Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Fair, for the price

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The staff was sweet and nice, despite the issues.
Cons: Make sure to actually send ppl when you say you will. Make sure your cleaning staff airs out rooms between check-ins and uses odor neutralisers.
Location: Taha Hussein is a good location and residential. You can walk to many places from there in Zamalek.
I booked and did not notice it said the money would be collected by the hotel, but ok. I took care of that and then the hotel told me that not all the rooms had wi-fi and whilst later I saw the main page said free wi-fi in public spaces, the booking pages of expedia say 'ALL ROOMS INCLUDE FREE BREAKFAST AND FREE WIRELESS INTERNET', which I showed the staff. I said the room smelt of cigarettes and they said they'd send someone - they never did. Later, I bought water and drinks and noticed the fridge did not work as as you may know, in Egypt you should not drink the water, I called and they never sent anyone even though they said they would. THIS HAVING BEEN SAID, PLEASE NOTE: I believe the hotel is fine for the price and I think the staff was sweet and nice and they definitely helped with keeping my bags today.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Hala

Great stay

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Orbitz
Great staff, very friendly. Best location in Cairo.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by diver072

Needs attention

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on HotelClub
Appreciate times are tough in Egypt but problems with little hot water, which on previous visits has always been good,towels seriuously past their best and sheets starting to look very tired. Phone in room not working, TV no sound so unable to check news. Lights in room needing bulbs replacing. Standard has dropped but so convenient. Staff generally excellent and very helpful. Good location for access to Downtown and around. Peaceful area with good eating options locally.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by janet from australia

president hotel.Zamalek, Cairo

Posted May 2, 2013
Pros: good laundry service
Cons: arrogance (as above)
Location: excellent
The house staff were great. The location is quiet and good. No tour assistance other than saying take a taxi. The owner/ senior man was aloof and not of assistance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by LoneWolf Traveller

Pleasant stay

Posted Mar 17, 2013 on HotelClub
The President was a good choice for my first trip to Cairo. Friendly staff, large clean rooms and in a fine part of the city, away from the chaos of downtown. Great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Saidi

Location, Location

Posted Feb 12, 2013 on HotelClub
I have stayed in this hotel several times and found it to be consistantly good. Bearing in mind that it is a 3 star hotel the rooms are large and beds comfortable and clean. Staff are overall friendly, breakfast buffet is basic but sufficient. The location for me and the cost are the highlights. Situated in Zamalek a quiet suburb of Cairo if traffic flow is good you are just minutes from downtown without the noise during the night,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz and Mike from Carlisle, Cumbria, UK

Give it a go for a safe adventure

Posted Dec 19, 2012
Pros: the staff
Cons: needs somewhere to sit outside
Location: safe, upmarket, quiet (for Cairo) area
Our ninth stay at the President and as always the staff are wonderful. Bedrooms need updating but are clean. Reception has been updated and along with bar has free wifi. The temperamental lifts and need to redecorate are more than outweighed by the welcome. The hotel is in a very safe area, far removed from the troubles. Do visit, the hotel needs you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen, DK

Great location, Okay hotel.

Posted Mar 20, 2012 on Hotels
I have lived in Cairo for 2 month now, and I would recommend President Hotel for a few days in the city. Hotel reflects the low price, but service is great. Great view of Cairo from the top of a building. Located in Zamalek which is one of the only 'safe' areas for tourists in Cairo. Not a 4-5 star place, but it comes with simple breakfast and pretty much anything else you need. Ask for room with balcony!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Anonymous

Comfortable, quiet and centrally-located

Posted Feb 22, 2012 on Orbitz
The President Hotel was an ideal affordable home base for exploring Cairo. My room was clean and comfortable, the staff and management were helpful and responsive. Most amenities not available in the hotel were within a few blocks--the Zamalek neighborhood is very accessible and friendly to a non-Arabic-speaking foreign visitor. I would particularly recommend the driver I hired via the hotel, Khaled Abd Rabow, who was extremely punctual and dependable, speaks fluent English and Spanish, and is knowledgeable Egyptology and Egyptian history as well as expert in navigating the complex layout of the city.