Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel in a very quiet location

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Very modern facilities,indoor pool lovely,all areas inside hotel are immaculately kept.Food was in abundance and based around local tastes.
Cons: The very comfortable indoor bar area was closed at end of September and all social events are outside to bar area with less seating and less comfort
Location: Very quiet area but beach not crowded,local rum distillary with a cafe to sample and buy products and beautiful views from Calheta modern art gallery
Hotel is very comfortable with friendly staff.Hotel facilities are excellent.All inclusive meals are based on local cuisine. Advice on trips around the island were very helpful and excellent service during the trips with air conditioned coach from the hotel. Very comfortable rooms with high standard of cleanliness. Indoor pool lovely as outdoor pool was a bit cold at end of September. Lovely hotel for couples really on a very beautiful island
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Cons: Would be great if they had a second table tennis table and another pool table.
Location: Calheta is a great part of Madeira to stay in. Seems to get more sun than any other part of the island.
This hotel, which is right on the beach has great facilities and a laid back, relaxed vibe. The food was excellent, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the entertainment was great. The staff were wonderful. There is a great spa and gym which was never busy when we were there. Really can't fault this hotel and would love to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cornwall

lovely hotel right next to the beach

Posted Sep 6, 2017
fabulous weather, super food. comfy bed. lovely spacious room. pleasant staff and everywhere nice and clean. we will be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, good all inclusive.

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Good hotel, staff on the whole friendly and accommodating. The food is good enough although there were limited vegetarian options for my sister, especially the poolside sandwiches (they had ham and cheese in every day with no veggie alternative). Lots of fruit, cakes and ice cream available. Breakfast was the best buffet. You can attend the a la carte restaurant twice but book on day of arrival, earlier in the week seems less busy, as the staff are sometimes stretched, our second visit later in the week was less enjoyable as we had to wait a long time to be served and to receive our meals. Good activities. The cooking class and Portuguese lessons were enjoyable. Table tennis and swinmingpool were great fun. Pool table requires a small fee. The sister hotel, a short walk away is lovely, not all Inclusive but you can visit their 8th floor infinity pool and just pay for drinks and food. Lovely view and nice change for a day. The beach is ok, it's a public beach and very busy on weekends but was lovely during the week. Highly recommend nearby snorkelling with the Dolphins, paragliding and the massive blow up water adventure course is great fun. It was a very pleasant trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pleasant stay, with great food and alcohol selection. Probably recommend to families more than couples. Lovely area if you are looking to escape the hustle & bustle. Hotel itself has plenty on offer with access to beach & supermarket nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel, staff very friendly

Posted Jul 3, 2017
We stayed here go the final 2 nights of our honeymoon following two weeks of travelling around Portugal and Madeira and doing a lot of walking! The room was perfect, we had a sea view and the bed was easily the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in, the staff were lovely and we came back to our room the first afternoon to find a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine to celebrate our honeymoon! I had a fantastic massage the second day and the food was good quality. Overall a very nice hotel, more than 2 days of lying around the pool would have got a bit boring but that's just us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pembrokeshire, Wales

Very Pleasant Hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: The décor and ambience of the public areas and the courtesy of the receptionists.
Cons: Lack of tissues in the bathroom - normal for a four star hotel. Lack of storage space
Location: Too isolated and little to do outside the hotel but the hotel did provide a good transfer into Funchal. We very much enjoyed the Cooking Lesson
We were pleased to have a side room overlooking the harbour which was less noisy and there was a good choice of food. However there was a lack of storage space in such a big room - narrow wardrobe with only a curtain covering it, two small drawers and no bedside drawers so things had to be squashed in and we had brought only one suitcase between us so we were not overloaded with clothes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel in a quiet location

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Nice location and local amenities, quiet part of the island. Good selection of food and drink, friendly staff and good service. Would recommend for couples or families
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Banbury

Fabulous hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Just about everything, room, food, sun bed areas, spa all as we hoped to find, special mention to Savvy the hotel mascot and the local hotel cat.
Cons: Perhaps the bar staying open to midnight would have been a bit better but appreciate older guests stayed there too.
Location: Lots of trips such as swimming with dolphins and whale watching, fireworks at sea, trips to Funchal and the botanical gardens there is enough to do.
Hotel was very clean with beautiful decor. Beds very comfortable and the food was excellent could not fault it. Pool was great, had a spa treatment which was also good. Resort is small so if it's total relaxation and a complete chill out you're looking for then look no further. Hotel staff were excellent too, thanks to everyone for making our holiday such a good one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel in a good location.

Posted May 29, 2017
The hotel is very well maintained in a good location net to the main sandy beach and marina. Local supermarket opposite hotel and well stocked with all your needs. The staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. The views overlooking the pool and the sea are very nice. The apartments are very well proportioned for families. A nice hotel experience, would definitely visit again.