Ratings based on 1,719 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Difficulty date change when booking through Expedi

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Ok but wiith family so did not use facilities
Cons: Flexibility by travel agent expedia
Location: Did not attend any as there for a family funeral
Had originally booked 3 nights to attend a funeral. Due to return flight options had to leave after 2 nights. The hotel couldn't help and only referred me to expedia. I had neither the time nor the inclination to even attempt to try for a 1 night refund. Will not book throughh them again. Should be able to be flexible at hotel end.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by espie., Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your feedback and my apologies with the frustrations you have experienced in regards to your booking. I would welcome the opportunity to assist in ensuring your refund is processed. If you could provide me with your booking details I am more than happy to follow up on your behalf. Kind regards, Andrew Wallis. General Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great experience

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Location, pools, nice staff and clean rooms.
Cons: It's a little bit dated but I think the pricing reflects this and I thought it was great value.
Location: Water parks for the littlies, playground, lagoon pool, restaurants. Lots to do. We enjoyed the market along the esplanade too.
After our flight was delayed by 24 hours (thanks Tiger), we were left looking for accommodation last minute on a Sat morning. I booked with Rydges online and then called to see if we could get an early check in. They were able to give us a room straight away which was a relief as we had all of our bags, no car, and nowhere to go. The service was fantastic from the outset. The room was clean and well maintained and bathroom a little bit dated but great value for what we paid. The location of the hotel is perfect with a lovely stroll to the esplanade. Certainly no need for a car as walking distance to a huge range of restaurants, the lagoon pool and playgrounds as well as supermarkets. The kids enjoyed making use of 2 out of the 3 pools and the spa. We were very happy and would not hesitate to book again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by espie, Hotel Management
Dear Danni, Thank you for your feedback and personal recommendation. Its always pleasing to read reviews were we have been able to exceed expectation. We will shortly be commencing on the refurbishment of the hotel rooms and we are excited about the planned upgrades. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we hope for an opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit. Kind regards, Andrew Wallis. General Manager. Kind regards, Andrew Wallis. General Manager.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canberra

Room smells not good

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Hotel location very good, but rooms smell not good
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by espie, Hotel Management
Dear Wei, Thank you for your comments and great photos. We hope that you enjoyed your holiday in Cairns. Kind regards, Andrew Wallis. General Manager.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brisbane

Not what I expect

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Rooms are Dated and showing their age. Fittings and fixtures are broken or loose. The lack of an electronic valuables safe in the room was a concern, and requesting the quest to pay a deposit for the old key safe was an insult. The hallways could use some art work to break up the drabby look.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by espie., Hotel Management
Dear Danny, Thank you for your feedback and my apologies for where we fell short of expectation. We are about to commence on a refurbishment of our hotel rooms and we are looking forward to showcasing the new product. We hope that you enjoyed your overall time in Cairns. Kind regards, Andrew Wallis. General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel.

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Cons: Swipe keys
Location: Reef swim, waterfalls.
We were surprised at the size. The two adjacent rooms with living place centrally was perfect for the family. We did have issues with the swipe entry cards de magnetising even though we became meticulous about not having them near other cards or phones, but was always handled well and patiently by staff. Pools were clean and no trouble with the eyes afterwards. Could not have enjoyed our stay more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by espie., Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for such a wonderful review. It was pleasing to read that you could not have enjoyed your stay more. We hope for an opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit and thanks again for choosing to stay with us. Kind regards, Andrew Wallis. General Manager.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairns

Nice hotel in Cairns

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Lovely hotel to stay at. Great staff. Room is not up to the standard of the price that you pay. One light wasnt working in the bathroom, the shower head had gunk on it an was in good working order. The paint under the fridge cabnet was peeling. I expected to be able adjust the air conditing for the price of $183 for one night
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by espie., Hotel Management
Dear Whitney, Thank you for your feedback and my apologies for were we fell short of expectation. On a positive note we will shortly be commencing on a rooms refurbishment programme and looking forward to showcasing the new product. Thanks aging for choosing to stay with us and we hoped you enjoyed your time in Cairns. Kind regards, Andrew Wallis. General Manager.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible WiFi

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Room was clean and confortable, staff members were good and the location of hotel is good. However, the hotel wifi was so slow that we couldn't use it at our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by espie., Hotel Management
Dear Nick, Thank you for your recent feedback. My apologies for the frustrations you experienced with regards to the WIFI. We are currently working on an upgrade to this system and will have a resolution in place over the next month. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we hope you enjoyed your time in Cairns. Kind regards, Andrew Wallis. General Manager.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good location, ok condition.

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Overall experience with the hotel is good. Rooms are big and friendly staffs, especially Martin at the front desk was great, very kind and helpful. However, a lot of the facilities in the hotel need some upgrades.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by espie., Hotel Management
Dear Annie, Thank you for your comments. We will shortly be commencing on the refurbishment of the hotel rooms - this is one of a number of projects which include upgrades to the tennis courts and lobby areas. We hope you enjoyed your time in Cairns and thanks again for choosing to stay with us. Kind regards, Andrew Wallis. General Manager.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average experience

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pleasant staff. Basic rooms, no pay tv options and very slow wifi. Room service menu ordinary and quite expensive considering what you get. I do not recommend the buffet at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by espie., Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your feedback and for where we fell short of expectation. We trust that you enjoyed your time in Cairns and thank you for choosing to stay with us. Kind regards, Andrew Wallis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Only a one night stay before a flight but couldn't fault it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by espie., Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your feedback. It was pleasing to read that your experience with us met expectation. Kind regards, Andrew Wallis. General Manager.