Ratings based on 1,887 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel downtown.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Nice renovated room and bathroom, well located. Very helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Royal and grant in great location

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Nice hotel, greeting was very impressive and staff were always attentive. Supper and drinks at the lobby bar were excellent, breakfast was overly expensive for what you got. Hotel and rooms were re-modelled but still showed age, which is part of the character when you choose to stay at a historic building. Room was lux and comfortable however could have been a little cleaner which some attention to details. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Great hotel in great downtown location. Parking a bit expensive. And need to pay for wi-fi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic Calgary Hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet, good location for business traveler, nice renos
Quick business trip - always enjoy the Palliser - great lounge, nicely renovated rooms, quiet, comfortable, spacious rooms - staff of the Fairmont chain are always the best part
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Nicely decorated but the room was next to the train yard so loud for a light sleeper. King room had beautiful large shower but no bath which I prefer to have in a hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Natalie Wert, Fairmont Palliser, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review! We are glad that you liked the décor of our rooms. We are sorry, though, that you did not enjoy the location of your room, and that you would have preferred a room with a bathtub. As a heritage property with 407 unique guest rooms, with different layouts, views and features, we are confident that we have a room that is perfect for you! On your next visit to Calgary, please do let us know your preferences, so that we can hand-select the right room to ensure a perfect stay. Sincerely, Natalie Wert Executive Assistant Fairmont Palliser
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel

Posted Feb 4, 2017
This was the best hotel I've stayed at. They upgraded my room because it was my birthday and gave us free wifi. I really enjoyed checking in at 3pm and checking out at 12! I highly recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Great place close to venue

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Came from Edmonton to watch a show at Flames Central. 5 minute walk to the venue from the hotel. Beautiful area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun with Friends

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Great location for our event, nice hotel, comfy, clean and fun.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancover Isl

Beautifully expensive historic hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Loved the beautiful common areas and pool vicinity. Happy to see a Starbucks inside the building. Comfortable clean rooms. Friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: The food was unsatifactory and the price just made it worse. Bathroom floor was always FREEZING...baseboard did nothing. Wifi was not automatic.
Location: Good location. Close to shopping, restaurants and parks. Calgary Tower right next door. Saddledome and casino in half a km.
Was immediately impressed with the staff and amazing foyer. They upgraded us to a larger room free of charge. Super comfortable king bed and fully loaded bar. The wifi was a downer to hook up...you either had to purchase it or "sign up" for it. Was annoyed at that. And when we finally got it, it was super slow. Loved the pool and hot tub everyday. Also has a steam room and small gym. Has a spa too but didnt get a chance to check it out. Was not impressed in the least with room service food. We had it 3 or 4 times. It wasnt fresh tasting or looking and was a whoppin hundred bucks for a chicken burger, wings and small dessert. Loved the location. Seemed to be dead center to everywhere we went. We will probably try it again just because it was beautiful and i did absolutely enjoy the pool and room amenities. The food will be the deciding factor tho on our next trip, whether we come back or not. I enjoy being out all day and coming back to some good food in my room or having a beautiful tasting breaky brought to me in the morn. Super good Food and easily accessible wifi should be a non issue when you pay this kind of money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Comfortable beds, Old World charm
Location: Loved the downtown location
Beds were extremely comfortable. Loved the location in the city. Can walk anywhere. Friendly sraff