Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Comfort and location

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: I enjoyed its location, its character, the size of the bedroom and its comfort, the cleanliness and the friendly and helpful staff.
Location: On the edge of a pedestrian area,with restaurants, cafés and stores, close to the château de Caen and its museums, to the port, to the Caen Memorial
Located in the heart of Caen, in the pedestrian area, this hotel is only a 10 mn walk to the Chateau de Caen and to the harbour. Lots of interested churches and 2 abbeys worth visiting.There are buses and street-car lines only a short walk away. The downtown area is beautiful and good for shopping. It is also ideally located to go to the «plages du débarquement» and the museums there. The hotel staff members are very helpful and extremely nice. My room was very spacious, bright, quiet, and very clean. I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA

Got shifted to sister property

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: N/A
Cons: N/A
Location: Definitely go see the Caen Memorial
Hotel moved my reservation from Royal Caen to sister property Best Western Moderne. We did not have any previous communication of such change, however the Moderne was a great property on the next block with parking and the staff was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Great location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Knowledgeable and personable guy working at the front desk. He was kind enough to draw us numerous maps & recommended restaurants & sights to see.
Cons: Tiny bar in the lobby was being renovated so nowhere to have a drink in the hotel, although staff will pour you one to take to your room if you like.
Location: Close to William The Conqueror's castle & the Abbaye-aux-Hommes where he's buried. Only a 30 min drive to Juno Beach & an hour to Utah Beach.
We were interested in touring D-day beaches, but wanted to stay in a city rather than a small town. Caen was perfect, providing lots of restaurants, shopping & many historical sights. Hotel is located in a relatively quiet area with a small park across the street. It's an easy walk to shop & eat. Parking is an issue as the public parkade across from the hotel is expensive. We were able to drop the rental car at Avis, directly across from the train station, & hop a train to Paris (2 hr trip). After arriving in Paris, I realised I left a pair of gold earrings in the room, & although I contacted the hotel twice by email after we left, no one has replied several days later. This was disappointing after the great service we had.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is quite central.Very quiet area during the night, we saw some doggy people in our way back. Night staff was not aware that there is a express bus stop to the ferry just behind the building.We took a taxi to the main station.They also charged us a bit more than what we expected from the website.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by olivier

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Very good location ,the staff was very helpful and went out of their way to help us Rooms very comfortable Wifi works perfectly Don't see any negatives things to say about this hotel keep the good work best regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here for visiting war museums/landmarks, great location if your driving
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medford, Estados Unidos de América

Very nice central location

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Not at all, everything was great. The staff were the friendliest people and very helpful.
Location: The Chateau, the churches and their history back to William the Conqueror. Easy access to Mont St. Michel and Normandy.
Better than good hotel, great location, quite and clean. Large rooms in very good condition and priced right. Nice amenities. There is a restaurant next door that offers full breakfast if you don't want the continental. Good food and a very good price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
We were only at the hotel one evening. We were in Caen to spend two days touring the Normandy area as pertaining to D-Day. The young couple that owned the hotel were most accommodating. Overall we had a very good experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels