Ratings based on 511 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
the hotel is so beautiful, reception staff are happy & helpful, love the feel of this place
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by Wayne H , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are very pleased to know you had a good stay with us. The Reef House is very special to Palm Cove, your very on Colonial Style Beach house.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Taupo, NZ

Nice property, nice staff. Great location.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, facilities.
Cons: Damp smell, air conditioning.
Location: Beaches, restaurants.
Generally good, great location and facilities, "economy' room was on the smaller side with bathroom basin in the bedroom, and an overriding damp smell. Poor room air conditioning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2016 by Wayne H , Hotel Management
Good evening Nick and thank you for staying at the Reef House. We appreciate your feedback and we will take the time to check on the room you stayed in so we can make some quick improvements for other guests staying with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京


Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: チェックイン時刻は午後2時だが、早朝でも部屋を取ってくれた。空港着が午前5時過ぎで心配だったが、7時半頃にシャトルで到着し、荷物を預かってもらおうとしたら、すぐ部屋をもらった。おかげで睡眠不足が解消し、順調な滞在が可能となった。ただし、これは火曜日のことで、満員の週末では難しいかも知れない。
Cons: 隣のホテルでは、木曜日から土曜日まで、夕方から午後10時半まで屋上でパーティが開かれ、その騒音に困った。とくに、割り当てられたシングルのスチューデオはすぐ隣なので、パーティが終わるまでバーに逃げるしかなかった。
Location: 長いビーチに面し、静かで散歩に良いが、景色は単調。レストランはギリシャ料理やカキ料理など、一通りはある。串焼き屋もあったが訪ねていない。
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Wayne H , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thanks for posting your review and for deciding to stay with us. We will take the time have your review translated and look at the pros and cons your have written about. Thank you so much for staying with us and I hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice enough but could be so much better.

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
The Reef House is a lovely looking hotel sitting under big Malaleuca trees, right opposite the beach and within easy reach of all the great restaurants and cafes of Palm Cove. We loved the hotels heated pool and the Happy Hour complimentary punch and canapés are a nice touch.. when it eventually arrives! It is meant to be served from 4.30-5.30pm but guests are typically still sitting around waiting until after 5pm which feels a bit awkward. The restaurant is fantastic! We loved the food and the service and it was one of our nicest meals in Palm Cove! The hotel itself is a bit tired. The rooms are comfortable enough and well equipped but the linen is old, rough and feels dirty and all the pillows need replacing. All the roof and guttering in the hotel need cleaning and it needs all new carpet in the hall and lounge areas as it's very stained. The slate tiles around the pool area need to be updated for something more modern.. it's very dated as are the pool fences. It's a nice enough hotel but with a few touches like some fresh flowers, better lighting, new carpet, nicer corridors, clean sunlounge cushions... it could be a lovely hotel. As it is now, it just lacks that special touch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Mark, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. I must however make some corrections to your review as I believe some of your feedback is not correct, but I do thank you for making some nice compliments. Our Complimentary punch and canapes is served from 5pm until 6pm each evening at the Brigadier Bar, I am sorry if you thought this nightly event begun earlier. Our roof and guttering is being cleaned in the coming weeks, our roof is 4 stories high and it requires skilled and highly qualified staff to attend to this when weather conditions are correct, however please allow me to re assure you it will be cleaned in the near future. Fresh flowers are on display is our restaurant and our gardens are blooming at the moment. Thank you again, we are thank full for your comments and for deciding to stay with us
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thanks for your great review, we really appreciate it !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bannockburn, VIC

Location and Atmosphere

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location (Beach side), View, Hanging swing chair on verandah, restaurant.
Cons: Room was a little dated considering the price paid.
Location: Across the road from the beach with a fantastic view through the palm trees of the ocean and islands. Beach front has restaurants all the way along.
A one night's stop coming back to Cairns from further north. Was nice to arrive and find that we had been upgraded to an ocean view room. After walking down the beachfront and selecting a restaurant it was nice to sit on the verandah with the sound of the ocean and the pleasant music from the hotel restaurant. Got up early to watch the sun rise over the water before a wonderful buffet breakfast (not cooked though) on the resaurant deck. Room was dated (eg. fridge was noisey and a little rusted) and the bathroom was very small but the location and atmosphere could not be faulted. Thoroughly enjoyed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Wayne H , Hotel Management
Good Morning Jordan, Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will have the opportunity to return again soon,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Reef House

