Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
We love the place and have recently come back from our second holiday there
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: First of all, we are very delighted that you choose our hotel Barceló Ponent Playa for your holidays in Mallorca and taking your valuable time to write us about your stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kindest Regards Maria del Mar Sánchez Guest Experience Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Hidden fees and poor staff, very disappointed!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The location, beautiful beach.
Cons: Everything else. The food, the hotel staff, the list of things that are included with the all-inclusive package.
Location: The beach was lovely, right around the corner was a high street with lots of shops. Also the hotel was only a 10 minute walk from the city center.
Let me start off by mentioning pretty much the only positive thing about this hotel, it's location. The location of the hotel on the Cala Ferrera beach is absolutely breathtaking. The ocean is lovely and the view is incredible. That was pretty much the only thing that I found enjoyable about this hotel. The rooms were decent enough, cleaned daily by lovely cleaning ladies, but the double bed was in fact two twin beds pushed together which made it hard for a couple to sleep close together without falling down the crack in the middle. The hotel staff was terrible. They barely understand English and are unhelpful. I was stung twice by a wasp at the beach and went to ask for a first aid kit and they said they do not have one...aren't they required by law to have a kit?! The food in the all inclusive was poor as one who suspect with a 3 star hotel. It was very greasy and oily and because of that I had an upset stomach after almost every meal. STAY AWAY if you are looking for a good all inclusive hotel, after my trip looking back at it I'm not really sure what was included in the all inclusive. They had extra fees on EVERYTHING. From what types of drinks, to fees to use beach towels and sun beds, it seems the hidden fees never ended. I paid for an all inclusive thinking I wouldn't have to spend any extra money but I was very wrong. Also when I had problems with the bus service that was taking me to the airport (Viajes Urbes) the hotel staff was no help whatsoever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lauren: Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holidays in Mallorca. I would like to inform you that we are not allowed to provide any kind of medicines or lotions to our guest because we do not know any allergies they could have. We regret your disappointment for not being able to provide you with a proper double bed during your stay however we would like to take the opportunity to point out that all rooms are advertised as having twin beds on our website, We also regret that our buffet couldn´t meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests. Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future. Kindest Regards Maria del Mar Sánchez Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, UK

Fabulous location

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: pool wasn't the cleanest first thing in the morning but it did get cleaned daily, so that's understandable
Location: lots to do, beach steps away, lots of restaurants bars and shops nearby
fabulous location, lovely variety of food, clean rooms, helpful staff - would definitely recommend and would stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Louise: I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel Barceló Ponent Playa for your holidays in Mallorca. We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Ponent Playa hotel. Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. We are also grateful for your highlight on the efforts of our maids to keep our installations and accommodations spotless at all times in order to guarantee our high standards related to hygiene and cleanliness which is one of the most important aspects for Barceló. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Kindest Regards Maria del Mar Sánchez Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016
A view to die for, would definitely go back. Not 5 star but not 5 star prices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for trusting us and choosing our establishment Barceló Ponent Playa for your holiday in Mallorca. Our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all members of our team to know that we succeeded in our effort. I will share your precious comment with the rest of the team. Thanking you once again for your feedback and looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Clean room, friendly hotel staff, excellent location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Barcelo’ Ponent Playa. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards. Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
by Margaret from Cheshire

unbelievable view

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
When for family wedding. Enjoyed the whole of CalaDor. Hotel in a good location for everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Margaret, Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on your holiday experience at our Barceló Ponent Playa Hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed the wedding. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future. Kind regards, Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
by Klodian from Trondheim

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
The sea view is amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Klodian, We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards. Guest Experience Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT VERY ORGANISED

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The food for a 3 star was good.
Cons: Need to keep their emails and confirmations for additions that have been organised by them. Need far more sunloungers for the size of the hotel.
Location: Some good boat trips out of the marina which is only about a 25 minute walk away.
We had a weeks stay at the hotel in the first week of the school holidays. The sunloungers to the hotel by beach side are an extra and there are not many and you would be very lucky to get one! The sunloungers around the pool - people queue for up to an hour before opening time to get the few available. You have to pay for the sunloungers on the beach and the beach gets very full. To be honest the hotel does not have the availability to enjoy a beach hotel with so few bathing areas. I telephoned and emailed in advanced to add another person to a room and also to book taxis from and to airport. They confirmed that this had all been done. On arrival at midnight unfortunately the room was not set up for the 3rd person, although this was sorted quite quickly. We were picked up fine from the airport, but on confirming the day before we left that the taxi was still all OK, they had lost all information. Later that day they did sort this problem out and confirmed a taxi was indeed organised. On the day we left the taxi did not show! We then had a very frantic end to our holiday in trying to sort this problem out, only getting to the airport just in time and to be honest this ruined the end to what should have been a relaxing time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like thank you for sharing your experience at Barceló Ponent Playa. We deeply regret that we did not live up your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay and with your pick up transfer. We will inform the correspondent department to look into more details. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and truly hope that despite some complaints you got to enjoy the relaxing holiday you deserve. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future and show your some changes. Kind regards, Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
by Kristina from Sydney

Family resort with great location

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Great location with easy to find parking on near by streets. Food was ok. Lots of families and kids so would avoid if you are a young couple like us. Our room overlooked the bar, which had kids music, dance and karaoke until 11pm each night. Service was good with friendly staff. The room was outdated however it was clean. terrible wifi in room and the worst bed. the double was two single beds on wheels which was awful to sleep on and very noisy. It's a nice resort and good value for money however we wouldn't stay here again unless I had kids we me. The town it's self is very kid friendly so avoid if this isn't not you. Not much to do at night unless you like karaoke in all the bars around town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Barcelo’ Ponent Playa. Your feedback and suggestions help us to improve our service. We deeply regret that we did not live up your expectations. We are constantly working to give the best possible service. We know we are not a modern hotel but we try to keep it in the best conditions. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and truly hope that despite some complaints you got to enjoy the relaxing holiday you deserve. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future and show your some changes. Kind regards, Guest Experience Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointed

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: rooms, beds, FOOD
Location: location was perfect - right on cove and shopping area nearby. plus lots more easily accessible by short cab ride.
The staff was nice enough but the rooms have seen better days and the beds were awful (asked for a double but it was 2 singles pushed together, with wheels so it was constantly rolling apart). But the worst part was the food, absolutely horrible. I also didn't like all the limits on when/where we could use our all inclusive benefits. really wish the website or review sites would outline was is included and what you have to pay extra for, also the times of service. The location is fantastic though so that made things bearable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on your holiday experience at our Barceló Ponent Playa Hotel. Our customers comments are very important to us as only through their objective observations and remarks we are able to measure our performance and improve certain aspects of service if necessary. We deeply regret you did not enjoy our restaurant. We have a staff at your disposal during your stay if you have any special request. will inform the correspondent department and look into the issues in more detail. Regarding the all inclusive, in check-in time we give our guest a depliant with information about our services, also about all inclusive. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Mallorca and that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday in our more than 100 hotels in 19 different destinations. Best regards, Guest Experience Manager