Ratings based on 398 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Australia

Comfortable hotel close to everything.

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Great value and close enough to walk to Esplanade and some eating options. Free off street parking. A great deal of information for visitors.
Cons: Would not have liked to be staying in either of the 2 rooms on the ground floor where guests enter and leave at all hours through a very noisy gate!
Location: Convenient short drive to both Cairns city and water front, as well as skyrail and airport.
Only in Cairns for 2 nights after a stay in the Daintree and Port Douglas. Very comfortable hotel with options for preparing and/or heating meals. Didn't eat breakfast at the hotel. Spacious room with a small balcony looking out into the garden. Comfortable bed. Didn't use hotel pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Quick overnight stay

Posted Oct 18, 2017
We stayed at the Reef Palms for one night, ready for an early flight from Cairns airport the following morning. We found it welcoming, clean, well equipped, good value, and we would consider staying again for longer if we visit Cairns again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great set up 5 minutes by car from the airport

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: A clean room with a good layout. Functional with a full kitchen.
Cons: Our room is half carpeted and half linoleum, if it's full linoleum, it may cut down the musty smell. Add airport shuttle service throughout the day.
Location: There are a few eateries near by but you do get a lot more option in the town center.
Room is clean and the beds are comfortable. Rooms in this hotel has a full kitchen facility with a kitchenette and it's just 5 minutes drive from the airport. It's about 1.4 mile to the town center via the Esplanade, quite a pleasant walk. The motel also has a nice pool with a Jacuzzi. It's a great home base for a vacation. Cairns seems to be more humid in general, which probably attributed to the slight musty smell when we first entered our room. Other than that, everything else was very nice and functional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel with everything one needs

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Clean, very comfortable and close to everything. Airconditioning worked perfectly, nice balcony to sit on. Great place to stay.
Cons: The only thing I would say is the pool had some grass stuff growing in one patch that should probably be removed. Everything was great.
Location: Close to the Esplanade, cafe's and Cairns city itself.
We stayed here for 3 nights. It is close to everything including walking distance to the esplanade. It is clean and very comfortable and very quiet. The pool area is really nice and well looked after also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Convenient and Roomy

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Super friendly people, comfortable beds, close to most everything. Nice pool but we didn't use it as we went to the Reef.
Cons: They could probably update the doors to the rooms a bit; they're a little gappy. Probably need to update everything pretty soon, but it's clean.
Location: Close to the waterfront boardwalk which has workout stations along the way. Many restaurants within walking distance, and tours come to get you.
This is a family-run hotel with great, friendly staff who will do everything they can to make your stay wonderful. It reminds me of the beach hotels around Virginia Beach, the ones where the whole family works at running everything. Our room was large with a kitchenette and balcony, very clean if a little dated. The beds were comfortable and had decent pillows. Personally, we loved the kind of funky 60s vibe of the place. They have a laundry facility for guests with coin operated machines, too. Handy for after those Great Barrier Reef tours. The little cafe off the lobby is cute with real brewed coffee instead of instant! The owners keep the crumpets and bread box filled nicely and make hot breakfasts as requested, as long as you get your request in by the night before. It's easy walking distance to restaurants along the waterfront and just down the street. The owner was great at helping us rent a car for a day and booking an evening dinner show. Seriously, no one could be friendlier than these folks. And nearly every tour comes to this hotel to pick you up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Dear Jude, Thank you for your reply. Its always nice to hear guests enjoyed their stay with us. I will pass on your review to all our staff who will be over the moon that you had a good time. Its people like yourself that makes our job so rewarding. We wish you the best for the future !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay at the Reef Palms

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the Reef Palms. The room was spacious and clean with everything you needed for cooking a meal. The staff was friendly and efficient. The pool was a little cold, but nice. An easy 15-20 min. walk into town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ON, Canada

Nice hotel with friendly & helpful staff

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and great pool area.
Cons: More central location, but that clearly can't he changed. :)
Location: There are several amenities within walking distance, including a few restaurants, a bakery and a 24 hour grocery store.
The hotel facilities are neat and well maintained, as advertised. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The neighbourhood around the hotel seems quite safe at night but is a bit outside of the main "downtown" area. There are several restaurants within walking distance but if you want more variety you'll want to head down to the Esplanade. The staff can also book you tours in the area, which is very convenient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

disappointing

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: ; as above
Cons: quite a bit obviously
Location: just stayed overnight
asked for quiet room on ground floor due to bad knee. got noisy room facing road on 1st floor. this was after a very late checkin after long flight, had to uplift key from outside safe at reception then entry to premises thru carpark. room comfortable but dated, ac didn't work (nor in my friend's room either) & elec switches broken & difficult to use- & dangerous. 1 window had no bug screens but was ok as others did. BUT... in morning when I went to reception to have complimentary breakfast, owner/manager said (quote) "as you were a late checkin you are entitled to a cooked breakfast" which I accepted. After I finished, he wanted $8 for the breakfast which I queried as he had offered it in gratis- his exact words as above. He still insisted saying "$8 won't kill you" what a cheek. I paid & left & am now writing this. PS: I didn't sleep a winkI
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review Guy. Firstly your breakfast was a included Continential breakfast, cooked breakfasts need to be ordered the night before as you were a late arrival this means you were able to order a hot breakfast as you were not here to order it. So we are sorry for the misunderstanding. Our maintance is always on top of our list and was not aware of this electricial point you are talking about ( this is now repaired) thank you for bringing this to our attention. The aircon has a switch above the bed head in the studio you stayed in and if the switch was turned on you would have found that the air con in fact does work. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and we will work on trying to serve our guests the best we can. But thank you for your review we take all reviews on board. Have a fantastic day !
5 out of 5
by Mark

Excellent personal service

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed 4 nights. The service and attention we received were excellent and started even before we arrived. We communicated via email for a few weeks to understand local tours and activities and they helped us select some great things to do including a perfect Great Barrier Reef snorkeling trip. By the end of the first day we were on a first name basis with the managers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coldstream, BC

Perfect for 3 day visit to Cairns

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: The amenities (especially the pool which we enjoyed by ourselves 2/3 times) and the helpfulness of the staff.
Cons: It satisfied our purpose for a clean, comfortable roof over our heads for our brief stay.
Location: It was on the pick up list for the barrier reef tours and a rental car company was just down the road and allowed us to drop the car right at the Reef
We could not have found a more suitable place to stay! It definitely exceeded our expectations - from the friendly staff, ease of access, the people free pool area to the pick up by the Great Barrier Reef excursion at the doorstep we had everything we needed. A well appointed apartment with everything we needed to prepare light meals, enjoy a comfortable sleep, enjoy walks in the area and a laundry area for cleaning up after our Motor home was dropped off. We left 2 days before Cyclone Debbie and are very hopeful that Reef Palms escaped with minimal to no damage.