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Wotif
Cons: Staff drift by breakfast tables, remove one plate but leave everything else ...no plan of who is doing what job...
Beautiful location. Staff need to get their act together. Replace light bulbs in main dining room, tidy wedding breakfast tables within 24 hours so other guests can sit. Breakfast needs a freshen up, very boring offerings, where is the sourdough?i hate that all the sun lounges were "taken" by a towel by 9am but the owners did not emerge till afternoon. Very limited number of lounges so we were unable to sit by the pool during our visit. Screaming kids running around pool jumping all over us which apparently was ok by their parents watching. Not a place to go if you are leaving the kids at home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2016 by Wayne H , Hotel Management
Hello Michele, thank you for your review and for deciding to stay with us. I wanted to let you know that we appreciate your feedback and hope you will return again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Solihull, UK

3 nights weren't enough.

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Good atmosphere to the place.
Location: Beach on other side of road. Very near to several restaurants. Easy drive to Skyrail station, for the gondolas up into the rainforest.
Lovely room overlooking the beachfront, with large balcony. 2 lovely pools to lounge by. Great holiday atmosphere in the whole hotel. Loved the complimentary punch and canapes at 5pm every day. Very close to many restaurants/bars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Wayne H , Hotel Management
Dear Trevor, just wanted to say thank you for posting your feedback. It is great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sure we met at Brigadier punch and canapes and it was good to have you join us for a drink and a bite to eat.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs serious maintenance

Posted May 24, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything...the hotel needs a total refurbishment, until then it should have some general cleaning and serious maintenance attended.
On Arrival the walkway /entrance/restaurant floor was covered in leaves ( windy, however no attempt to tidy up )the door behind the reception was grubby,smudged glass with a buildup on grime on the door panel.The roof and guttering was covered in twigs and leaves, totally neglected looking pathway and corridors with dust build up to the room.There were two dark hairs in the shower/bath combined and urine stains on the toilet door.The room was large,however had no ambience, it was furnished with dated cane pieces, the bed was rock hard and the pillows flat and way past their use by date. We had a Spa suite, again the spa its self looked old and grubby as did the balcony it was on. This suite faced on to the brick wall of another room, if you looked over the edge at the other end it was like something out of a cheap Asian Hotel with discarded furniture and bits and pieces left to rot.Every where we glanced needed a good clean, this included the lift and the carpark/ laundry downstairs ( more discarded furniture and mattresses ) The buffet breakfast is a continental only, of a poor quality, if you want anything cooked it is an extra charge.The room rates here do not reflect what you would expect and in our opinion the owners have a lot to answer for. With the state and neglect of this Hotel is should be classed as 3 star at best. We had booked in for four nights however left after one. There is no way that we could recommend this Hotel in its current state.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2016 by Wayne H , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, thank you for posting your review however I wish it was under better circumstances. As a past guest you are certainly entitled to post your feedback for other potential travelers to read however the review needs to be balanced and fair. I have noticed you have omitted a lot of factual information in regards how we tried to make you more comfortable and help settle you into your stay. Despite the best efforts of Colin, Holly, Cindy and Jean you decided to check out the following morning, a decision we respected and agreed to in-conjunction Expedia and Wotif. The Reef House House has a long a proud history of providing exceptional service with in a relaxing Colonial Beach House setting and we are dedicated to ensure future guests fall in love with us and return at a later date. I am sorry you have left the Reef House with this impression and we will certainly review your feedback to ensure we improve.
5 out of 5
by Angela from Melbourne

Relaxing Stay

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
A welcoming, boutique style hotel in a tropical setting. Lovely view of the pool and across the road from the beach. The restaurant offered a selection of tasty meals and all staff were friendly and accommodating. There was access to a library which provided a variety of books for borrowing and the 'happy hour' provided an opportunity for guests to mingle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice review Angela, we certainly appreciate you staying with us and it was great to get to know you during your stay. Take care we hope to see you again soon.