Ratings based on 814 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Fabulous From Start To Finish

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: This hotel has a great location, is quiet and very well kept. Every staff member encountered was friendly and helpful.
The check in process was friendly, efficient and helpful. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and extremely well kept. Although our room overlooked the bar and pool areas, it was very quiet and private. The kitchen contained everything needed. There was a lack of bench space in the bathrooms, and I don't recall seeing a hair dryer. Power points were accessible from the beds. Parking was extremely easy. The complimentary coffee and muffins / toast in the lobby area in the mornings was very good - and a nice touch. The hotel is very close to the beach, restaurants and shops. Awe couldn't have wanted more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ivanhoe Vic

Divine!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The overall quality of everything Rumba had to offer was of extremely high quality.
Cons: One of the bathrooms was a little tired - the trim on the bottom of the shower door was old and detached and needed to be replaced.
Location: Weather divine. The foreshore, the views, the restaurants, the walks and the beaches were fabulous.
Wish we could have stayed longer. Staff were wonderful, facilities were great, Caloundra and surrounding areas has so much to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great place but don't expect water views from unit

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: The garage had good access and a decent car space. Lifts were provided for each block and we seldom had to wait. Reception was friendly and helpful.
Cons: Cannot think of anything as furnishings were comfortable, the property was well maintained, Staff was competent and friendly. Five star luxury.
Location: There were brochures with plenty on offer in Caloundra and nearby - markets, adventures etc. We wanted five star relaxation eg spa bath, pool.
The location was very convenient to shops, restaurants and Bulcock Beach. The pools and surroundings were beautiful and ramps and lifts were helpful to those with mobility problems or strollers and prams. The decor was tasteful and there was a resort atmosphere. Our unit was very quiet and lived up to our expectations. The only disappointment was the very restricted view of the sea. For a longer stay looking at the blank wall of another block could become irritating. Suggest that when making a booking you clarify whether beach outlooks are included in the category for which you are paying if sea views are on your agenda. We enjoyed our stay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

POLICE CALLED TO LOUD GUEST. NO OVERNIGHT STAFF=[

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: handy location
Cons: after hours service if needed 24/7 to deal with out of control guest.
Was very disappointed that Partying could go on all night as it was not regulated by the hotel. It seems as if there is no overnight staff to deal with this problem. I had people above us screaming , swearing and banging all night in a drunk frenzy from 9pm up until 1am. I tried to reach staff with no luck, in the end I had to call the police to take control of the inconsiderable guests.I was not satisfied with how my problem was dealt with by staff the following day it was only mentioned at check out , no earlier call made to myself as an apology or anything of its kind. I was told that there is a overnight staff member available but I strongly doubt this is true as I called several times and left messages with return number and no one got back to me, also if there was a staff member present I'm sure this would not have gone on for so long. I believe the staff member must have been sleeping , not on site at all or partying with them. It really ruined my stay there and I would have expected the staff to offer a discount or a credit for a further stay as I really believe I was entitled to some sort of compensation for the night the family had.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Bill Darby, Hotel Management
Dear anonymous, as general manager I assure you that my night manager in on site and available all night. Perhaps you were calling the booking number and not the night manager from the house phones in your room. This is first I had heard of this incident which surprises me greatly. You have my apologies if it is as you say.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Wouldn't really call it 5 star

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Large rooms, rooms were laid out nicely. Good location with nice views if you get the right room.
Cons: Cleaning, make sure you do a once over and ensure quality of cleaning before someone checks in. The staff were rude, not really acceptable.
Location: Beach out front, lots of nice restaurants. The market is on of a Sunday morning. You will find plenty of things to do for a weekend getaway
Overall it was an average stay, however for the price I wouldn't recommend it and believe you could get a better experience at a 4 star hotel on the same strip of Caloundra. Upon checking into the room I discovered that it hasn't been cleaned properly. I opened the door to a blaring TV, dirty benches, a fire alarm removed from the ceiling and left on the kitchen bench with the battery hanging out and bathrooms that were not adequately cleaned. They don't offer any really breakfast as part of your stay. They give you a limited amount of coffee cards to get a coffee from their bar, and offer free muffins and raisin roast. The first morning we attempted to have some raisin toast there was no butter. When asking if they had butter I receive a really short, abrupt answer saying no, they had run out. We sat there and listened to 3 other people voice the same complaint, to which the staff member answered that they had run out yesterday ... It's seems trivial, however at a 5 star hotel shouldn't I be receiving 5 star service? Even a 3 star hotel would offer butter for raisin toast, and upon running out perhaps run to the Night owl (which they advertise is a convenient 3 minute walk away in their brochures) and grab a tub as a plan B? There cocktails were terrible. If you want good cocktails head to Drift bar at the front of the hotel. The Jacuzzi broke and we had to ask for someone to come down and fix it ... they never showed up. Overall very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Bill Darby, Hotel Management
Dear Greg, I really don't know what to say about your room not being perfectly presented. Did you let any of my staff know? Of course there is no reason we ran out of butter. Although our coffee and morning bakery is a completely free service to guests, we still want if to be delivered to the highest standard. I wish I had of known of your experience, then I could have offered you a complimentary stay for next time. I will follow this up thoroughly. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane

Execellent hotel!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Very nice place to stay will definitely go back ! Staff helping check in was very helpful, efficient and very friendly manner. Hotel is still new and very clean. Great location . We had great time there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Lea, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice apartments close to beach, walks, and cafes.

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Resort location, room size and comfort, and parking included. Many nearby eateries and great foreshore walkways.
Cons: The air conditioning was a bit noisy, especially at night.
Rumba is in a very pleasant setting with views out to the beach, the ocean and the mountains. Also not too far to Brisbane and the airport, or the other Sunshine Coast towns and beaches.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Lea, Hotel Management
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to write a review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Awesome experience at Rumba!

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Location, view, amenities, apartments.
Cons: Nothing, just perfect!
Location: On the beach location, great restaurants, stores and close to everything.
My family and I (2 adults and 2 children) had an amazing experience at Rumba. Staff was friendly and Bill, the manager, was accomodating and very helpful. Beautiful apartment, great pools and amazing views from the apartments. We are definitely coming back and staying longer. The Braciaks New York
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Australia

As Good as it looks online!

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Excellent location, beautiful rooms, wonderful, enthusiastic staff who obviously love working there.
Cons: Main bed was a little soft (just a personal preference thing) only thing I could come up with that could be improved....
Location: Handy to lots of food options, shops, beach front. "Hello Harry" food and staff were excellent.
It was nice to actually stay in a place which was as good, if not better, than it looked online for a change. The pool/bar area was a great place to spend a couple of hours late in the afternoon (especially during "happy hour") and still be able to watch the kids in the pool. A text message on the day of arrival to say our room was ready early was a nice touch too. All staff we dealt with or spoke to during our visit (from the reception staff, bar staff, cleaners etc) were very happy, friendly and professional. Wish we had stayed longer and would love to stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to beach and shops

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Friendly staff, clean rooms and close to restaurants and shops. I didn't have any issues or complaints.