Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommendable

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Affordable yet accomodating staff and comfortable rooms. Staff can speak english. The location is great as its near the metro, the Egyptian museum and easy to find a taxi. They also arrange tours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Mohamed Abdallah, Hotel Management
Thank you and you more then welcome any time to come back to the hostel..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good budget hostel/hotel in downtown Cairo

Posted Nov 20, 2016
The staff is very friendly, helpful and fun. They recommended some things for us to do and helped us arrange a tour to the pyramids and a Nile dinner cruise. The hostel is right in busy downtown Cairo and very close to many tourist destinations and cafes as well as some big shopping streets. Our room was basic and clean with a small balcony and a city view. They serve a nice continental breakfast in the morning. This is a great place to stay for budget travellers looking to be in the heart of the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can't recommend

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
On arrival at accommodation said they did not yet have our booking confirmation as we had only booked a couple of hours before. They asked us what room we had booked. We told them a room with a private bathroom. After sometime and a couple of calls the guy on reception said we had only booked a double room with shared bathroom. Without our own confirmation we could not show him otherwise. Instead of a room with a double bed, private bathroom, and balcony, we were given a room with 4 single beds, shared bathroom and a window. We received a copy of our booking confirmation later that day and presumed the accommodation did as well. Instead of changing our room the guy on reception asked my husband to pay him a tip for giving us a room with a view, meaning it had a window. The room we had been given was huge in size so from that point of view was comfortable. The air-conditioner worked well but the only control was on or off. The shared bathrooms were reasonably clean and the shower pressure was ok. One of the toilets was broken and the other had a cistern that took ages to fill so it often wasn't flushed. The free wi-fi was hit and miss and worked 2 out if the 3 days we were there. The included breakfast was pretty ordinary and was the same every day. The common area was a great place to meet other travelers but was close to reception that always seemed full of locals who were very loud and did not seem to be guests staying at the accommodation. ,
4 out of 5
by Russell

Meramees--great location; inexpensive; great staff

Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed a few days at Meramees. Great location; very helpful and informative staff; sandstorm added to the experience; would stay there again
5 out of 5
by Evan from USA

Loved our stay

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels
First things first... You are staying in Cairo, Egypt. My ratings are relevant to WHERE you are in the world. We loved our stay here... Ahmed (the manager) was very helpful booking train tickets, drivers (taxi) and tours; whatever we needed. The price was right, the atmosphere was friendly and the location was fantastic... Only a 5-7 minute walk to the Egyptian Museum. I have nothing but great things to say about this place. In our room, the A/C was good (almost too good, I woke up freezing) and it was clean... Breakfast was simple but sufficient. The wifi was a bit frustrating, but that is a common occurrence in Cairo. If you book with these guys, you won't regret it.
2 out of 5
by Tharum from London, UK

Disappointment at Meramees

Posted Oct 15, 2012
Arrived Tues. 9/10/12 at 21:00, met at airport and driven to Hotel. Room with 3 beds no hanging space except 3 beds. Showered , no hot water, complained to desk, said it would seen to- did not happen for duration of stay. Offered tours, learnt later taxi from hotel priced well above normal taxi hailed from street. Directed to stores with prices well above " market" prices- obviously kick back involved e.g. shirts from recommended dealers 50 pounds after bargaining, 20 pounds from market same quality. All in all a disappointing stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Balears, España

Muy céntrico y económico

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Su situación, amabilidad del personal y su precio.
Cons: Mobiliario un tanto viejo e inexistente(habitación un tanto muí básica lo que se perdona acorde con el precio).
Location: Junto estación metro naguib, horreya bar, junto a restaurant Kazaz, tiendas, supermercado justo al lado, etc
Muy céntrico, junto a estación de metro naguib, junto a plaza talaat harb y calle talaat harb para tus compras y a un minuto de plaza tahrir. Agua caliente todo el tiempo, etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by daisuke from Tokyo

sooo good!!!

Posted Mar 24, 2013
Thank you so much!!! I had a so good time in Meramees!! I'll be back!! From Daisuke