Ratings based on 1,306 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Was expecting better

Posted Sep 13, 2016
There were several things that happened that I was disappointed by: 1. Closet light sensor was broken and the light wouldn't turn off. 2. There was a large unsightly industrial type heater (?) sitting beside the sink in the bathroom counter upon arrival...??? The cord was strung across the sink and plugged in. Had to call maintenance to remove it. 3. I couldn't get the phone to stop beeping even after checking for messages. Finally just disconnected it. 4. Bed didn't have any extra pillows or comforter like the pics online 5. Not a huge deal but menu said room service was done at 10pm, so i tried to grab a snack from the vending machine, which rejected my cash.!! An annoyance after all of the above. Expected more from a top rated hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Swanky hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Very nice hotel, centrally located, nice pool which was kid friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Usually great stay not as perfect as usual

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Having stayed at the Hyatt Calgary many times before, my fiancé and I were both looking forward to returning to this property as it is one of our favourite hotels in Calgary. With major construction on a new building right outside the hotel, I called the front desk on the first night to inquire about the hours of construction activity & asked if it would be possible to move to a room away from the noise so that I could sleep in peacefully on my birthday the next day. The gentlemen that I spoke with pleasantly responded and said that while he was not sure how possible moving was since the hotel was fully committed, that he would double check and call me back within a few minutes to let me know if he could find an alternate room, even if it meant a different bedding configuration. Sadly, I never heard back from him. Luckily the construction did not start up again in the morning. However, on the 2nd evening, the construction continued on until almost 2am with unpleasant jack hammering and I called the front desk again to ask how late construction was supposed to go on for in the evening to which I was given a vague answer and an offer for ear plugs. When I asked the employee why he did not get back to me the night prior, he gave me some strange excuse which uncharacteristically unhelpful. Also, both of us felt the pillows were uncomfortable this stay which made for not great quality of sleep. I admit I'm a little disappointed with this stay in comparison to others I've had here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Clean rooms, friendly staff, convenient downtown location
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lethbridge, AB

Nice Downtown Hotel, No Parking

Posted Sep 6, 2016
This was my third stay at the Hyatt in Calgary, and I love the hotel. Big rooms, very modern, very comfortable, but they had no parking available for me. I think they should limit the amount of public parking to make space for guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Parking only issue. We had to park quite far away. Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast buffet was great. Definitely worth booking the rate that includes the breakfast if staying with family
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Convenient downtown hotel.

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Convenient and modern.
Location: Central downtown location. Shopping and lots of restaurants nearby
Spacious rooms with great staff in a very nice hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel and staff.

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Really good hotel. Staff excellent especially front desk.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wirral, UK

Good central location

Posted Sep 1, 2016
We stayed 4 nights, booking the Zoo Package for 1 night (which included 4 zoo tickets, parking and breakfast), and 3 nights room only. We had 2 queen beds which accommodated my family of 4 (which included 2 teenagers). We had stayed at the hotel 10 years ago and really enjoyed that stay but on this occasion was a little disappointed. We were told we had a lovely view over the city, but basically looked out over the roof tops of adjacent buildings and the building site for some new skyscrapers. It seems the Hyatt will soon be surrounded by much bigger buildings! The room was quiet and comfortable, my only complaint being that the fitted sheets seemed too small for the deep mattresses and did not stay on during the night. The Calgary Tower was a couple of minutes walk away, and the Core shopping mall was just down the road. On our last night before returning to the UK we left our bags with reception and went around the Glen Bow museum directly opposite, which was worth the visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmonton

great hotel except for one thing

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: the comfort and convenience of the location
Cons: was hoping for some sort of discount for the trouble of the fire alarm two mornings in a row.
everything about the hotel to the staff was great. the only thing that sucked was the fire alarm going off two morning in a row at 7am.