Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Clean guest room; nice lobby; friendly staff

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness. Walking distance to shopping, eateries, etc. Short driving distance to Omaha beach.
Cons: Hotel signage. Should be on the main drag. Parking garage is for small cars. Not sure what happens when one car parks in front of the other.
Location: Short drive to Normandy area. Did not use public transportation. Walked and drove.
The hotel was hard to find! Used navigation which said "you have arrived at your destination" - with no hotel in sight! The hotel is actually around the corner from the main drag. You have to drive thru the "bus" lane (one-way only) and park on the sidewalk to register (there is one designated space). The picture that shows "HOTEL MODERNE" on the corner of the building is on the BACKSIDE - facing the shopping area, not the main drag. So, things started out a little rough. Once inside, the staff was very friendly. The lobby is nicely decorated and comfortable. The hallways were a little dark, but there was a window outside our room & a hallway light switch (once we figured it out). The room was very spacious. The bathroom was clean. The bed was comfortable. Overall, a very nice experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by AB, Hotel Management
Dear Beth and Gary, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay in our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for all your positive notes. Sorry for the struggle you had in finding the hotel. We have a very good location in the city center but there are many one way streets and restricted areas around so we understand that it can be challenging. For any future visitor, we recommend to follow the instructions available on our official website or the map access that could be sent by email. Regarding the hotel's parking, it is better to reserve it in advance prior to arrival and the height access goes up to 1m75. If a car is parked in front of another one, we keep the keys in order to manage the movings. Also there are many other parking possibilities within walking distance so our guests can always park nearby the hotel. All your remarks are very constructive and please note that our team is at your disposal anytime for any further information or request.Wishing you the best, kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blandford Forum, England

Great location

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, location in centre
Great location in the centre of town, close to the Bouef & Cow restaurant where we choose to eat. Use the Republique underground carpark less than 100m away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hove, UK

Good hotel in city centre

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Reception staff very polite and helpful, good English spoken. Rooms comfortable and clean.
4 out of 5
by Craig

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Anne from Shropshire

Good for a family break

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. We arrived at 6am from a ferry crossing and, even though check-in to our room was not until 2pm, our room was made ready within 5 minutes of our arrival. Nespresso coffee machine in room. There is a good supermarket, Monoprix, literally just across the road, where you can get extra supplies for the coffee machine, drinks, snacks, etc. Also across the road is a 'pub', Au Bureau, which serves the biggest portions I have ever seen! Breakfast not worth bothering with - you're better off getting some pastries and coffee machine supplies from Monoprix. Hotel doesn't do lunch or dinner, but you can nip across Au Bureau.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by J Rafie, Hotel Management
Dear Madam, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at our hotel. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed especially the carefulness of the staff and the location of the hotel, close to many shops and restaurants. As for the breakfast, it is a shame that you were not interested in having it at the hotel but I understand your point of view. However, I am sure you that like most of our guests, you would have enjoyed our lage buffet filled with local and fresh food. We hope to have the pleasure to accomodate you at another time. Regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best Best Western!

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very difficult to get to hotel with a car as situated in the centre of Caen in a pedestrian zone, with only access for Taxi's, Busses and commercial delivery vehicles. No restaurant facilities at night, rooms very small although clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kendell K.

Great location nice staff easy to walk to things, but if you are driving, don't stay at this hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Orbitz
The garmin told us we could not drive our car to the hotel, and legally, I don't believe you can. You have to drive over sidewalks, bike paths. Nice hotel. Just plan on getting there by bus or train and you will be fine. Seriously, driving is a very serious challenge.
5 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by carlos from SF BAY AREA

NICE

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
Excelent location in Caen, friendly staff , highly recomended
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels