Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Clean guest room; nice lobby; friendly staff

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness. Walking distance to shopping, eateries, etc. Short driving distance to Omaha beach.
Cons: Hotel signage. Should be on the main drag. Parking garage is for small cars. Not sure what happens when one car parks in front of the other.
Location: Short drive to Normandy area. Did not use public transportation. Walked and drove.
The hotel was hard to find! Used navigation which said "you have arrived at your destination" - with no hotel in sight! The hotel is actually around the corner from the main drag. You have to drive thru the "bus" lane (one-way only) and park on the sidewalk to register (there is one designated space). The picture that shows "HOTEL MODERNE" on the corner of the building is on the BACKSIDE - facing the shopping area, not the main drag. So, things started out a little rough. Once inside, the staff was very friendly. The lobby is nicely decorated and comfortable. The hallways were a little dark, but there was a window outside our room & a hallway light switch (once we figured it out). The room was very spacious. The bathroom was clean. The bed was comfortable. Overall, a very nice experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by AB, Hotel Management
Dear Beth and Gary, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay in our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for all your positive notes. Sorry for the struggle you had in finding the hotel. We have a very good location in the city center but there are many one way streets and restricted areas around so we understand that it can be challenging. For any future visitor, we recommend to follow the instructions available on our official website or the map access that could be sent by email. Regarding the hotel's parking, it is better to reserve it in advance prior to arrival and the height access goes up to 1m75. If a car is parked in front of another one, we keep the keys in order to manage the movings. Also there are many other parking possibilities within walking distance so our guests can always park nearby the hotel. All your remarks are very constructive and please note that our team is at your disposal anytime for any further information or request.Wishing you the best, kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blandford Forum, England

Great location

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, location in centre
Great location in the centre of town, close to the Bouef & Cow restaurant where we choose to eat. Use the Republique underground carpark less than 100m away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hove, UK

Good hotel in city centre

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Reception staff very polite and helpful, good English spoken. Rooms comfortable and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to train station at end of Normandy sites

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Directions to hotel on car gps confusing. Pleasant prompt reception. Because of 7am departure disappointed was not able to have a breakfast (petite dejeune). At hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes, UK

Lovely Hotel in Centre of Caen

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Location, value and staff.
Cons: Nothing
Very friendly staff, underground parking, comfortable rooms. Caen is a lovely town and this hotel is walking distance from everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Noticed we received an older room that has not been renovated. Room was in a part of the hotel that didn't get wifi reception. Elevator didn't work upon check out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, alberta, canada

Clean, comfy and cozy. Good location

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: It's quaintness
Huge beds, but the noise from outside comes into the room very easily. It's downtown centre so it can be quite noisy in the evenings
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dana from sacramento ca.

Excellent room size.

Posted May 27, 2014
Room was large and comfortable. Would stay again and would recommend to a friend. A little tuff to find. If GPS says it's on the left it is and you pass it without seeing the best western sign behind a tree because it's a one way street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from MA

Very nice hotel in centre of Caen.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Very nice, clean room. Wonderfully large fluffy towels. Easy walking to William the Conqueror's grave & queen Mathilda's grave and the old castle. Easy drive to get to the Memorial museum (fantastic museum of WWII and the D Day landings).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from Cincinnati, Ohio

Nice hotel in the heart of Caen.

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: Very quiet hotel. At first we thought we were the only reservations. Great city location, near all attractions and cafe's.
Cons: Nothing, the rooms are small and cozy.
Location: Castle of Caen, Abbey of Saint- Etienne are within walking distance. On a bus line #2 which takes you to Caen Memorial within 20 minutes.
Nice, very quiet hotel with small European rooms. Hotel staff does speak some English and are very helpful with taxi reservations and restaurant recommendations. Many cafe's and restaurants and shops right beside hotel. Located on a bus line-#2 and only 20 minutes from the Caen Memorial. A short walk to Castle of Caen and the Abbey of Saint- Etienne. Staff recommended Beouf and Cow Restaurant and it was fabulous! Across the street is a small cafe' open late for night caps.