Ratings based on 533 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel and facilities

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The hotel was perfectly positioned right in the middle of the main strip, and just metres from the beach. Ambience was excellent.
Cons: The price of food & beverages was a little high, especially for lunchtime meals & drinks. These could be reduced in price and more variety added.
Location: Location was excellent with watersports & exercise classes on the beach.
We had a great stay. Room was lovely overlooking the pool. Very clean and great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Wayne H , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and feedback, we appreciate your decision to stay with us. Please are very pleased to know you had a great stay, we will certainly take your feedback regarding meal prices into consideration. Thank you once again,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place to relax

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: I loved the open nature of it. The pool area is really nice and the restaurant serves wonderful food.
Cons: The pool area feels a little tight, but it is not that bad.
Location: So much! I decided to go to the reef, but there are plenty of other things including water sports, a jungle canopy ride via cable car.
The premises are very nice and charming. The staff is incredibly helpful. I wanted to arrange an excursion to the reef, so I explained to them what I wanted to experience and they came back with the perfect opportunity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Wayne H , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for staying with us ! We really appreciate your feedback and our team is very pleased to know you had a great time with us. Travel safe and we hope you have the opportunity to return again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best resort on the block

Posted Feb 23, 2017
100% recommend this resort to anyone travelling to palm cove! We stayed there for 4 days with not a single issue. Our room was ready at 1pm, It's a beautiful resort, the staff are lovely, the pools are perfect, the rooms are clean, the food is delicious and it's really just what you need!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Wayne H , Hotel Management
Dear Expedia Guest, Thank you so much for staying with us and for posting such a great review. It is really great to know you feel we are the best resort on the block ! Everybody at the Reef House are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much again, it was great to have you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Great hotel Great staff. Overall experience was great . The reef house had free punch out the back by the pool area every day. Was a great to meet people staying at the hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Wayne H , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for posting such a great review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and also great to know you were able to enjoy our special Brigadier Punch and canapes, served nightly from 5pm until 6pm every night. Take care and thank you again,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Colonial comfort in the tropics

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The decor impressed from the first. Staff great and the food in the restaurant is of a very high standard. Exceptional value for money resort.
Cons: Wifi, phone signal and TV reception not reliable. But plenty else to do! Would like a good radio in the room.
Location: Being on the esplanade was handy to everything. Short drive to Cairns and other beaches.
This lovely resort has a welcoming feel - loved the colonial features. Staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful. The room felt luxurious and was very comfortable. Lovely toiletries and a big bath were great features. The position in the centre of the esplanade is very convenient with the beach across the road and a short walk to shops and eating places. Although you don't need to leave the resort for anything, it has it all. Big resident's lounge area with books and DVDs to borrow, board games and 'honour' bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2017 by Wayne H , Hotel Management
Dear Julie, Thank you for staying with us and for writing such as nice review. It means a lot to know you had a great stay and you were able to enjoy our Colonial Style Beach House ambiance and tranquility. Thank you again Julie,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

tropical beach atmosphere

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Wotif
I really enjoyed staying at Palm Cove and the Reef House was perfect. I truly felt I was in a tropical paradise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2017 by Wayne H , Hotel Management
Dear Elizabeth, Thank you very much for staying with us ! We are so grateful you wrote such a nice review after your stay. We are also very delighted you had a great time with us. Next time you are in Far North Queensland please consider staying with us again. All the best Elizabeth,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from j

OK hotel ruined by spa manager. Very disappointed.

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Wotif
First of, I want to say that all the reception staff at the hotel were wonderful and really helpful. The hotel had a few issues in itself such as flooding right in front of our doorstep which leaked into our room, the verandah door was stuck from the beginning and was never really fixed. The air-con remote stopped working and left the room freezing resulting in me getting sick. Basically the room looked very old compared to the photos and the hotel in general is in need of repair especially for one that rates itself as 5 stars and charges accordingly. We could have overlooked all of this if it were not for the main reason we chose this hotel in the first place which was the spa package. Before we went, my wife called and tried to make a prior booking so that we would have our treatments ready when we arrived but the person on the phone from the spa said no prior bookings were necessary as they were very flexible with appointments. When we got there, we tried to make a booking but the person at the desk said no appointments were available anymore and that were basically out of luck. I recognized her as the highly touted manager of the spa experience and was frankly appalled at her demeanour. She basically just said there was nothing at all she could do and that we should have booked before hand and turned away from us. We left to ask reception if there was anything that could be done and ended up booking at another hotel spa which ruined the in house relaxation experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2017 by Wayne H , Hotel Management
Dear Jeremy, Thank you for staying with us at the Reef House in Palm Cove. I am very sorry for the problems you have written about and I wish your were able to write a better review after your stay. I wanted to let you know that we have read your feedback and we will begin to make sure these instances do not happen again. We pride ourselves in highly personalised and friendly service and once again I am sorry for what you have described it is certainly not in keeping with our normal standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel - Great Location!

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Wotif
The Reef House Palm Cove was a beautiful hotel in a great location. I would definitely recommend family and friends. Staff where amazing, friendly and very accommodating!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2017 by Wayne H , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your recommendation. It is teriffic to know you enjoyed your stay with us. A personal recommendation is the best compliment we could ask your and your satisfaction is very important to us. Thank you again,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Good location

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Great check in process .. room is reasonable . The beach and restaurant is Walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Wayne H , Hotel Management
Dear SK, thank you very much for staying with us at the Reef House in Palm Cove. We are very pleased to know you decided to stay with us. Our room furnishings are being upgraded in a couple of weeks time. If there is anything else you would like to tell me about please don't hesitate to contact me directly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ballarat, Victoria

Place has "soul"

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: There was a great sense of home away from home. Loved the pools.
Great time. Great location. Great staff, great food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Wayne H , Hotel Management
Dear DJ, We are so glad to know you enjoyed your time away with us, our home away from home feeling is a great compliment to receive. This is exactly the style of holiday we strive to create. Thank you again DJ, we appreciate you staying with us,