Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again and will question the group at large

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
Thus was the absolute pits, parking was terrible to the point my car was blocked in and i could not leave for dinner, i complained to staff who did nothing i was given assurances but nothing happened. It cam to after midnight where i insisted something was done and they started calling rooms but still nothing. I threatened to call Gendarme and eventually they found the owner and moved the car I suffered by not being able to meet a colleague for dinner and my sleep was terrible and little. I want to iisue a formal complaint to the owners.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant - good food

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Looked nice
Cons: Not much to retain the "village" outlook
Location: Castle, history
Business so not much experience however lovely town / buildings
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

The hotel has been renovated and is well located

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Great Location.
Cons: Air flow in the rooms.
The hotel is conveniently in the heart of Caen in walking distance of all the key tourist sites and plenty of restaurants to choose from. The Hotel doesn't have air conditioning, however the staff will provide you with a fan to circulate the air in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Hotel OK but room needed air con,and car park far to small for the size of hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Nice hotel close to the chateau

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: The old feel to it, even though it wasn't that old
Location: The chateau and abbeys are quite nearby, lots of shopping for those who want that.
I was there mainly to visit the D-Day museum. I could ride the bus from nearby and the tourist center was also close. Hotel was comfortable and had a great breakfast. I didn't eat dinner, but it is considered quite a gourmet paradise. I spent a little time in the cozy bar, writing in my journal. Staff was very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

noisey hotel exterior

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
the pool is not included this is an extra 15 euro , which was disappointing , the local students messing about drunk below my window kept me awake until 4.00am the staff could not see the problem. not good
4 out of 5
by Mary from SLC

Good base of operations to explore

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Good hotel, close to castle and center of town, easy access to train station via tram.... free parking is tight, but we managed fine. It was a good place to stay to explore the beaches of Normandy, Mont St. Micheal, Bayeux etc
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
The staff were very helpful and the spa was amazing.
4 out of 5
by margaret from Minneapolis

A real 'Old Europe' experience.

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
This is a charming hotel - modern but in a very old building. There is no elevatir so bags need to be carried up and down. The rooms and bathrooms are tiny but beautiful. The location cant be beat.
3 out of 5
by Darla from Lititz PA USA

Great location but no air conditioning

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is at a great location and is clean. The lack of air conditioning made for a warm night. Parking is very tight and limited