Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2015
The lobby is renovated the other floors are not. The staff is friendly and helpful. One of the mornings the crousantas were not fresh bur reheated from previous day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South West England

Great hotel for the Caen market but needs updating

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Pros: The staff, who were exceptional and the location.
Cons: Some new carpets and new wallpaper in the corridors would make a massive difference to the current state of said corridors.
Location: There is just so much to do around Caen. We went to some of the D-Day beaches, war cemeteries and even a gentle stroll around Caen. Brilliant.
From the moment we arrived, we knew this was going to be a great hotel to stay in, reception handled our check in and check out extremely efficiently. And the bonus of a great hairdresser on site. Can definitely recommend the coiffure experience. The ONLY thing that let the Mercure down was the state of the carpets and wallpaper in the corridors. It looked in places like someone had not cleaned the carpets in 50 years with the dust and stains. The wallpaper was dated and stained too. Rant over, we loved this hotel. The staff could not have been more pleasant and no request was too much trouble despite the language barrier. Our room was comfortable and had all the amenities you would expect for a Mercure hotel. The BEST bonus was them telling us about Caen Sunday market. This is a must: it has something for everyone and is crammed with stalls selling quality goods and fresh produce. We walked around for 2 hours and came home with several bags of items and the fresh bread was simply to die for. It did not even make it to the ferry as it smelt and tasted so good! Although requiring some freshening up, this hotel would be an excellent place to stay in ever you are visiting Caen, the D-Day beaches or any of the many war cemeteries close by. Put this hotel on your places to stay list.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Sterile

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
Fine but lacking personality. Staff recommended a restaurant next door that served the worst food I've ever eaten in Europe, very disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

nice hotel in Caen

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Easy to find, comfortable, quiet
Location: nice location in Caen, just by the river. Plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance.
We stayed overnight here on the way to a visit in Normandy. We drove to the hotel straight to the boat and it was quite easy to find from Ouistreham. In a quiet spot, but there are restaurants and bars right opposite, just on the other side of the pedestrian bridge. Our room was very quiet, very clean and great for a short stay. We didn't have the (extra cost) breakfast as we wanted to make an early start. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Just to be hyper-critical, the carpets in the hotel corridors were in need of replacing and there were chunks of wood out of the skirting boards in places. Suspect this was the hotel domestic staff spilling their cleaning materials and banging their trolleys against the skirtings. No reflection on the quality of the hotel though, it just looked a little tatty. Oh, and I left a pair of earrings on the dressing table and the lady I spoke to on phone an hour or so later, very kindly agreed to pop them in the post for me. Which I thought was really nice .... so, yes, very nice stay. We couldn't find the hotel parking, so just parked on the street in the road adjacent to the hotel. parking is extra to the room rates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by meredydd o.

ideal location for Normandy visit

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Ebookers
Good breakfast, garage useful as car parks full especially on Saturday night as market takes parking spaces on Sunday. Good value at 12 euros/night. Inbetween bar ok but closes early, but plenty of bars on Porte de Plaisence. Staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Claudio from Mons

Beau sejour

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Bel hotel, juste un peu cher
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Larisa from bruxelles

bel hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
un peu cher mais pas mal du tout
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Terrence from Little Rock, AR

Good location, weird shower

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
The location was great, just a short walk or cab ride from the train station. The people were friendly and easy to work with. The main complaint about the room is the shower, it seemed to be the worst design ever, it did not keep the water in the shower and would run water all over the bathroom floor, not much to do about it, just a poor design. other than that though, good location to one of the local eating and hang out spots.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marie-Odile from Blois

Bel endroit

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
Séjour agreable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from Solihull - UK

Good hotel for short or journey break

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
Two night stay to break journey to Calais and see the area. Location in centre of Caen is excellent, Hotel staff very helpful, room 'bog standard'- could have been anywhere - but an good deal including breakfast which you could brunch. Parking under hotel for €10 per day massive plus in area that is very hard to park. No restaurant in hotel and partner grill next door underwhelming. However area is stuffed with excellent places to eat so no loss. Great for a few nights, D Day, a bit of Culture and eating.