Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Very decent, the exterior does not look like the photos.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grande Prairie

Awful. Extremely Dirty.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The management doesn't care so nothing can be done.
Location: The Best Western is next door - stay there!
Floors, counters, bathroom, nothing was clean. Even found black curly hairs in the bed and on the pillows. Coffee maker didn't work. Toaster was filthy. Complimentary cookie was moldy. When I told the front desk that our room had not been cleaned and the coffee maker didn't work, they didn't care at all. Just a place that takes your money and doesn't care if you ever go back. To top it off - the parking is across the alley and on the next block behind the Best Western Hotel! Awful experience!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, convenient, and comfortable!

Posted Dec 6, 2016
The locations is perfect for people who like to walk around and explore. Close to the train and lots of great restaurants and shopping in walking distance. Also, THEY HAVE MURPHY BEDS.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

interesting

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Parking was kinda awkward... so was being across from the front desk. However, it was a Cozy place. Expect to feel like a upscale hostel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room and wonderful staff.

Posted Nov 4, 2016
My recent stay at this hotel was excellent - the staff were very accommodating and service was top notch. My only issue is with the room itself. I stayed in a queen suite and found the bathroom to be a bit small with very little storage for toiletries and towels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Assistant Manager , Hotel Management
Hello, thank you very much for your valuable review. We are in the process of re-designing the toilet to give more space for the guest's belongings. Hope to see you next time with better quality.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016
The room was great. It had everything you needed to cook something. Close to everything. Parking was terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Assistant Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your compliments. However, it is disappointing to hear that you were uncomfortable with the parking situation. We are always seeking for better parking space for guests. Hope that we can accommodate you again on your next trip to Calgary.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

going downhill, looking tired

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: After 5 previous stays this is my last, this is soon to be the dodgy little hotel in Calgary
Cons: The room was the most expensive i have had there (5 previous visits). The room i was given was the smallest yet. There has been an obvious change of ownership/management this is not a good change. A lot of unsavoury characters coming in and out during all hours now. My door had obviously been kicked in recently and almost fixed. This was my "go to" spot for Calgary business trips, this is my last stay there.
Location: OK location, starbucks nearby x2
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

10/10 recommend

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: full kitchen so that it's easier to save money by cooking instead of eating out. Starbucks right next door. bed was comfortable and the room was clean
Cons: parking could have been closer or better directions to get there. was somewhat unclear where to park
Location: Starbucks right next door and nightlife was within walking distance.
small but local business, rooms were decent size with full kitchen and everything included to cook. tv and satellite included and the room looked amazing. staff was friendly and helpful. very cheap and such a high quality room. would definetly stay again and recommend to friends and family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Front desk agent David Lee, Hotel Management
Hi Maddie, thank you for your valuable review for our hotel. We apologize for your inconvenience with the parking. Since we are in downtown, it is hard to have the parking built-in, and some other hotels have the same problem. But we are trying our best to locate better parking space for the guests. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Calgary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Barrhead, AB

Modern Hotel Close to Amenities

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Modern and clean.
Cons: I'm sensitive to smells and the linens on the bed were too scented.
Location: Everything to do nearby from night out to buying groceries to going to Starbucks or Tim Horton's. Even a pizza place nearby. This hotel has it all.
Close to grocery store - important because the suite has a beautiful kitchenette. Close to restaurants, coffee shops, drug stores, everything really, within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay and have another stay booked. The parking is not totally convenient, but you can work around it. Two types of coffee makers in room, traditional drip and Keurig, so bring your favorite coffee or go to Starbucks across the street. There is a stove top and oven and ample cookware and dishes. You could stay a week or a month and be rather comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by Peter, Hotel Management
Hello Colleen, Thank you for your valuable feedback. I'm very sorry about strong scent from bed due to use of certain effective detergents. We will keep doing our best for your comfortable stay in Calgary.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Stressful

Posted Sep 27, 2016
We didn't get any sleep as there were a group of people screaming at each other all night while running up and down the stairs and slamming the doors. When we called the front desk the first time to let them know they did nothing about it. We called a second time and all he did was tell them to go back to their rooms. The screaming never stopped. We ended up checking out at 8 am. We asked for a refund and only received 50% of the original price back due to company policy. When I asked to speak with the owners, he told me they were unavailable. I'm still waiting for someone to call me back. As far as I'm concern these people shouldn't be running a business as they do not know how to handle things.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2016 by James, Hotel Management
Hi Mae, Thank you for your valuable feedback. On that night, we gave them several times of warnings, and our overnight shift reported that they kept it down during the night after the warnings. Also we didn't get any noise complaints on that night. I sincerely apologize for your uncomfortable stay, and we will keep doing our best to keep the property quiet during the nights. Thank you for choosing Nuvo.