Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

BUMPED US OUT to sister hotel down road!

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Rooms at Volga were clean. Average space.
Cons: see above
Location: see above
Upon check in, front desk manager said that I have a problem! ( May be lost in translation, as Spanish) . No rooms available. No electricity or water in my room. What room? I haven't even checked in. Given no option but to go to sister hotel, Volga, which was supposedly an upgrade to 4 star from 3 star. I feel that customers booked with 3rd party vendors like Expedia, were being "ewalked" to other hotel on regular basis, so suggest Expedia review relationship with this property. We chose Kaktus playa as it appeared modern, younger and centrally located and highly rated on Expedia. Hotel Volga was locked in a 70's time warp, predominantly ( 80% russian. per front desk ), weak evening entertainment of second rate russian dancers. Front desk assistant helpful, but, about 30 minutes of staff arguing and glancing looks and arm raising as if to say why are they here. Just generally poor customer service. Pool not heated. Food o.k. Supposedly they own beach club and have 15% discount there. Unfortunately they don't know about this. One day would't give, next day 5%, then, 10%, then 10% on food only. ( yes, the bill went back 3 times). Free kayaking at beach offered. when used, only between 11am and 1pm, then, wind too high, then waves too rough. Seemed like constant upsell to sailing or windsurfing with instructor etc. Overall, a painful, argumentative environment I would not recommend if going for relaxing time at beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gibb

Ideal location, great hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Great location, clean, facilities were fab, breakfast was amazing, we had dinner in the hotel too and could not fault it, great value for money
Cons: Nothing at all the hotel was great value for money
Location: Location was perfect for the Ironman event we were attending
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Wonderful staff. Rooms could use up-dating.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Staff.
Cons: Rooms.
Location: Excellent, right near beach and shopping/restaurants. Bit removed from train station (Calella could use 2).
Good experience, especially w/ Joan and staff. Buffet excellent, staff there too. Bar beautiful and staff very friendly. Decor and comfort of rooms lags beauty of rest of hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2015 by Eric c. - Director, Hotel Management
Dear Jose, thanks for your nice words about your experience in our hotel. We are happy that you liked the great service our staff offers to the customers. We will have into account your opinion and will keep improving our facilities. It would be nice to welcome you again. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK

Good, clean and Friendly.

Posted May 19, 2013
Location: Fantastic 2 minutes to the beach, 10 minutes walk to the town with lots of shops, bars and restuarants. 20 minutes to train station to Barcelona.
Very clean and friendly hotel. The staff were very helpful most of them spoke good English. The bar staff were very attentive and remembered what you order after the first day. The Sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were very good but the pool is very cold. The parking was very good and secure for 10 euros a day.
3 out of 5
by Siobhan

overall impression of hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel was very clean and well maintained, however the breakfast was not impressive and the evening meal menu wasn't suitable unless you are a big fan of fish. Hotel was very quiet but expected that at this time of yr. Cleaning staff were so efficient that we were woken at 8am two mornings by the staff not impressed with that. Pool area indoors and outdoors were lovely. Shopping in Calella was brilliant, makes everything in Ireland so expensive.
5 out of 5
by Denis

Magnifique

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
Superbe semaine dans l'établissement de l'accueil de Juan, jusqu'au service en chambre, restauration avec Maria un vrai bout en train (et pilier de l'établissement très appréciée par beaucoup de monde). Idem au bar avec Vladimir et Rubben pour leurs excellents cocktails. Tout est à disposition dans l’hôtel qui est très bien équipé au niveau des chambres spacieuses frigo et coffre fort. Piscine et spa bien entretenu, idem hammam et sauna. Petite remarque sur la piscine mais la c'est la discipline des gens, ils mettent leurs serviettes au petit déjeuner et reviennent que l’après midi, c'est insupportable il faudrait faire la chasse à ce comportement Quelques perturbateur dans la piscine mais vite repris à l'ordre. Etablissement familiale et calme avec des animations le soir (chanteurs et groupes différents, avons particulièrement apprécié la soirée rock et blues et Christina la veille qui à fait participer toutes les nationalités et a chanté pour chacun. Centre ville pas loin avec les animations pour ceux qui veulent. Une plage immense et le concept avec le Bahari club pour les transats juste parfait. Quelques jours de plus nous aurait pas déplu. On y reviendra
3 out of 5
by Nicklas from Lund

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
Snygg lobby och bra tagna bilder. Lyhört. Trångt. Bytte rum efter en del trassel, privileged-rum innebär inte ngt större rum eller annat typiskt för denna spec (märk väl) utan innefattar fyra chokladbitar, lika många flaskor vatten i kylen och strandhandduk.
4 out of 5
by Hans Frode

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Nicklas from Lund

Dekis

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
Problemet är Calella!? Detta är hotels.com bästa hotell och det ligger väl i linje med resten av stan. Kan verkligen inte rekommendera hotellet. Åk bara hit om du måste.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2015 by Eric, Hotel Management
Dear customer, we apologise if you didn't like Calella and our hotel was not what you were expecting. We will keep working on improving our facilities and services. Best Regards, Eric C. - Director