Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant - good food

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Looked nice
Cons: Not much to retain the "village" outlook
Location: Castle, history
Business so not much experience however lovely town / buildings
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

The hotel has been renovated and is well located

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Great Location.
Cons: Air flow in the rooms.
The hotel is conveniently in the heart of Caen in walking distance of all the key tourist sites and plenty of restaurants to choose from. The Hotel doesn't have air conditioning, however the staff will provide you with a fan to circulate the air in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Hotel OK but room needed air con,and car park far to small for the size of hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Nice hotel close to the chateau

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: The old feel to it, even though it wasn't that old
Location: The chateau and abbeys are quite nearby, lots of shopping for those who want that.
I was there mainly to visit the D-Day museum. I could ride the bus from nearby and the tourist center was also close. Hotel was comfortable and had a great breakfast. I didn't eat dinner, but it is considered quite a gourmet paradise. I spent a little time in the cozy bar, writing in my journal. Staff was very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2015
This was an OK hotel for a one-night stay but nothing special
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Comfortable hotel in central Caen

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Convenience, helpful staff, good restaurant
Cons: The parking is a challenge in a tiny lot that is first come first served. A valet service would be a great addition.
Location: Located in central Caen just blocks from William's castle. Neighborhood walks to medieval abbeys, churches and homes.
We arrived early and were pleased to have our room available. Our cozy third floor double room had the feel of an historic attic but with all modern comforts. The helpful manager provided us good tips to sightsee, and we enjoyed a fine dinner in the hotel dining room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Justin from New Jersey, USA

Great Spot for backpackers or D-Day enthusiasts.

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, good location, good wifi.
Cons: Parking. Although the breakfast was good, I feel it should be free with the room, but still not too bad.
During my visit to the D-Day battlegrounds, I chose this hotel due to its ideal location. The staff was very polite and professional and the wifi was of decent quality. You're also close to an 11th Century Chateau as well as having plenty of restaurants in walking distance. The only negative was the parking situation, the hotel didn't have many spots and it was cramped...but the staff helped me out with finding spots too. I'd stay here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

It was supposed to be charming

Posted May 21, 2009
I chose the hotel because it was listed in an old nunnery and looked very charming. I had also heard that it was the best hotel in Caen. In fact, it was very ordinary. The room was small and could have been a Best Western anywhere in the states. It had no charm at all. The restaurant at the hotel was highly recommended. The food was good, the service good and it was all very expensive (even if it had been by Paris standards). Overall, I would give this hotel a pass.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ichi from Aichi,JAPAN

交通便利な清潔感のあるホテル

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: レストランは有名で、スパもありゆっくり滞在するには良いと思う。
Cons: 設備的なもので無理とは思いますがボイラー形のヒーターがあればベスト。天井近くに 電熱ヒーターは在り。湯沸しポットもあれば良い。
Location: 便利です。すぐ裏のフロワッド通りはパン屋、ピザ屋、ブチック等魅力的な店が多々あります。
パリのホテルには風呂にヒーターがよく付いていますが、それがないのが残念です。街中心にも近く交通の便利よし。スタッフも対応は十分まんぞく、部屋も清潔でよい。