Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Overrated

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: The restaurant and the friendly receptionist.
Cons: Plumbing and heating needs serious renovation.
Location: I like the Kensington area. It's a trendy, lively part of town.
I have stayed at many Relais & Chateaux hotels in the past. This was not in that league. The hotel needs serious updating - plumbing, heating in particular. The location in town is nice. The restaurant is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uxbridge

A sensual delight

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The most comfortable beds I have ever slept in! The range of body care products supplied - cool, minty, invigorating!
Cons: Communication between receptionsts - we ordered a taxi, but the new receptionist on duty did not know to ring our room. We waited and waited.
Location: Kensington for quirky shopping and cafes. Great for walking into downtown area, with scenic views from the bridges. The riverside park for beauty.
I book the Kensington Riverside Inn as a treat after spending time in motels in Southern Alberta. It is a sensual delight, Its location in the interesting and vibrant Kensington area, plus the easy access to the riverside park area and downtown, are important features. How wonderful to be greeted in the parking area pn a hot day by a smiling host carrying a bottle of cold water!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford,, UK

Good location, but rooms are VERY grey

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: The grey decor!
Location: Nice restaurants nearby
Grey is a fashionable colour right now, but the designer really went to town on this. The bedroom was very chic, but very dark and had no shades of warmth. It felt quite depressing and we didn't want to spend much time in it. Perhaps it was just our room on the ground floor as we didn't get a chance to look at other rooms. Overall the hotel was fine. It's in a good location in Kensington and it was very quiet at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Lovely hotel right on the river..

Posted Sep 15, 2016
only stayed one night on our way to Banff, but really enjoyed the place, staff and especially the location..we used the loaner bikes and rode up and down the Bow River, and into the city for breakfast...Wonderful!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unbelievable service and a beautiful hotel!

Posted Sep 11, 2016
From the minute we pulled into the garage Alex was there to assist us with every need. The view of Calgary from our balcony was a nice plus as well. The dinner at the onsite Chef's Table was unbelievable as well. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ithaca, NY

A lovely hotel by the Bow River.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Most everything.
Cons: The hotel's lobby is a bit small.
Location: See comments above.
The hotel is stylish and comfortable, and has top quality bathroom fixtures, linens and mattress. Our stay was pleasurable. The food in the restaurant was good, and the hotel is located in the Kensington neighborhood, which has several good restaurants and bars. The neighborhood is also within easy walking distance of downtown Calgary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great small hotel!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Comfy beds and a gas fireplace in each room.
This is a wonderful hotel in a funky and fun neighborhood just across the river from downtown. Everything is well taken care of and the staff are very helpful. Personal service down to coffee and tea in front of your door in the mornings.They greeted me with a cold bottle of water (hot day) and took care of everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Great location. Rooms are very comfortable modern and clean. Staff was excellent. The hotel restaurant was also really good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire, UK

Great hotel and sitution

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: The staff were so friendly without being over the top and were so helpful - I find being old I increasingly need help and advice which I readily got.
Cons: can think of nothing!
Location: see above, I was not very venturesome.
My son had done some research and persuaded me to stay there. It was such a good situation, both evenings I went down and sat by the river having looked at the wild flowers. I had wanted to stay near Calgary airport with shuttle but he persuaded me to stay with you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Kensington riverside inn

Posted Aug 2, 2016
We were met at our car in the parade by the front staff who had cool bottles of water for us. Staff were amazing. Beautiful place with great attention to detail. I would Recommend highly!!