Ratings based on 1,340 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rooms on Level 2 only

Posted Sep 17, 2017
We booked our 2 rooms on Expedia. The site did not tell us that the Expedia rooms were only located on Level 2, which meant we had rooms that had no view and looked out onto a wall. They also did not indicate that there were 5, quite steep steps, to access the floor - we had a baby and stroller. As Level 2 was not satisfactory for us, we had to pay extra to have a room on a floor, which had a view and we could access with the baby and stroller. If we had known about this we would never have booked the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

Awesome!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Incredible front desk staff! The pool area was great, however it closed early for a private function and we were asked to leave at 3pm which kind of sucked! Otherwise the stay was perfect and the room couldn't have been better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Arty Hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We liked the funky art touches around the hotel and our room was very quiet. Until we turned on the a/c. Then it was as if we had a jet plane in our room. We booked an additional night on top of our tour booking and were grateful for an upgrade so we could stay in the same room. We ate at both the Yellow Door and Raw Bar and the food was exceptionally good. Staff were also excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Pretty nice hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Update your basic rooms. For a hotel with such a fantastic reputation I was disappointed how little the lower end rooms received.
Location: Great hotel pool, private and always has a dj on the weekends.
Overall the hotel room its self was pretty meh, if you're going for the basic room don't expect much. I was shocked that Hotel Arts didn't even accommodate so much as a fridge, when I stayed at a motor in in Golden BC of all places and it had a fridge LOL. So don't expect much unless you're willing to splurge for the fancier rooms. But the facilities and staff were 5 star. We arrived a few hours before check in times, and nicely notified the front desk. She had a room ready for us so we didnt have to wait which was so wonderful. We came during the August long and we're told the hotel pool was at capacity with resos. I was never made aware you needed to make a reservation for the hotel pool (if you wanted a table) the staff we're super accommodating and let us know we could have towel service by the pool and would take our number down should anything become available. We got a call to our room by the grace of god (I guess) and they told us they had a table for us. They thanked us for our patience and got us drinks right away. What originally started as a disappointed day with coming all the way to that hotel for the pools use, it was so nice how the staff strived to help us. Amazing staff would return for this alone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice Hotel, Great location

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Had a great stay at Hotel Arts in Calgary. This hotel was very clean and is in a great location, easy walk to the Calgary Tower and many restaurants. Also very close to Cowboys Casino and also the Saddledome so is a perfect location for Stampede Room was very clean and spacious with a balcony. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary

Disappointing

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Does not live up to the hype and image of a high end hotel. The main reception area and lounge are great, however the room was dirty and disappointing overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Great location in a Calgary. The pool is very nice. The hotel felt safe and was comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Wonderful location in Calgary

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Good hotel in great location for walking, close to parks and easy stroll to all the fun and food on 17th Street
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needed a good nights sleep.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
I have stayed at Hotel Arts 3 times previously and each time the experience has differed. First time was great. The hotel, although "tired" provided a clean-ish room, good bed and a needed nights rest. This was an Expedia upgrade so we had a king sized room. Second and third time we were in a basic king and the room should have been out of order for maintenance. Bathroom fixtures were falling from mounts, mildew and mould on the caulking. The wall had what looked like someone's fist punched through and was hidden by the wallpaper. I spent a restless night listening to carts being dragged in the back of house alley, and was charged for items I did not use in the room (although front desk was very prompt in refunding). Overall, this was better than sleeping on the street, but for a few dollars more could have been in a nicer, newer establishment. Too bad, because the ambience is definitely up-beat, front end staff seem to enjoy their jobs and smiles are readily at hand. Not a place I would stay in future, but gave it 3 tries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Heart of DT and clean

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Stayed here overnight for work. The room was nice and clean, and pretty spacious for a DT hotel. Pool was murky so I was too grossed out to use it. Other than that, I had a comfortable stay. They even have 3 bikes to Cruze around town in.