Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Your Typical Sandman Hotel!

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: The lobby was about the nicest part of the hotel that I seen.
Cons: Step up the the level of your other hotels!
I was travelling across Canada on Thanksgiving weekend hoping to be home in time to spend it with my family. unfortunately it didn't quite work out that way so I needed to get a hotel while in Calgary. I looked on Expedia for something close to the Highway and there was at least a dozen options. I have stayed at many different Sandman locations so I decided to pay more (because they had 5 or 6 cheaper hotels available) just because my experiences in the past have been so great. When I arrived it seemed like the typical lobby, very inviting and almost a luxurious feel. The staff were great and had me checked in momentarily. This is when it went south...I went to my room at the farthest end of the hotel. When I walked in the musty smell was overpowering and it was quite the shock. It was poorly "renovated" and just looked like they did a quick cover up. The bed was very uncomfortable and the worst was the terrible TV that had no cable and was just static. I wanted to relax and watch a movie or some TV and unwind since I had just driven all the way from Winnipeg that day. For the 15 something dollars it cost to rent a movie I wasn't about to pay that to see a scratchy screen. I was just disappointed overall after that so I went to sleep and got up early and left.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kenora, Ontario

One Major Disappointment

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: The Sandman is very clean, the king sized bed the most comfortable we have ever experienced and the staff are very pleasant.
Cons: Make certain if you upgrade the customer at no extra charge-we had not asked for the upgrade, they are not charged for the upgrade.
Location: Great location and so easy to leave from the Sandman to head to the next part of or journey- Banff.
Although we really enjoyed our stay and the fact that they upgraded us to a suite at no extra cost, they have not re-inbursed that extra cost as the clerks had promised us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: location,cleanliness
Stayed overnight on the way to Lake Louise. Very convenient location on the NW side of town with simple access to TransCanada Hwy 1.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and our location. Thank you again and see you soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Right by the hwy for a great road trip to Banff

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Location: It is right by the highway on the way to Banff! Great location to start the road trip. There is a starbucks, mcdonalds, denny's and more.
We had a great experience at the hotel. We were there for a conference. It was a family of 3 (2 adults and 1 infant) It was clean, the rooms were big and comfortable, there is a pool and jacuzzi (we didn't use it, but was still nice), free parking onsite. It is on the outskirts of Calgary, a car is definitely required, but there seemed to be some public transit around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed the hotel, location and amenities. We hope to see you very soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

Clean and functional room. Pool is not great thoug

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Super staff. Quick continental breakfast was OK. Room was nice and the beds were comfy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you very soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Overall a good stay!

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: The staff and how close it is to most amenities!
Cons: Updated outlets and more of.
Location: Food, coffee and convenience stores.
My experience is always good when I stay at the Sandman. Not great, but good. I suppose you get what you pay for and this hotel is very well priced for what you get. Unfortunately I didn't have very good plug outlets in my room. I had to hold the plugs into the outlet while blow drying my hair because they are so loose, they don't hold the plug in place. I also didn't like the fact that there weren't open outlets to charge my phone. I had to unplug a lamp in order for me to use an outlet close to the bed. The staff are always very friendly and accommodating, which makes for an enjoyable stay. I will continue to stay at this location for every visit into Calgary. It's an overall good stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review on your past stay. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we will address the outlet issue asap. Thank you again and see you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg

Good price for hotel but Hard Beds

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Think this hotel must be pretty new. Room was large. Beds were hard. Parking spots were tight. Close to get coffee at Starbuck or McDonald's...right across the parking lot. The pool was super small. Always full...like full of screaming kids making it ear piercing loud. But the hotel was clean and as far West as we could get...Banff hotels were sold out or as much as a mortgage payment. Denny's is attached to the hotel which was convenient. We paid $120 for 2 queens and a pullout which I though was a great price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review on your past stay. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We will address the issue on the hard bed. Thank you so much and see you soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atikameg, AB.

Ok

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Upon arrival the building looks nice. Lobby was neat. Room was ok until we found a half eaten burger by the bed, pizza sauce stains on the bedding. Told the front desk and gave us 30% off for one night. Looked around the room after that and found that the room had a bit of cleaning issues. Told front desk. We were going to check out but decided to stay since it was close to where we wanted to go. Overall I would stay again but make sure that the room was clean before Getting settled in. Pool was too deep for my boys to enjoy it fully. Didn't use any other amenities during our stay. Staff was friendly. Price of room was good. And that's why we chose it in the first place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I believe you spoke with front desk and the manager and everything was resolved. Thank you again and see you soon.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Terrible Mattress

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Location: Next to Olympic park and easy to get to.
Got in late but the staff where wonderful. The hotel is very nice but the mattress was like sleeping on a box spring. Should've spoke to the manager but we thought we could handle it. My wife took a sleeping pill and made it through the night. After 3 hours I was in such back pain I slept in my car for the remainder. I'm sure another room with a different mattress would've resolved the issue so it's partly my fault for not asking for help. David
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for writing a review on your past stay. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We will look into this issue asap to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We hope to see you very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Langley B.C.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Cons: Bath towels could be softer. I found them to be rough.
Comfortable and very quiet room. We would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We will address the issue of the towels right away. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!