Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Clean and comfortable.

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Clean and comfortable, the whole process was easy. Could hear the TV from next door through the wall, but that's pretty standard and there's not much you can do about that.
5 out of 5
by Mr Christopher

Clean and comfortable.

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
This would be the cleanest motel I have stayed in. Good size rooms, spotlessly clean, quiet area. The continental breakfast was great and nice by the pool. Definitely will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast, QLD

Clean, close to beach, convenient

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Wotif
Easy walk to town, really close to Esplanade and, with a breakfast included, its great value for money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from au

Cannot recommend

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Lastminute
Room was very very ordinary, no blankets only sheets were supplied. Air conditioner leaked water all throughout the room. Beds felt and sounded like they were ready to break everytime you rolled over. All in all a bad experience that I will not be having again at this place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Uncomfotable stay

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Not much
Cons: New beds.
Location: Location OK
Hard and uncomfotable bed and pillows, bed creaked with every movement, stuffy and smelly room. Breakfast, cheap cereal and frozen fruit bread.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice hotel closes to beach

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, friendly staff, free wifi and breakfast included.
Cons: Air conditioning, as you need to put the key tag in the slot few times before you can turn the air conditioning on.
Location: Location is quite good with plenty parking spaces. 10 minutes walk to the beach and eating places.
My husband and I stayed in The Balinese for 4 nights. We hired a car and was very easy to located the hotel. We arrived on Sunday afternoon and there was nobody in the office, but it was easy to use the phone outside the office to comminucate with the owner. We have some issues with the air conditioner but after a few phone calls the gentleman came and fixed it. Breakfast was included with bread, three kinds of cereal, fruit, milk and orange juice. We were quite happy with it. You have to clean up the your dishes afterwards. The owners were quite friendly. If I come to Cairns again, I will come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW

Great location and clean Hotel with good staff

Posted May 20, 2017
No complaints at all would definitely recommend this Hotel , The rating in Expedia at 2.5 does not do this Hotel justice , Should be s 3.5 instead .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Townsville

Off to a bad start

Posted May 1, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The location - it was very close to the city and the esplanade.
Cons: A checklist for staff to ensure once shifts are changed, incoming staff are aware of the times new clients are expected to arrive.
Location: The Balinese is situated one street back from the Esplanade and round the corner from the cafes and night markets.
Waited up to 50 min for staff to show up, the phones were not diverted and went straight to message bank. We arrived Saturday afternoon after driving 4 hours from Townsville with 5yo - tired and cranky. Not impressed. So not a fantastic start with the 1st staff member we met. Our a/c wasn't working properly and I mentioned this to the same staff person on Sunday morning but she did not seem overly happy with me anyway. Sunday afternoon when we came back from the days activity I still could not get the a/c to work. Back up to the reception desk and spoke with a man called Louis who was VERY helpful. He got the a/c working and could not have been more friendly. Up until that stage I would not have recommended the Balinese however Louis turned my opinion around. Don't lose him!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Queensland

Posted May 1, 2017 on Wotif
Just stayed overnight before an early morning flight out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairns

Comfortable and clean,

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Well positioned Easy walk to the boardwalk and city.