Ratings based on 645 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Decent price, decent hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2016
There are only two things I did not like about this hotel. The first being how thin the walls are. Another review had mentioned that the walls are extremely thin, and he did not lie. The couple next to us may as well have been in the same room. We could hear absolutely everything that was happening in their room. And this one is just a first world problem, and me being picky. But the bed was fairly uncomfortable. My boyfriend had no issue with it, but I just found the mattress to being very hard and not easy to get comfortable on. But other than those picky issues, the hotel itself was great. It was clean, the staff were all wonderful, and the location was perfect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmonton alberta

Great staff, right on campus.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
We were in Calgary to see some bands play at MacEwan Hall. It was about a 3 minute walk which was awesome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I wouldn't go back.

Posted Nov 30, 2016
We booked a queen bed and received a double. The bathroom had very poor lighting which made makeup application difficult. The first morning the complimentary breakfast was good and the second it was awful. I had to ask for cutlery, juice and more food. The danish from the day before was empty and the floor and tables were a mess. The two ladies did not seem to know what to do. We skipped the third morning. We wouldn't book there again despite the great proximity to our daughter in university.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great gym facilities

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: location + gym
Cons: have more items for weekends at Bistro Alma
Location: walk around the university
i really like how you can use the facilities of the university for exercising; much better than other hotels where they will have just a few machines lying around.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016
快適です。大学の中にあるので夜はとても静かで、快適に眠れました。 朝食も大変美味しく満足しました。従業員もとても優しく助かりました。朝からコンビニエンスストアも空いており恵まれた環境でした。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Nice place for a business trip

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: OK
Cons: Breakfast quality and service
Location: University and downtown
It is good but restaurant is not as good as before.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Clean, quiet and close to where I needed to be.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
I was impressed by this beautiful hotel and the lovely setting on the U of C campus.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Regina, SK, Canada

Tiny rooms with thin walls

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Less expensive than downtown hotels. Nice staff.
Cons: Soundproofing the rooms.
Location: A car is needed as the campus is isolated.
Hotel Alma is located on the University of Calgary campus. The rooms are very small - like a dorm. The walls are thin; I was awakened at 5:30 one morning by a hotel neighbour playing music. Breakfast is included but is minimal (toast, yogourt, fruit).
2 out of 5
by Daniel from Hong Kong

Small room, poor quality and dirty restaurant

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
I rented a car so location is not an issue. Room is exceptionally small. The space between the work desk and the bed is very small and I bumped into the foot broad of the bed all time. Sink in the bathroom is odd, shallow, and the faucet almost touching the bottom of the sink. Toilet seat is of a smaller size that does not cover the toilet fully. I added extra for breakfast and the quality is bad. The choices are limited with bread and bagels etc and boiled eggs daily. For the extra amount paid, it is not worth it. Flies very wear in the morning in the restaurant. Two were drown in my coffee too. I told the host but no improvement was made during my second and third morning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan, Canada

Right on Campus

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Modern - retro feel to the hotel. Beautiful, comfortable room. Easy access to anywhere within University of Calgary Campus.
One night stay. Meeting with students on campus for a Banquet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Team Alma, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!