distance to Cairns

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Buffet breakfast is simple nothing too exciting. Compare to other Hotels I have stayed at within the region recently. Breakfast is a 4 out of 10. Accommodation is clean and tidy, yet the hotel is in need of some much needed repairs. Noise level is moderate. Have 2 hand towels and 2 towels. My question is why not put a face washer in the room. What surprised me is that the hotel had NO information in the room on local best eats and places to visit. For a tourist destination, this a must. They did promote their own on site restaurant, which to me was clearly over priced including the specials. When looking at restaurants, I look for value for couples and families. Accommodation is a 5 out of 10. Staff are friendly. Friendliness and knowledge of staff is a 7 out of 10. (Local knowledge was not questioned. As I was up in Cairns for personal reasons not holidaying on this occasion) Would I stay again. Probably not.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel sits on a wonderful building site in Central

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Its location close to the sea and within walking distance of most major Cairns attractions.
The Hotel Cairns sits on a wonderful building site in Central Cairns and the hotel owners should consider bulldozing the hotel and redeveloping the site. Sadly, although there is some evidence of refurbishment in the recent past, the hotel is not up to scratch and caters mainly for Chinese tourists. It's "full breakfast" was a disgrace. Should not have a four star rating - probably a 2 1/2 star would be appropriate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy beds

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Buffet breakfast was a let down. Not wdll laied out and ni variety
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: bathroom was old. The lighting was dismal, the hairdryer didn't work, blew a fuse trying my own hairdryer.
Location: It was in a good location, walking distance to everything.,
Very Old, no ambiance, needs upgrading. only good thing was the location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tablelands

Close to hospital, CBD, restaurants

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Room size was excellent, as was the layout, bed comfy
Clean, neat, tidy and the staff were very friendly and helpful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but noisy

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Hotel is close to eateries and seafront which was a plus. The room was okay. We thought it was quite noisy at night, the hotel being at the intersection of 2 major streets. The breakfast was disappointing; the food didn't look fresh and was tasteless. We would not recommend to stay at this hotel. There seem to be many more choices in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Great location

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Very helpful, friendly staff. Bed very comfortable and room spacious. Good breakfast and overall good value for money.