Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gated hotel, very friendly staff, feels Italian

Posted Oct 28, 2016
When you arrive you think, where is it. There is an American diner and then round the side you think, oh no a Nightclub. Don't worry, large Car park across the other side is a set of gates. This is the hotel. Ring the bell and you are let in. Down a track, a little lake and there is the hotel. Looks great from the outside. Now don't expect modern, think Italian, it looks and feels it. Clean, comfortable. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Now heres the bit you will need to know. The main building has a restaurant and conference centre. Get a room out of there in one of the blocks. We were above the restaurant and it was noisy, plates, cutlery, people talking and smoking outside and when you have the windows open its not good. I'm not criticising the hotel, its something some may not like. Room was lovely, bed comfortable. Breakfast was very nice. A continental style but all fresh and very tasty. Its quite far to the centre of Pisa but location is quiet. Would I stay here again, yes I would, its a pity we only had one night and we were out of season as the pools were closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Forest, England

A great place to visit the region.

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: It was in a perfect location for our trip. It was very cheap for the beautiful room we stayed in. The staff were very helpful and room very clean.
Cons: It cant be changed easily, but the area leading up to the hotel made us think that we were in the wrong place, or that it wasn't what we would like.
Location: The hotel was very close to an industrial park which was off putting until you got past it.
We're touring around three regions of Italy and this was our first stop. It ended up being a great choice and excellent value for money. We flew into Pisa and visited Pisa, Florence and Luca and many small villages. Luca was by far the most beautiful and a definite must for any visit to the region. Pisa and Florence came a close second. After this we're heading South driving down the middle of Tuscany, stopping from time to time and ending up on the Amalfi coast in a few days time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Poorly maintained apartments.

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Stayed here for a night. The room was basically a very small one bedroom apartment. It looked like a newer hotel but is not well maintained. The dishes were dirty, all the handles felt loose or broken and the AC did not work (good thing it was cool out). The lobby felt more like a hostel and the staff didnt seem very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by allen from England

Good hotel but opposite disco..too loud music..

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Can't get sleep til 2 am due to loud sounds.Good location for people who loves night outs..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from London

A pleasant surprise

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Calcinaia is not the most attractive of towns but we were delighted when we found Calamidoro Hotel .It is close to Pisa and a wonderful haven after exploring Tuscany. Staff were very helpful and the restaurant by the pool was exceptional quality and good value
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from hereford

one of the best in tuscany

Posted Jun 13, 2010
The hotel is brill the rooms are seperate from the main building which was quite nice, the rooms have everthing you require clean tidy and well equiped. The surrounding country side is very pretty with great hills in the background and tidy gardens around the hotel. We did not use it but there is an excellent pool available to residents.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Isle of Wight

First Class Yet Again

Posted Mar 29, 2009
Forth Time now and still beyond all our expectations. The Reception has moved to the Old Borg which makes it easier to sort any finer details. Staff are first class as is the service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice, but slightly odd location

Posted Oct 7, 2008
This is an odd hotel - the reception is in a parade of shops and a petrol station, but then you are taken by road round to a gated property that is quite lovely, with lake and nice grounds. Hotel requires car to enjoy surrounding area as is in an industrial area. If you dont want to go far, there are a couple of places to eat next to the hotel, although the hotel restuarant did not meet our expectations, it was average. Most things seem to be closed on Monday evenings (not just at the hotel but in the local area as well), and there was a discoteque in the grounds that pumped out music into the early hours on the Tuesday evening. Best to check if this is a regular thing on a weekend if you think this may bother you. Room itself was lovely (junior suite) although was very warm (no air conditioning). Breakfast was lovely (salami's, cheese, fruit, bread, pastries, yoghurt, cakes) and more than enough for everyone. Plus it was open until 11am each day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ryde

Fantastic Yet Again

Posted Sep 20, 2008
This is our third visit and won't be the last. Fantastic service from all concerned. Looking forward to 2009 and going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Excellent!!!

Posted Aug 29, 2008
the hotel was lovely!! the service , great! the location, perfect! Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in Italy!