Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely overall experience

Posted Jan 17, 2017
I was driving from the UK to Bordeaux and stopped overnight here. I was so pleased I found this gem. The staff were so friendly and accomdating. The room was very large with great views and a very comply bed. There was a sitting area in front of large windows that opened up and the bathroom had great amenities. I had room service as I arrived very late and breakfast in my room in the morning and it was all lovely. I look forward to going back again when the weather is hotter!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Great Yarmouth

Lovely imposing hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Pros: Location, a peace and quiet
Cons: Food prices and emptying bins at 6am
Location: Good location , but Cabourg is basically closed this late in the year.
Great, older hotel which has lovely features throughout. Great location for Normandy and Bayeux and Caen and of course the beaches and museums. Same old gripe. Restaurant looked good but too expensive so we took our business elsewhere . Why do hotels lose business like that? All in all , very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rumson,NJ

Old World Beach Resort with Modern amenities

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg has a turn of the century ambiance in the public areas, but the rooms are up to date with very chic somewhat Art Deco style furnishings. The location on the boardwalk couldn't be better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Beautiful, Old Hotel on the Beach

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: The rooms are beautiful and large. The breakfast is excellent.
Stayed here for two nights so that we could visit Normandy. The first night we walked into the town, shopped along the main street and had dinner. The hotel is right on the beach, but it was too cool for swimming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poole, UK

Luxury hotel, expensive but worth it.

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Excellent location right on the beach. Easy walk to many restaurants in the pleasant town of Cabourg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Wow!

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The only thing we could have asked for was better weather, and I don't think even a great hotel can help with that :)
Location: Walking distance to beach, shopping, entertainment. Reasonable drive to historical sites.
Super fancy hotel, right on the beach, great English speaking staff, wow! Super close to a shopping area, casino, beach, great restaurants and cafes. Great entertainment! Would, and probably will, stay here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vienna, Austria

Overpriced hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: Location, seaside view, lovely dining room, comfortable bedding
Cons: Interior decoration, poor lighting in bathroom, peeling paint and chipped (black) furniture, kitchen fumes (room 405) instead of ocean breeze
Location: Great location on the beach, main dining and shopping area of Cabourg within a 5 minute walk
A once lovely historic hotel which has been massacred by interior designers. Now the interior looks like a hotel for nouveau riche Russians in Odessa. At $ 307,50 a night for a small seaside room it is way overpriced, you don't even get a complimentary newspaper. I'll gladly return when the botched interior decoration is replaced by one fitting the historic setting of Marcel Proust's "À la recherche du temps perdu".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very Classy

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Great location and a wonderful hotel a very pleasant surprise, restaurant was excellent a little pricey but a very good meal and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo, Brazil.

A gem in Normandy.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Location, comfort and ambiance.
Cons: Service at dinner in the hotel restaurant could be better. At breakfast, it is very good.
Location: Great location, in the very heart of the town, with a beautiful square. Nice restaurants nearby.
Great hotel, with excellent location and ambiance. Excellent alternative as a base to explore the D Day sites. Fantastic price-quaility ratio. Cabourg is a quiet, sunny town, with a great French savoir vivre.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: very friendly staff, perfect location., The hotel is at the beach and only a short walk to town
Cons: The furniture in the lobby looks very tired, Lights in the restaurant are too bright, wine list is terrible, only one English channel on TV
Location: perfect location The hotel is at the beach and close to town
Nice hotel close to the beach, very friendly staff rooms are ok but very small bathrooms, restaurant at the hotel has very good food but no ambiance . The wine list is one of the worst I have ever seen. Only one English channel on TV.. In my opinion not a 5 star hotel