Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Fabulous Quinta above Calheta

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Beautifully restored farmhouse set amid vines Rooms are quite bare but immaculate. Bathrooms are spotless with fabulous showers Meals are available around a large communal table There is a small pool for those sunny days in the hills
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Interesting old Quinta

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: Relaxing. Nice setting. Quiet. Nice dining room. Swimming pools.
Cons: More clean towels. Main house to be left open longer. Wifi availability in cottages needed. Information about eating places in the area and walks.
Location: Base for touring. Place for relaxing and swimming with walks in the general area.
Pleasant overall. Nice setting. Comfortable cottage. Good evening meals
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Lovely house and gardens.
Cons: Signage to find it - softer rug on bedroom floor, better TV reception
Location: Good location for western end of island. Walking routes nearby
Beautiful old house with interesting antiques. Room was comfortable and bathroom well appointed. Would perhaps have liked the fire on in sitting room for a cosier atmosphere as weather was a bit cool. Food was homely but well cooked. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Friendly small hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Cons: Better lighting in the cottage especially up in the bedroom.
Location: Have a meal at Olhar do Campo in nearby Prazeres - don't expect fine dining style presentation etc but homely, tasty, local food and a friendly host.
For genuine reasons, we were placed in a cottage instead of the main hotel, which was fine in the circumstances. Luckily we had stayed in one of them before in a warmer and sunnier time of year, so we knew what to expect in terms of the uphill walk to the main hotel! We arrived after dinner was served but the staff kept food for us to heat up in the cottage and it was very comforting and tasty after a delayed flight. We like the Quinta for it's old style charm.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quinta near Estreito da Calheta

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels
Good location with limited bus service. Breakfast OK, set dinners were disappointing and did not always correspond to the menu offered.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Peaceful retreat

Posted Nov 16, 2011 on Hotels
We just returned from a wonderfully relaxing week at Quinta das Vinhas. The location is lovely - very peaceful, but not too far from the main routes round the island. Very impressed with the hard-working and helpful staff. The rooms aren't swanky, but have all you'd need - although another source of light would have been great, there were just two dim bedside lamps. Breakfast buffet was impressive, and my carnivorous husband loved the one night we ate dinner at the Quinta. My vegetarian option was a...plate of boiled vegetables, so we didn't have dinner there as often as we'd thought we would! All in all, I'd really recommend this as a delightful alternative to the big tourist hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

A charming retreat

Posted Sep 13, 2011
The emailed directions were perfect and we arrived with no trouble to this delightful vineyard set on the hill near Calhetta and were immediately welcomed by attentive reception staff. Tea was brought to us on the lawn, overlooking the sea, while paperwork was dealt with and it was the most relaxed registration we've ever had. We adored our stay - couldn't have been better. Both receptionists were exceptional in courtesy, efficiency and local knowledge. We loved the levada walks we walked and the pool, set in the gorgeous gardens, was a pleasure to jump into on our return. It was a privilege to be among such amazing antiques in this 17th Century Quinta and fun sitting with other guests round the enormous dining table at the delicious breakfast. We had supper on the first evening as we were too tired to explore and although it wasn't fabulous it was wholesome enough, the view was great, and it was ideally convenient. The view from our bedroom was stunning, down to the sea, through cerise flower laden tree branches. We will definitely return to this Quinta. Thank you for a wonderful 2 days.
5 out of 5
by Not Provided from Geneve

Inoubliable !

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
Très bon point de départ pour faire des randonnées dans le centre de l'île, cette propriété est magnifique! Nous avons été surclassé grâce à notre bébé dans les cottages dans les vignes! Piscine, petit déjeuner en chambre!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Altes Gut im Weinberg

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Die Lage am Berghang mit Blick auf das Meer. Das familiäre Ambiente mit einer gemeinsamen Essenstafel.
Cons: Sie sind doch der Vermittler und nicht das Hotel.
Location: das Hotel liegt auf der Südseite der Insel und ist ein sehr guter Ausgangspunkt für viele Wanderungen und Rundfahrten über die Insel.
Hotel war unser Ausgangspunkt für viele Wandertouren und Rundfahrten über die Insel. Dafür war die Woche eigentlich zu kurz.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gezellige huisjes in een prachtige setting

Posted Feb 7, 2015 on Hotels
Gezellige hutjes prachtig gelegen tussen de wijngaarden met uitzicht over de Atlantische Oceaan. Ook ideale ligging op het eiland ivm zonuren en uitstapjes. Heerlijke huisgemaakte maaltijden verkrijgbaar (om mee te nemen of te nuttigen in het oude hoofdgebouw). Persoonlijke service.