Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Disappointing

Posted Oct 21, 2017
The air conditioning was broken so a portable unit was in the room instead. It had leaked on the floor in two large places and was still wet to touch. It smelled very mouldy and sour in the room even with the windows open. We asked the two staff members at the front desk how to set up the portable air con, but neither knew how or provided any further help. The portable air con had a broken tube and a clear pipe dripping water. It seemingly couldn't be moved close to the beds so the cool air just went out the window. It was advertised as an air conditioned room so we were a bit annoyed at the humidity and mosquitoes that we paid for instead with no accommodations made by staff to actively help. We were given two key cards to unlock the room, one didn't work at all and the other was temperamental. When we were checking in another hostel guest also had to swap his key card for a new one as his wasn't working, so this might be a common issue. One of the two beds in the room had dirty sheets with dust and hair on it. There were cobwebs in the room, and during the night when turning over in bed a slat on the bed fell off. There aren't signs to the shared bathrooms and on check-in no staff explained where they were. The bathrooms are dirty, and there are many torn, wet or fraying signs and posters throughout the hostel. On Expedia the hostel is advertised as "free wifi for every room", however staff said there is only free internet for a couple of hours in the lounge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Augustine Heights, QLD

This hostel has literally everything.

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Cheap drinks, great staff, close to town and the airport, a pool. It’s literally got everything you need and it’s affordable as hell!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Good enough

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Good hostel. A little far from town center, so if your schedule doesn't revolve around the free shuttle's you'd better figure out the bus system. Saw a roach in my ensuite the last shower of my stay. Was glad to be leaving. Aside from seeing a couple roaches I enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Cool hostel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Free shuttle buses into town and back every hour, spacious outdoor area, lots of space to sit and chill, has a bar but you can not bring your own alcohol to the hostel. The floor I stayed on was quiet and my room was spacious and quite clean! Had a great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to airport

Posted Aug 18, 2017
staff helpful, cheap meals,clean beds, able to get sleep after camping for 9 days
3 out of 5
by JINHO

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great for backbackers

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Price and facilities
Cons: Room and noise control in corridors
Location: Bit of a walk into town, and to Marina, but Esplanade is beautiful at any time of night or day, with several public pools along the way, free to use.
Excellent for backpackers with everything available at reasonable prices. Room was very, very basic.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nomads a good place to stay.

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
A great hostel with friendly staff, good vibe and good food. Location is a bit out of town but it is quiet and the courtesy bus provided a good service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beep nomaads lover

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
All good esp in comparison to horror stories i heard about from international, seasoned back packers. Definately a lovely spot. People (some staff & locals) are very dismissive and arrogant. I witnessed this behaviour from a select few almost daily. Their poor service & behaviour reflects poorly for what i believe is a very good hostel. Their shuttle bus to central CBD hourly til 3am is wiked. Go Nomaads
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cairns QLD

Welcoming atmosphere & fun staff & clean

Posted May 16, 2017 on Wotif
Although technically in north Cairns Shuttle is excellent. Its all good, very good service very clean premises and cleaned daily including ablutions. Comforting at home feeling. Great place to meet people. Cheap and includes shuttle to and from town hourly. Cool