Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Okotoks

Nice hotel close to shopping and restaurant.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: I always take the stairs and I found the stairways could be cleaner
Location: Shopping and restaurants
I stayed one night for business. Very friendly front desk staff. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to shopping and restaurants.

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Stay here often especially close to Christmas. Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel close to shopping malls and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by hiexfom@shaw.ca, Hotel Management
Wonderful to hear the area was a convenience for you during your stay with us. Thank you for the kind review and taking the time to let us know. See you again on the next stay. -Hotel Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to everything in South Calgary.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Easy to get to. Close to everything in south Calgary.
Cons: Pull-out bed mattress needs replacing.
Location: Easy access to everything.
Excellent. Great breakfast. Nice pool area. Clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by hiexfom@shaw.ca, Hotel Management
We appreciate your time to give us feedback. Glad to hear the location and hotel amenities were accommodating. We look forward to your next stay with us. -Hotel Management
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Excellent for overnight business travel. Great access to Southside of Calgary.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by hiexfom@shaw.ca, Hotel Management
We are pleased we could accommodate your stay for your business needs. We look forward to your stay with us to provide more of our guest service. -Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed room next to Gym and Swimming Pool.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: Great location
Great location the reason we chose this hotel. The staff were friendly yet unhelpful. Repeated sorries rather than any action. We complained of a noisy room 4 times and finally they came to us at 11pm and said would you like to move. The complaints were because our room was opposite a gym and we had the thusd from the weights vibrating through our room. we also had all the noise from the swimming pool. I felt they disrespected us because we booked a deal through expedia and for that reason they gave us a crap room. The gym closed at 11pm the same time they offered to move us. The hotel was far from fully occupied.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by hiexfom@shaw.ca, Hotel Management
We have reached out to you to speak about your stay with us. Looking forward to hearing from you! -Hotel Management
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon, SK

enjoyed the stay

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: clean and new. free breakfast was good. wifi was good too! love the shower head, safe parking - well lit.
Cons: satin smooth bed sheets, aircon not doing the auto in a loud way, towel rack in the bathroom - to hang used towels.
Location: we attended my best friends wedding, the church was within proximity. tims was walking distance, though we did not walk, restaurants close by.
Room very clean, amenities in the room was very good and clean. what we did not like was every time the aircon would go auto, it made this loud thud that would take us aback! The sheets were fresh, but the material was not so silky smooth, it was cotton, but i dont know what kind of cotton it was, because it was a bit rough on the skin...the feel of like soft cheese cloth? Other than that, everything was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by Hotel Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the great review about your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Macleod South Calgary. We work very hard to make all our guests happy. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback it is extremely important for us and for our partner Expedia.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Hotel with easy access and a great pool

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Our family wanted a place with lots of space and a great pool for the kids to run off some energy. The pool, water slide and hot tub were comfortable and never that crowded. The hotel staff were very accommodating to our needs and the room was comfortable with everything we needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Hotel staff, Hotel Management
We at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Calgary South would like to say thank you for taking the time to share this excellent review of our property. We are very happy to hear the whole family was able to enjoy our hotel and that we had everything you may need while here. Please do come back and stay with us again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Friendly staff and very accommodating. Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Hotel staff, Hotel Management
The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Calgary South would like to thank you for this 5 star review! Our staff strive to ensure our guests always have a great stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Calgary stay

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Water slide was epic
Cons: Hide a bed
Location: Callaway park and the zoo are musts when you are in Calgary, as well as Pete's drive in.
Entered our room and found the carpet wet all around the air conditioner. Was told maintenance would check it the next day when housekeeping came, but neither housekeeping nor maintenance came. Hide a beds usually are not good to sleep on, but this one was exceptionally terrible; pulled the mattress onto the floor and slept there. On the other hand, water slide was awesome and amazing! Kids loved it and the pool. Breakfast was great, with lots of options and good tasting food!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by Hotel staff, Hotel Management
We must apologize for the problems you encountered in your room while staying with us. It is not usual that we are not able to fix a problem when it is brought to our attention. We are glad to hear that the family did enjoy our other amenities and that breakfast was satisfying. We hope this experience will not dissuade you from staying with us again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Temperature of hallways & Libby was too hot, staff could not seem to correct it. Breakfast was missing items daily. Rooms were clean and had well controlled temperature.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by Hotel staff, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that your time with us did not meet your expectations. We hope you will be pleased to know we were able to fix the buildings cool air problem. It is our hope that this experience will not keep you from staying with us again.