Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southern Alberta

Great pet friendly atmosphere

Posted Jan 29, 2016
This was my first stay at the Super 8 and we had three dogs with us. Because we were attending the AKC dog show we did not spend much time at the hotel, but our stay was mad very enjoyable by the welcoming staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to spruce meadows

Posted Jan 29, 2016
We stayed here as we were participating in a dog show at spruce meadows. The location was fantastic. Many restaurants within walking distance. Rooms were clean, bedding was great and comfortable. Was nice to have a continental breakfast but hot items were microwaved. Microwaved eggs are not very good. Had really great muffins one day, but then different ones the next. Overall was a fantastic hotel for the price and would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Red Deer AB

Convenient

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Cons: Signage into Hotel. Had to turn around 2 separate times to get into the right drive.
Close to lots of shopping, restaurants, movie theatre.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

Aggravating

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: New TV's, check the drains on the tubs.
Location: SW Calgary near shopping, restaurants, bars and cinema's
I have stayed at this hotel before and it seems to always be the same issues, from TV's not working right to the remotes don't work, ( I actually had to supply the new batteries for the remote once.) I have had the tub draining slowly on a few occasions and tell them of the problem but seems to still be there. Heater is noisy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nova scotia

Ok

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: Grandson had a lot of fun in the pool
Location: Enjoyed the proximity to some shopping stores
Average hotel. Fee a little high for an expedia booking. Accused of being noisy at 9 pm because we had a little boy with us, thought it wad a kid friendly hotel. everything else wax just average
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Douglas from Montana

Southend of Calgary

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
just one night, but good weather walking distance proximity to rail system downtown (approx. 30min & $3.15cdn)was very helpful. Plus located near many shops and mid-range dining.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Denise from Sylvan Lake

Would stay here again.

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
I had a medical appointment in Calgary. The hotel was easy to locate, conveniently located and very clean. The decor is somewhat dated, and the breakfast somewhat limited, but we would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recent stay at hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Pros: Easy to get to. Near shopping and restaurants.
Cons: The sink tap hot & cold water are backwards - hot comes out of the right side and cold comes out of the left side and it should be the other way.
Location: Off McLeod Trail. Nearby box store shopping and restaurants.
Pleasant stay at the Shawnesy Super 8. Easy to get to off McLeod Trail. Nearby shopping and restaurants. The room was pleasant, with a sitting area and bedroom. However, I could not get the TV in the sitting room to work, and the TV in the bedroom was very hard to work with the remote.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible hotel and staff

Posted Sep 22, 2015
I am not sure who booked the room for us but after booking with Expedia everything sucked from there Wrong dates Wrong room reserved a king and got 2 queens for my husband and I. Paid for king got queen Food was the worst I have ever eaten. Will never return to this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2015 by Monica Stewart-Bittner, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking to review our property , I have researched your reservation. which was made for Sept 20 in a room with 2 queens Super 8 staff were able to accommodate the early arrival and was able to get you in the booked room type. We are truly sorry for your experience
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Got turned away, would not accept debt visa or cash deposit, drove 2 hours to Calgary, only to drive another 2 hours back home at 11pm with my baby in tow!!