Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to airport

Posted Dec 16, 2016
I stayed one night at this hotel because I was volunteering across the street at Samaritan's Purse. The check-in gal was very friendly and helpful. A bit difficult to understand, but very sweet spirit! The male who worked the evening shift was not friendly at all nor helpful. The management was informed. Even with construction going on at this hotel, it was a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Overall very good. Had to unplug the fridge because it was noisy. Lots of outside noise. But overall was very good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Ab, Canada

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Didn't even get to stay the night. I paid $140 thru Expedia and lost out on all that money. I didn't have a credit card so the hotel would not even let me stay. I thought a cash deposit or my visa debit would be suffice but I guess not! Front desk agent was a real cow too! Not helpful at all. I was stuck with nowhere to go at 11pm at night and completely lost with my 2 children !!! Not cool !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and in need of renovation.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Furniture is in rough shape and room is run down. Moxie's Restaurant attached to the hotel has good food with the restaurant itself isn't clean
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver b.c.

Good place to stay near the airport

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Clean room with two restaurants to choose from - Chop steakhouse or Moxies. Quiet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
North door was propped open and people roamed halls all night. Not going back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from Vancouver

Business trip to Calgary

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The staff and location.
Cons: The Hotel is old and worn down. It needs a facelift.
Location: Short drive from airport, restaurants etc. Also, there are two good restaurants on the property which really helps if you want to stay.
I've stayed at this Hotel many times and the staff is great and the main reason I come back, along with the great location. They are going through a renovation / addition but in general. this property is in need of a facelift. It is getting worn down. There are a number of other choices in the area and I will be checking them on my next trip. That said, the Sandman is still a good choice for the reasons mentioned above.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2016
To many dog, is not good I can't sleep, the people not respet whit the dog. IT'S MY LAST TIME WHAT I USED THIS HOTEL. I NOT RECOMMENDED IS REALLY BAD
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not anytime soon...

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Nothing in particular
Cons: Service
Location: Good location for airport and getting back into city (we did the Zoo the next day)
Just an unfortunate series of events. Arrived at hotel with a tired little one ready for bed but check-in took about 40 minutes due to one member of staff at front desk. Put little one to bed as soon as checked in. Went to pull out sofa bed only to find that there wasn't one. Went to reception to ask what the deal was (as we had two adults and toddler so had booked a suite), was told we had been 'upgraded' to an executive suite, which does not have a sofa bed. To be far they did offer to move us to a suite with sofa bed but as my little one was already in bed (due to our incredibly slow check-in) we chose to stay in the room and take a slight discount on the room. Also found bringing in little one and luggage difficult with lack of automatic door at the front of hotel. Luckily some other guests helped me out as the staff were not planning on helping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Quick in and out

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Wished it was a little less expensive and the bed was a little softer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. we appreciate all feedback positive or negative and have taken your notes into consideration.