Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Kai from Windsor, ON, Canada

Very comfortable and even luxurious suites

Posted Mar 11, 2013
Pros: Location, set-up of the suite, amenities in the suite
Cons: Bird droppings on front balcony, staircase; internet was intermittent
Location: Overlooking Callander Bay on Lake Nipissing; convenient off highway 17; close to North Bay
We stayed for 4 nights in the "Honeymoon Suite"--bedroom, living room with 2 person Jacuzzi, kitchenette, and bathroom with step-in shower; 2-sided gas fireplace. everything worked well, it was clean, and the staff brought extra towels when requested. We really enjoyed our stay! drawbacks: the internet service was intermittent--perhaps because too many people were using it. The beam construction of the roofs over the balcony walk and outside stairs allowed birds to congregate, and the carpet, railings, and stairs were full of bird-droppings. The view is great, overlooking Lake Nipissing (Callander Bay, really), the location convenient to Callander and (slightly less so) North Bay. We'd be glad to stay again!
4 out of 5
by Gail from Northern Ontario

Nice night away from home.

Posted Feb 11, 2013
Pros: Good price for size of room. It was nice having the bedroom and sitting room separated.
Cons: Jacuzzi pipes gurgled and woke us up twice during the night when other rooms drained the water from their tubs.
Location: Located close to North Bay.
Nice night away. Quiet hotel even on a Saturday night. The staff were friendly, professional and answered all my questions while getting us checked in and out quickly. The jacuzzi tub was a nice way to relax in the evening and the walk in shower was great for me (as someone who has issues with accessibility).
4 out of 5
by Lola from Kirkland Lake, Ontario, Canada

pleasant surprise

Posted Sep 23, 2012
Pros: Great value
Location: 15 minutes outside of North Bay, pleasant view of Callandar Bay
The suite was a pleasant surprise as we had 4 adults and a child stay there. It was very roomy, clean, and I understand that the owners are in the process of renovating and updating the rooms. For the price, it was an exceptional deal, and shows a lot of potential to be a wonderful experience once all the renovations are done. We did not have the opportunity to dine in the dining room, but I'm sure it was good, as many of the guests were there dining for breakfast. Many thanks!
5 out of 5
by Kim

very comfortable, quiet...restaurant was great

Posted Aug 14, 2012 on Hotels
We loved the room, it was quiet rustic location but the room had all the modern amenities. More then we expected
4 out of 5
by McTraveler from Guelph

we will be back

Posted Jul 15, 2012
Pros: Nice quiet place, big suite, staff attentive
Cons: Tired furniture
Location: off the beaten path; better than staying in North Bay "Main Drag"
Stayed for 2 nights in a family suite. Very quiet place nice and relaxing. The rug, couch and chairs were very old and tired but beds were okay. Very large suite was geat for a family with 2 kids that need to have their own beds. Nice to have lots of diches supplied and a toaster as well as microwave. Great view on Lake Nippising. We did see deer while having breakfast. The golf course is closed, has been for years by the look of it could not even tell what was a green or sandtrap, but nice for a short stroll. The resturant was nice and simple good menu for all. Wing on Thursday were great, huge 1Lb for $4.50 can't beat that. We would return; good value for your $
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lake View

Posted Jul 2, 2012
We enjoyed our stay here. It has a pretty view of the lake and the rooms were large and very nice.
5 out of 5
by Kathy V

Huge room, amazing view

Posted May 28, 2012 on Hotels
We stayed at Terrace Suites for my son's graduation. Upon arriving we were very pleased with how beautiful it was overlooking the water and the grounds were clean and well kept. Our room was huge , clean, and functional. The staff here are excellent and did everything to accomodate our needs. Thank you very much to them! I wanted to stay longer but we think we may book again in the fall or maybe winter for ice fishing.
5 out of 5
by Ted and Jill

Love the sunset!! Love the smell of wood.

Posted May 15, 2012 on Hotels
We have stayed here several times and love the building and location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome View !!

Posted Apr 17, 2012
This is a beautiful hotel overlooking Callandar Bay, re Lake Nippissing. The room is very spacious, seperated bedroom. The Hotel needs some tender loving care but has great potential. Really enjoyed our stay.....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orillia, ON

Beatiful and decieving

Posted Oct 12, 2011 on Hotels
We booked this hotel for the Thanksgiving weekend in October to see family. The hotel is beatiful and the room(s) were huge. It wasn't until we settled in that we discovered some disturbing problems. The 'complimentary water' in the fridge already had the seals broken, as if they were refilled! the bed was hard, the one A/C couldn't cool the unit (it was actually a living room, bedroom and bath) and the jet tub essentially blew bubbles from the bottom of the tub and did nothing to soothe the bather. To top it off, we had asked at the time of check in if the restaurant would be open in the morning and were assured it would be for breakfast from 8-9am, but would be changing over to a brunch buffet at 9am. That morning we were told they were not opening for breakfast at all. We left fuming after the manager asked if we were clients than said we could indeed stay for breakfast. We didn't want to wait for their lousy service and went into Callander for a meal. The experience was too bad for us, since the view from the hotel is breathtaking.