Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Derbyshire and Morbihan

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Good price, good location, good for ferry. Suits us, second time we have stopped there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very handy for the ferry

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: Clean and tidy
Cons: Squeaky board in bathroom.
Easy checking and out. No problems. Comfortable bed with tea and coffee facilities. Good breakfast selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dominique

Bon hotel avec un très bon restaurant

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Une chambre et une salle de bain un peu petite. L’hôtel est très excentré. Pour le reste parfait : accueil, literie, propreté, petit déjeuner copieux, restaurant gastromique.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farnham

Close to ferry port for late arrival

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: Nothing to dislike.
Cons: Signage into the car park .
Location: Great for the ferry port. As we were moving on we just drove along by the D-Day beaches.
We chose La Mare o Poissons because of its proximity to the ferry port at Caen, and because of good reviews on the net. We had previously stayed at many Best Western Hotels in France and knew we would not be disappointed . The hotel was less than a 5 min drive from the port, and as we knew we would arrive about 10pm we didn't want a long drive. There was plenty of on-site parking, the receptionist was friendly and helpful, the bar was open but not noisy and the room, accessed by lift or stairs was absolutely fine for a one night stay. The breakfast was better than the average French fare and included hot food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Raymond from Cheshire

Very good overnight stop.

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
Convenient for an overnight stop and only a fie minute drive from the ferry port.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by andrew from paignton

fab hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
Easy to find after late night ferry trip. Just on the outskirts of beautiful Ouistreham. Warm welcome. We were allowed to leave our car in their car park after checking out while we explored. Good nights sleep after a long trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from murcia, spain

nice hotel close to the ferry port

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: lovely clean room which ultra comfy bed.
Location: Close to the ferry port, the d-day landings museum and graveyards, calvados. and all the normandy coast has to offer
great stay, superb room, super friendly staff. lovely restaurant. we had the a la carte meal which was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarah from Ebbw Vale

France 2015

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
A warm welcome after a long day travelling. Just 10 mins from the ferry this was our 2nd year to stay at the hotel and we would use it again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jean from Mumbles

First stop.

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
We use this hotel each time we come over to France. It is convenient when arriving on the evening ferry...Five minutes from the ferry.