Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Daniel

Pleasant stay.

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
I asked for quiet room, high up, front - facing the sea. Got all that, 5th floor. Room and hotel generally clean. Room service was good. Reception and restaurant staff were all very friendly and helpful. Food was satisfactory - you get what you pay for. You pay for tea / coffee with dinner. Breakfast and dinner buffet style. No tea/coffee - making facilities in my room. However I brought my own kettle and of course 'Barrys Tea' from Cork! Not even one English language TV station available. No fridge in my room. Two electric sockets in my room, located half-way up the wall. Ingenuity needed to plug in my kettle for the tea! Another in the bathroom ( maybe illegal under EU rules, I'm not sure!) Hotel is 15 minutes from beach. A glimpse of the sea over rooftops of hotels in front. Mini supermarket in front open until 10.30pm. I didn't find any of the local bars or restaturants very exotic - nothing to write about. Nothing very distinctive about Calella. A lot of shops in the Old Town. One of many resorts north of Barcelona. If one goes to Spain for sun, sea, sand - one can ave those in Calella and Hotel Esplai was very good value. I took boat to Tossa de Mar one day - €32.00, train to Blanes another day only €4.90. Train from Barcelona Airport to Calella, a lovely journey along the coast - sit on the right - was only €4.90 too. Clean comfortable trains. One hour to Barcelona on train.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Restaurant

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: The hotel was standard 3 star. However there was a lot of Spanish guests at the weekend meaning a shortage of sunbeds at the pool
Cons: The restaurant staff re above
Location: We had been to the area before so were aware of the location and nearby facilities. The hotel is quite close to the beach and old town.
On our first evening the restaurant was busy .There was no one to advise you of the setup. The staff did not seem to realise that by clearing tables where guests had finished their meals people waiting could be seated. No red wine Monday evening, Tuesday lunch and evening. Sometimes no cold meat at the salad section
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was better than expected for a 3 star

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Overall the hotel was very good.Staff were very friendly,food not too bad but was never hot.The only grievances we had were that the mealtimes were too short and the food was being removed half an hour before the end of each sitting,and we had to ask for clean bed linen 9 days into our two week stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by iulian p.

Good vacation

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Ebookers
There is a good value hotel, good swimming pool, good breakfast and dinner.Could be more diversified.Butm it's good for a Calella *** stars hotel. It is placed near the centre of the town, 300 m from the beach.I recommend it.
1 out of 5
by Irina H

Disgusting !

Posted Sep 13, 2012 on Hotels
DISGUSTING!!!!!!! Don't let yourself full by the pictures posted on internet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north wales

great staff

Posted Oct 7, 2008
we only stayed for three nights, but wish it was longer. I was apprehensive after reading reviews, but needn't have been. Granted this is a quieter time of year, and perhaps the best time to go with young family, but the staff were all very helpfull at all times, the hotel is very clean and the room was comfortable even though we had an extra bed in it. Would go again, but maybe not in high season.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York

Okay for some

Posted Sep 6, 2008
The hotel was very noisy and full of teenage Germans, which guaranteed you were woken at 3 and 4 every morning. Things went missing from our room and the reception staff just shrugged. The pool area was far too small for the size of the hotel, and we felt driven out by the fact that it was difficult to get a sunbed. On the plus side, the breakfast was excellent, and the 2 lads employed there ensured that kids were entertained and that people got involved; this created a community atmosphere. We didnt like drinking out of plastic glasses in the bar, though we accepted that around the pool. Its not really a family hotel, although it served a great purpose if you were 18 -30. We did warm to the place eventually, but would not return. We found Calella to be a bit of a hole, not a patch on Tossa, or LLoret for it's beauty. Its the first time we have felt disappointed by our Expedia holiday and will employ a different search criteria when we book with you next year.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Glad for å ha reist videre

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Hotellet så bedre ut enn det var. Sengene kan sammenlignes med feltsenger. På hjul, du kunne kjenne hver ei fjær. Tynne laken og skitne pledd. Veldig lytt til gangen. Akkurat nå foregår det bygging av parkeringshus og anlegning av vei på hele "baksiden" av hotellet. Mye støy, ikke mulig å sitte på veranda. Verst var forholdene i frokostsalen, skitne kopper og fat, rett og slett uappetittlig.
4 out of 5
by Maurizio

Tutto a poco prezzo

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel Esplai molto buono e attrezzato, buon posizionamento. Personale super gentile e super disponibile, mangiare ottimo e abbondante ... nell'Hotel Esplai è come stare in famiglia.
5 out of 5
by Malgorzata

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels