Ratings based on 2,908 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Good location away from the crowds

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Air conditioner in the room was noisy. Bathroom downstairs near reception area were not well looked after.
Location: Day trip to Kuranda was excellent. Gold class train ride was fantastic.
Very nice hotel in the best part of the esplanade right at the end close to the Harbour. View from the room was great, overlooking the harbour with mountains in the background. Air conditioner was quite noisy we had to turn it down however everything else was very good. Bathroom looked recently renovated with a great shower. Free wifi in the rooms was also great. We didn't eat in at hotel as it was quite expensive. Cafe next door does great coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

A Hotel with Old World Glamor and Charm

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was pricey but good value for the money--considerable variety/diversity, and high quality. Convenient location. Courteous staff.
Cons: The hotel is older, and has a feeling of age about it in the carpeting and the look that could be modernized. The elevators are very slow.
Location: Great location. Close to a lot of restaurants and bars. Short walk (10 minutes) to the piers and esplanade.
We had a wonderful stay and would stay here again! Our favorite part was the breakfast, which represented many international specialties in its offerings and the food was really high quality. It wasn't included, but was discounted since we became Accor Le Club members at check in (which was also free to join). The hotel is older and has a nostalgic charm to it, both in terms of architecture and decor. It felt a little bit worn for that and the elevators took a long to come when called, but the facilities were very clean and luxurious for their time. The pool area, while not meticulously attended (they were often out of towels), was a huge selling point. It's gorgeous with great rooftop views of Cairns, lots of lounge chairs, hot tubs, pools, and places to relax. You felt like you were in paradise sitting out there. Our room had a balcony which was also very relaxing. We had very positive interactions with staff. We would definitely recommend Pullman International Cairns for your stay in Cairns!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from victoryf

Not really happy

Posted Sep 10, 2017
The hotel is really old, specially in the room. We found kettle did not work, and told service about it, but nobody come to fix. Compare with another two hotel, this ihotel let us really disappoint.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Leissa, Hotel Management
Hi Veronica Thank you for your review, I am sorry that your stay was disappointing and we did not replace the kettle in your room. Rest assured we will follow this up with our Housekeeping team as it is not indicative of our usual service standards. Thank you once again for your feedback and we wish you all the best for your future travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Camden NSW Australia

Central to Cairns, excellent location & views

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: The hotel must have been so very beautiful when it was new, the foyer still looks really gorgeous. The concierge is top notch & valet parking good
Cons: In the room we had ceiling paint was flaking off & needs attention, & the TV was ancient, having to use the up & down buttons to change channels.
Location: Jetskiing was absolutely fun. Went out on a day trip with Reef Quest snorkelling & it was excellent. Quad biking with Rainforest Journeys EXCELLENT
Loved being able to leave the car behind & stroll through the beautiful surrounds. I appreciated the quirky art work around town, the town must spend a lot on keeping Cairns beautiful. The central location was ideal, just pop out for lunch & forget the car. Kuranda is only a short drive, no need to take the Skyline, although beautiful it was very pricey. Kuranda is the gem in the area. Visit Palm Cove for upmarket restaurants & gorgeous surrounds. Go quad biking with Rainforest Journeys, they are new in the business & Nathalia was our very informative guide. You'll be amazed with the history Nathalia has to share, we even drove through some river crossings. You might even get to see a Cassowary, as 10 Cassowaries live on their property. The shopping centres are bigger than you might expect, Cairns seems to be very spread out. Grab brochures & make sure you don't miss anything. Another place to visit is the Cairns Botanic Gardens, just be prepared to squat some mosquitoes, look out for the butterflies in the walk-through enclosure. Loved all the varieties of plants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Leissa, Hotel Management
Hi Karin, Thank you for your review, I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable, and you had such a magnificent time exploring the FNQ Region! We appreciate your comments on areas needing improvement, and rest assured we are working to address these. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Fantastic location

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Location: Location excellent, casino opposite, short walk to wharf precinct with many restaurants and many tours leaving from there
Great location right next to wharf precinct and esplanade and opposite casino. Service excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Leissa, Hotel Management
Hi Tony Thanks for your review, I am delighted that your stay was enjoyable and the team were welcoming and friendly! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Hotel was great, good location, great views, very friendly staff, only downfall was the room had double beds that were not that comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Leissa, Hotel Management
Hi Karen Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Great location!

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Opposite casino,close to marina and shops. Close to everything especially for those with limited mobility.
Great location, good customer service and an overall great experience. Amazing view looking over the Marina. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Leissa, Hotel Management
Hi Gayle Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Good location, Good atmosphere but very uncomfortable bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Leissa, Hotel Management
Hi Kat Thanks for your review, I am pleased that you found the hotel to be conveniently located for your time in Cairns! We appreciate your comments regarding the beds and are in the process of replacing these through out the hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Paradise within Paradise!!

Posted Aug 10, 2017
We had NO time to plan anything but needed a short break really bad and so used Expedia for the first time. We couldn't have done better ourselves even after lengthy research because this Hotel was AMAZING!!!! Right in the centre of town and filled with staff who are only too happy to do anything for you, the Pullman Cairns International Hotel was the best place we have ever stayed in and would genuinely like to go back one day soon!! The only word of improvement I could offer them is to put King-sized beds in these massive and gorgeous rooms - the bed felt amazing but we would have preferred extra large!!!! Well done though everyone at Pullmans!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Leissa, Hotel Management
Hi Paul Thank you for your review, I am delighted that our hotel was paradise for you and the team were welcoming and friendly! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canberra

Posted Aug 8, 2017
A wonderful place to stay. Close to everything. I can recommend this hotel to everyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Leissa, Hotel Management
Hi Lorraine Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed it!