Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Amazing views set high up in a mountain valley

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Only thing I can think of is that the legs of the beds made a noise every time you turned over at night which can wake your partner.
Location: Only stayed the one night this time
After visiting lots of hotels around the coast line we thought we'd try an inland one. Wow breathtaking views from room , restaurant and swimming pool. Highly recommend this in every way.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

top stay

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
An amazing place that is a must!
4 out of 5
by Julie from Haddington

€5 extra for everything

Posted Dec 8, 2015 on Hotels
This is a beautiful, clean, well maintained hotel in an excellent location But, service was a bit poor, breakfast was poor & sparse, had to pay €5 each per person for 'swim cap' ( compulsory ) €5 for game of pool, €5 for sauna & additional € 5 per person for steam room, also rooms were very cold
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

In beside the clouds,so mysterious

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Everthing Food is very good and not too expensive
Cons: No charge for sauna and steam room.
Location: Walk to the village lots of restaurants, nice church and beautiful views,
Here for two nights high up in the mountains in Madeira. The rooms are basic,no fridge in our room.fabulous view looking onto the mountains and down into the Nuns Valley. Lovely restaurant,all the staff are very pleasant. Good cooked breakfast,lots to eat.watch the coffee machine,sometimes needs help. Swimming pool etc looks onto the cliff and mountains you could not get anything better .You have to pay 5euros for the most ridiculous swimming hat, but you can always keep it as a sovereign - caused such a laugh to put it on. You have to pay extra for the sauna and steam room so ask before you book to make sure you get the right package. Thus is all new and we just loved it.we gave been a few times, not with swimming pool.walk down to the village takes about 1 hour 30 min if you wear good footwear, same back but pick up a long stick it will help you as it is very steep.up in the mountain you can be in clouds for quite awhile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Welwyn

Great hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Everything; rooms / views, staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Good walk down to village; we took 90 minutes taking our time. Got back up in under 1 hour (my wife took the bus).
Great hotel, amazing views from rooms. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Can't fault anything. We were lucky with the weather so views stunning. A bit remote, but you know that if you're booking this hotel. A new road opened December 2014 (not shown on maps but just before road from hotel joins VE7) gives a great drive to Pico Do Arieiro and stunning walks from there.
5 out of 5
by English from Hampshire, England

Fantastic view, really lovely people

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel is a real gem. The view from the rooms and restaurant is amazing. We couldn't get enough of it. The staff are very friendly and helpful and work tremendously hard. We have stayed here several times before and enjoyed each time. Most times we have hired a car as the journey is all uphill from Funchal (about 20 minutes). We have actually walked downhill into Funchal (takes about 3 hours) and used the bus service for a different type of holiday. The building of an indoor swimming pool and gym is coming on and will be ready soon. Do not be put off if there is a wedding function on at the hotel when you visit. The staff still give you the same attention and the food is no less inviting nor slower than normal. The staff do everything they can to make you feel welcome. We will revisit again!
4 out of 5
by Iris from UK

Good Hotel, friendly staff

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels
The Hotel is under Construction at the Moment but as we were only there for the Night it was ok and the Noise starting at 8 in the Morning was still ok to have breakfast and to relax. The breakfast is good and rooms are clean.
4 out of 5
by Subee from London

Extraordinary mountain location!

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels
A real find - we were very happy with our 2-night stay here. The reception staff were very helpful with ready answers to all our queries. I had requested a superior room, and we were allotted 'minus 2nd floor'. The trees partially blocked our view of Curral das Freiras, but the spectacular sunset colours in the surrounding mountains took over! We had a balcony overlooking the beautiful valley. We had 2 bedrooms, which meant that our double bed was in the inner room and we were unable to look at the marvellous views from the bed. The floors were cold and we were unable to walk around barefoot, but the quality of the bathroom and bedroom furnishings was excellent. We ate at their restaurant and could not find fault with the quality of both the food and the wine; however, the price was quite high compared with the room price (very reasonable). The service in the restaurant was very good, and the mountain & valley views absolutely to die for! For the duration of the day the front of the Estalagem is full of sightseeing tourists in coaches and cars, and there are tourist shops. After dark there is no-one. It is lovely in your hotel room because you are the other side to all this chaos. We zig-zag walked down to the town, had lunch and walked it off coming the whole way back up. A great walk - about 2 hours each way.
5 out of 5
by Magdi from London

Stunning view, fantastic service and food

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels
Absolutely lovely hotel with amazing views and with very friendly staff who help with any question. The restaurant serves massive portion of fresh and tasty food! The only minus are very thin walls especially when you have noisy neighbours
5 out of 5
by Muffin from Grantham, Lincs

5 Star Accommodation. Best views on the Island.

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels
This was for me the best of the 5 Hotels we stayed in. Best views on the Island. Fantastic food. Great for walking (if you have your Madeiran knees). Could not fault anything about our day at the hotel. Highly recommended.