Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Not much to recommend.

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Although we know this to be a budget hotel, it has little to offer. We saw two rooms, both had very poor mattresses, odd washroom set ups with half walls to the bedroom area and showers getting everything wet, a mirror at waist level that was useless. One lightbulb hanging in the center of the room, painted over windows. Mouldy walls. Breakfast was the same every day: coffee/tea, one hard boiled egg, one bun, one yogurt, cheese and jam. The location was good. I heard two other guests saying it sure didn't look like the photos on-line.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sw

never again

Posted Nov 25, 2016
never again the room not good the location is good not more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

“"Great tip for a boutique clean charming Hotel "

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Location Internet wi fi Breakast Clean
Location: Shopping at khan el khalili area , visit Egyptian museum walking a round the nile
I stayed here 2 night . The key thing to know about this hotel is that it is truly one of kind staff i have ever met . Location is perfect .Rooms are nice , clean room daily house keeping and fresh flowers wi fi was strong enough which was very important for . The hotel staff assist me to arrange my tour program to Giza Pyramids , Nile cruise and Alexandria and was great arrangements i highly recommend this hotel for everybody
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not having a hot water the condition is very bad

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Not recommended the condition is very bad the bed mattress is very dirty
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay far away

Posted Sep 24, 2016
While the price and pictures seem wonderful, very misleading. The staff does try to help, but it becomes very evident their goal is to sell all their packages. While this can be helpful it gets tiring when you already know what and how you want to do things. The only somewhat good thing I can say about my room is that the sheet and bathroom seemed mostly clean. The room floor had multiple holes in it. I could not turn off the light at night for fear of taking a wrong step and getting hurt. The more obvious hole were simply covered with a rug. The bed had two very run-down mattresses with springs that only made it more uncomfortable. Even the one towel provided had multiple holes in it. I should acknowledge, the room did come with a small tv, satellite for the TV and air conditioning. Overall, this was not what I wanted to come to, especially being exhausted from travels prior to arrival.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from h

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The hotel was run down. Staffs were accommodating but this hotel needs major reoairs
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Downtown

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Downtown location is the best part of this hotel. Hotel is on one floor, 6th of an old, run down, grimy building. Reserved a two bed, only hot a one bed. Was never rectified. My room was entered twice by hotel staff, I hope, without knocking first; once was at 2 am. Bed was worn out, constantly poked by old springs. Bedding was threadbare. There was no top sheet. "Private" bathroom was carved out of a corner of the room, not a separate water closet. The only window had been painted over to hide the view of another building a few feet away. Do not book a tour through the hotel! You basically get a driver who might not speak English as well as needed then you are on your own trying to enjoy a very confusing city. I would not stay here again or ever recommend it to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
if you are paying to go to Cairo is better is you expend little more money in the hotel, this is a very cheap option however not a good one at all, for the staff you are like cash always wanna sell you their tours where everything is arrange to pay more and more money, they are very nice however never feel it was very honest from them... The rooms are old and dirty, no tv, uncomfortable bed the only good thing is the AC... I had to spend last night at the intercontinental due to the noise coming from the night receptionist was terrible even after report that nothing happened...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A spirit of real Cairo

Posted Aug 11, 2016
If you want to get a feel of Egypt's street spirit and a view of the beautiful old buildings of the old city without having to spend too much, Grand Royal is the right place for you. Overlooking vibrant Talk Harb Square, the accommodation is a walking distance from the city's main attraction, the Egyptian Museum, the Nile, and Tahrir Square. The staff are amazing and very hospitable. Rooms are basic but perfect for the few days I spent there. Breakfast on the balcony overlooking Talaat Harb is lovely. Everything a traveler needs is available within walking distance from the hotel. Wifi service is great at the hotel and so was the room cleaning. If you really want a warm place to stay in and get a real experience of Cairo's vibrant and cultural atmosphere, with music of Abdel Haleem and Oum Kulthoum often heard from the reception area, I so recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
The service y good cleaning manager help to much for everything y liked so much for the price is right