Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel to experience the city !

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
Right on the great staircase ! Our room was in a separate building, just one street up from the main B&B. This worked out great for us, given the room was pretty large - we had a baby and this room had a small living space where we could set up his crib. The window however was small - at the far end but no matter as one only spends the night in the room anyway. The staff helped us carry the luggage from and to the car, which would have been difficult otherwise, because... you have to do that through the big steps ! (Park at the top !!) The breakfast (extra 10eur/room) is a must! Beautiful view of the city, with the bells tolling from the various churches all around. A memorable stay!
3 out of 5
by christine from Hobary

Room with a viee

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Location on the steps stunning. Hard to find with a car and couldn't contact the owner by phone as suggested. Lovely room and views.
2 out of 5
by The Travellers from Australia

minimal service

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels
Difficult to find at top of the steps. We visited in the off season, minimal assistance from the management who appeared to wish to have the weekend off. breakfast a bit tired, withered fruit & dry cakes. New housekeeper, a recent Sri Lankan arrival very pleasant & tried to be very helpful but limited English spoken. The suite overly cluttered & very small shower & bathroom. Bed very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roberto from New Haven, CT

Very comfortable and convenient.

Posted Jan 4, 2013
Pros: Roomy, comfortable to relax in, good location.
Cons: I had no complaints.
Location: Just a few steps down the stairs leading up to the cathedral of Santa Maria di Monte, one street above the other unit, where they serve breakfast.
We stayed in the independent unit that is on the Via Testa, a few feet off the steps of Santa Maria di Monte. It was nice and large, with sofas to relax on. On the next street down the steps was the area with the breakfast room, which had a beautiful terrace and a wonderful view. The breakfast was very nice. I had previously scoped out potential parking areas on Google maps with Streetview, so I could see what the streets actually looked like, and was able to get a space on Via Ex Matrice, since driving around a hill town is impossible (you never know what streets are passable are not). We had gone to Caltagirone to see the neighborhood and house my grandmother was born in, and I do recommend a short visit to the town (one day will do). Just be aware that many of the streets are steep, narrow staircases, so you have to be prepared for that. If you are able, try to time your visit with one of the major festivals, like San Giacomo, when the entire staircase is covered with little colored lamps that create a beautiful image. There is another holiday when it is completely covered with a flower design.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brisbane QLD, Australia

Roomette with a view

Posted Dec 27, 2011
Pros: Just on the famous steps, fabulous views on town and surrounds, nice breakfast, very attractive restoration of old house, congenial host
Cons: Advertised free parking is far off if you can find some in the street. Famous steps are a killer for carrying suitcases, internal stairs ditto.
Location: Superlative, best for backpackers.
Finding the B&B is a challenge, especially with no knowledge of Italian - par for the course in Italy unless going to the Hyatt in a taxi. There is no parking for the place, just what you find near or far, guaranteed to be at least a 10m difference in elevation. (Try the end of Via di Asilio Infantil, if you can find it.) Hence beware, luggage needs to be hauled with some effort. The old house has been superbly restored, with great modern touches of interior design. It still remains a bit of a pigeon coop, though, with tiny room, bathroom and steep steps. The famous steps leading down to town or up the church are many and higher than modern building regulations would specify: a few trips either way will test one's cardio fitness. (And show why small-town Sicilians must be so fit.) The host is very congenial, speaking some English. When bookings allow, he is very relaxed about check in/out times, and helpful with information. All that stuff about the views is spot on, even from one's room, but especially from the breakfast room and its balcony. Frail, infirm or disabled people may not be up to the physical challenge of access.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Verona

Posted Jul 13, 2017
hotel difficile da raggiungere (solo a piedi) posto ai lati di una lunga scalinata. Difficile trovare parcheggio auto nelle vicinanze, Non abbiamo ricevuto drink di benvenuto . Il bagno non in stanza, e camera piccola. Colazione con vasetti di marmellate finiti e poco igienici. Solo la vista dalla terrazza merita un plauso.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Gaetano, Hotel Management
Ci dispiace ma come tutti i centri storici non sempre si può arrivare con la macchina ovvunque la tipologia di camera e' stata scelta da voi ed e' abbastanza descritta come dove ci troviamo per le marmellate ci scusiamo ma ha dimenticato anche tutte le altre cose che avete gradito compreso il cannolo...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Punto centrale e bel panorama

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
Stanza confortevole, e accoglienza impeccabile...
5 out of 5
by ANNALISA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

plein centre historique, accueil très sympatique

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Adorable maison donnant sur les fameux escaliers, donc idéalement placé. petit déjéuner fait maison excellent avec vue de rève sur la ville. très bon accueil alors que nous arrivions à l'heure du déjeuner, ce qui n'était pas l'idéal. seul incovénénint, il faut marcher sur 200m dna sune petite rue avce pavés avec les bagages avant d'arriver à l'hotel car dans rue pietonne, le point positif étant le très grand calme. aucun souci pour le parking, gratuit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Balneário Camboriú

Recomendo

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Lugar espetacular e especial!!! A cordialidade do Gaetano e da Linda é show!!