Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice apartment-style hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Apartment-style facilities
Location: The location was quiet and nondescript but totally adequate. They gave us a top floor room facing the Orne River, which was quite nice.
Very nice apartment-style hotel rooms: - kitchen with mid-size refrigerator, microwave, mini induction cooktop, mini sink, hot water pot, dishes, utensils - roomy bathroom with shower and hot towel rack useful for drying clothes, too - some rooms have a nice view of the Orne River - within walking distance to the Caen train and bus station and local sights - down the street from the Orne RIver Shopping Center - cold breakfast for 11 Euros/person had a lot of choices: fresh pastries and bread, fruit, cold meats, fresh eggs for boiling
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Tourist apartment building

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and staff were good. On site laundry was very convenient. Good view of canal from windows.
Cons: Free room services, see above. Need to be more information on web site re type of room. Very squashed.
Location: Half hour walk to restaurant and entertainment area near dock area. Caen is not as interesting as we expected. Castle disappointing.
Stayed there for four nights. Parking is extra. Daily cleaning of room and linen is extra! Breakfast is extra. Room was cramped. Only one chair because no room for two!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice studio apartment

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Was well equipped close to all amenities
Cons: Nothing
Location: Good location within walking distance into the city and restaurant and bars
Stayed for one week apartment was very comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Excellent location

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Excellent location to visit the sights in Normandy. Has secure parking so you Can drive to all the sights you may want to see. Easy driving in this part of France. Right in the center of Caen and within walking distance to restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Very comfortable hotel in Caen

Posted Apr 4, 2016
The hotel is very roomy compared to European standards. It is very close to shopping, restaurants, movie theatre, and grocery store. The river walk is very pleasant. The room was spacious with a kitchenette. The bathroom was nice with a full size shower. We did not have the breakfast, although it is offer for 11 euros per person. There were better options at the mall area. The area seemed very safe and the staff was very friendly and helpful for all of our needs. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Cean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2015
This hotel was beyond our expectations in that it was a full suite. That was nice to have that space and a market close buy to have wine and dinner in our room. The staff was very helpful with touring about the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Very helpful staff.
Cons: Nothing, it was excellent.
Location: Close the Gare du Caen
It was a comfortable stay, with very helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from &T

Needs maintenance

Posted Oct 4, 2015
We had high expectations based on the 4-star rating, but we were a bit disappointed. The cupboard door style cover for the dishwasher fell off upon trying to open the dishwasher. The place where you are to put your room key card was also broken, but fortunately in such a way that the electricity was just always on/available (not off!) The room was clean. The bed was a fold-out bed that wasn't as comfortable as we would have liked. We had asked for an upper floor quiet room and that's what we got, which was wonderful! The hotel has 24 hour reception and the front doors are openable only with a room key card or by pressing the doorbell and the reception desk person letting you in. The elevator requires a code and room key card to ascend to upper floors. The location was nearish to the train station and about 10-15 minutes walk from the castle and the cathedral. The hotel was accommodating with keeping our luggage for us as we arrived before check-in time and had a Normandy cheeses tour in the afternoon. So not a bad hotel, just not 4-star quality, at least in our experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great location in the center of Caen, France

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: In room coffee.
Location: D -Day tours
This hotel did not provide in room coffee. They provided a coffee pot, but not the packets of coffee. I was told by the staff that I would have to buy my own coffee at the store. Also, after a certain time, they charge $1.00 per cup. What insanity!! I have stayed at hotels from Tuscaloosa, Alabama to San Francisco, California to Paris , France and I can't ever recall a hotel that didn't provide in room coffee ( except Motel 6. Now that says something, doesn't it?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Ok Hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2015
This hotel was in the city centre. The rooms are like studio apartments with the beds being actual Murphy-beds. As such, the beds were not that comfortable but the room was spacious with high ceilings. The bathroom was well outfitted. The little kitchen even had a small dishwasher and everything you needed to prepare food you brought in.