Ratings based on 812 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Across the street from the beach, very clean.

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Clean, just a few feet from the ocean.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Close to town with quaint little shops and restaurants, also close to Hearst Castle.
We always stay at Sea Otter when we visit Cambria. The staff is so friendly and helpful and the rooms are very clean and quiet. They also offer a nice breakfast every day. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Great Hotel and location staff is wonderful, the breakfast basket is a special touch. Only thing is the beds really need to be updated to a better quality. Everything else was awesome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location!

Posted Nov 20, 2017
What a beautiful little hotel. It sits right across the street from moonstone beach, great location, the staff is very nice and go above and beyond. Will definitely be coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, CA

Cozy room near the beach

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Location, breakfast, amenities
Wonderful views! Loved walking on boardwalk to see the seals and wildlife. Great access to tide pools. Beds were very comfortable. Very clean bathroom. Very quiet even though all rooms were occupied. Loved fire pits and breakfast delivered to the door in a picnic basket. We will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Australia

What a great hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2017
We loved this place...unfortunately we had to leave early so missed the breakfast (which gets delivered to you room!). Great room in an great spot.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Nice hotel across from Moonstone Beach

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Accommodations, staff, breakfast delivered to the room, landscaping, the pool, easy parking, charging stations for electric vehicles, good lighting.
Cons: They have made considerable improvements, so we did not notice any needed improvements.
Location: Cambria, Hearst Castle, The Town of Harmony, beaches, trees, friendly merchants, excellent reataurants.
This is our third time we have stayed at The Sea Otter Inn. We love returning there because we can always count on exceptional accommodations. Since our last visit, they have added two nicely designed outdoor gas firepits with ample seating. Nice way to engage with other travelers. The Sea Otter Inn is withing walking distance to The Moonstone Bar & Grill and a short drive into the East & West Cambria business district loaded with shopping and restaurants. There are many motels to choose from alone Moonstone Beach, and we have tried several, however we always return to The Sea Otter Inn. A perk not always available at other motels, is breakfast is delivered to your room every morning! Way to go. Thanks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice, however...

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: clean, quiet, had a pool,
Location: great dining near and far
breakfast leaves room for improvement - quality, time of delivery, ...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel across from beach.

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Proximity to beach.
Location: Beautiful walks on beach and boardwalk. Lots of restaurants in cute downtown. Had fabulous meal at Robin' downtown.
This is a cute, homey motel right across from the beach. We are return visitors and have great memories of staying here and enjoying the whole ambiance and beauty of this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Foster City, CA

Great location, nicely appointed, dog-friendly

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Location, luxury touches, value
Location: Moonstone beach boardwalk directly across the street; downtown Cambria just minutes drive away
Small, great value motel with very nice extra touches: private back patio; in-room thermo-controlled gas fireplace; sheltered, outdoor lounge seating areas with gas fire pits; better-than-usual-“continental” breakfasts delivered to room each morning (limited but delicious choices including pastries prepared by local bakery). Clean and modern rooms with latest furnishings and appointments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right at the beach

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Location: The location was good for access to the beach and up to the Hearst Castle. We were surprised by the lack of mid priced full service restaurants.
We had a nice one night stay at the Sea Otter. The room was a little tight, but that was to be expected. Beach access and outdoor fir pits were great.