Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly and helpful staff

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: The staff were great! It's in a nice location and you don't hear too much street noice.
Cons: The only problem was that there was no enclosed bathroom in our room. Aside from glass around it, it had no ceiling so there was not much privacy.
Location: They can help you book a number of different tours and recommended good drivers and tour guides.
We had a really nice time staying at the Royal Hotel. We really appreciated the friendly and helpful staff, as well as the tours that they helped us book. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cairo

Not nice

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: No elevator , no one to help with the bags ,
Location: Not much ! Very busy streets
The room is bad ! Shower is very bad ! Booked a room with balcony and when I got there they said it is not available , couldn't sleep becouse of the noise of the cars
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location

Posted May 1, 2016
The hotel is in a good downtown location. The rooms are clean and hotel staff very friendly. Breakfast could do with improving, it's very basic. The biggest problem with the hotel is noise. Half of the rooms are entered directly of the reception area, the noise from the hotel night staff is a problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hermiston Oregon

It was an amazing hotel and the people are amazing

Posted Mar 15, 2016
The hotel was so close to shopping and all the great sites. I would totally stay there again. The people are so nice and have a great personality. They made my stay very good even though I was alittle wildly crazy. But overall an amazing time. Thank you to the staff and the amazing 25 days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Very nicely located and the staff is AMAZING!

Posted Mar 1, 2016
I only have good things to say, while of course the facilities could be better (that would mean a price increase) you totally get A+ comfort when you match it with the price you're paying. Also, the staff is great. Don't hesitate to ask them for directions or to let you know the best places to eat koshari and egyptian food. Their driver Sam is also an amazing guy!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Umm

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Just wasn't what i ezpected. Noisy. Paper thin walls. Lack of privacy as general sitting area.right outside my door.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything is so bad I would not recommend it

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Everything is so bad I would not recommend it
Cons: Everything is so bad I would not recommend it
Location: Everything is so bad I would not recommend it
Everything is so bad I would not recommend it and the pictures that were on the website (Expedia) is not as it is in nature and I already changed the hotel to (Novotel Cairo El Borg) I booking by (Expedia)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good value central location

Posted Apr 2, 2015
The hotel is near shops and cafes, and not far from Tahir square. If you want comforts, this is not your hotel, but it is great value for money and quite safe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel in the city

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: You feel very safe bcos the Hotel is located next to the Central Bank which have 24/7 Security and it is very useful as landmark when you take a taxi.
Cons: I wish they have a counter selling travel items i.e. sandals, maps, dispossable shaver etc
Location: The location is great. It is just a walking distance to the famous Tahrir Square, National Museum, Khan Al-Khalili market and the River Nile cruises.
The free transfer from airport to hotel on arrival did not materialised bcos the driver was stuck in the traffic jam. So ensure to store the hotel telephone number in your handphone to make other arrangements. Otherwise you will be kept waiting. The Check-In and Check-Out process is super fast and hassle free. The rooms and amenities are average but I guess at the rates they're offering (super cheap) it is very reasonable. The longer you stayed here you will feel like being one of the family as all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The Tour agency they engaged are also punctual and reliable. I enjoyed every single tour. Bcos it is a small hotel the reception area is just outside the rooms. You are likely to meet other guests checking in or out. This is where you meet interesting people just like what happened to me. The Hotel Manager Mr Said Kamal is such a wonderful man. Always available for help and advise. You could spend all night talking to him or even play chess.
1 out of 5
by Job from California

not good

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Some staff was good and helpful especially amr.
Cons: EVERYTHING needs to be improved.
Location: Location bad. Hard to find small street.
The hotel location was bad. It was noisey and smelled from cigarattes. TV surrounding the room was always loud. Don't believe the other reviews and pictures online they all are not true. The location sucks.