Ratings based on 1,235 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel location...close to everything.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Staff are friendly and very cordial to guest needs...room is clean and properly maintained.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

A Hotel that reaches both ends of the spectrum

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Cons: This hotel should really have a good look at its overall business plan, hire more outstanding employees as the aforementioned lady from the lounge.
these are the worst beds I have ever slept on, as well there was a homeless person who I helped out by buying a breakfast he ordered and ate with no money.. Shortly there was a knock on my door and he was standing there asking me to give him a job. where did he get my room number? This story goes on but suffice to say I will never stay at a hotel with such shoddy security levels as this again. Now the bright spots, The lady running the lounge was amazing, even though she was run off her feet. Who ever heard of closing a restaurant when it was full with people lined up that they kept sending to the poor lounge lady? It is too bad as I have been staying at the Clarion in Calgary for decades and that all ends now .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good Budget Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Food was very good. Staff very helpful.
Cons: Needs upgrade. Furniture in lobby and rooms old and worn.
Location: Not much. Need a car to see anything interesting. Airport pretty close, though.
Hotel facilities a bit old, could use an upgrade. Also not really close to anything other than a couple other hotels and a Denny's restaurant. Downtown and other attractions requires you to use a car or public transit (which is not bad actually). That being said, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Cameron at the bar worked hard to keep everybody happy there, and front desk staff were helpful when asking how to get to various attractions. A bit of a surprise for me is how good the food was there. I ate two dinners and breakfasts there and all were excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Richard! We are pleased to see you were able to enjoy the attractions while in the city, given our location, they are a quick car or bus ride away. So pleased to see you enjoyed the food, we will pass your compliments to the Chef!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Commode leaked at tank & tub was resurfaced at one time but peeling off currently ! Not very appealing to take s bath!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We apologize for the less than excellent condition of your suite; your comments have been passed to our housekeeping department.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The building itself looks a little older. It needs a bit of a refresh. The room and the bathroom had a musty smell to it. There was a wet spot on the carpet that wouldn't dry out. Hotel staff weren't very welcoming or accommodating to any of my request and weren't very pleasant to deal with. I won't be coming back to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing a review. We are disappointed to see that your stay was anything less than exceptional, and apologize for the experience you've had. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you in the future for a more pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from -

Fair Enough

Posted Jul 18, 2017
our stay at this hotel was good. But the front desk staff was unattentive. The showers were hard to adjust from cold to hot. But still good enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We apologize that your experience at the hotel was a lackluster one. We do hope to welcome you back in the future to show you what we strive to provide our guests; a high value and comfortable stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Red Deer, AB

Needs updating

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Hotel rooms need updating. Bathroom was outdated and door didn't close properly. Fan in bathroom was loud and kept stopped working. Bed was uncomfortable. I would not stay there again until they did updates to the rooms which I heard they are doing soon. Lobby looked nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Great Value

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: it was convenient to where we needed to go
Cons: Decor is really outdated. Please change the carpets and maybe a fresh coat of paint
Location: close to the airport and traffic was mild
stayed here for a week and had no complaints. Staff was friendly and the rooms were outdated but still comfortable and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Decent hotel for a sort stay. Location was a short distance away from the airport.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary, canada

Worst hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Worst hotel i ever stayed in . A.C didn't work for 4 days . So hot in the room. Have my 11 month boy n wife staying in there n it was so hard for them to sleep at night. Untrained staff, knows nothing about customer service. Asked for table fan every night, no answer. Plz dont stay in this hotel. Terrible experience. How come expedia put this hotel in their list??????