Ratings based on 619 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England, UK

TOP DOLLAR ROCK BOTTOM

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: City Centre location and car park
Cons: Customer service.
Location: City centre but only colleges to visit (if open) Fitzwilliam museum and the usual shopping malls.
City centre hotels with parking are rare as hens teeth in Cambridge so expect to pay top dollar for any hotel. In spite of requesting early check in at time of booking and on two occasion in the week prior it was not within the Doubletree's capability to try and find a room for two weary travellers to change prior to a luncheon function in Cambridge. Toilets were the only option...unacceptable for us and lavatory users alike. Room adequate but dark gloomy decor and nothing special only the price and this was lower than at peak times. Duvets and pillows thin. No visible sign of heating. £20 for two drinks at bar! Its a captive market for city centre Cambridge and as parking so abysmal in the city most visitors in cars will not have a choice as cabs cost a fortune if you staying even a couple of miles out of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Conference nearby

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Concierge excellent and efficient Staff generally Close to many interesting areas
Cons: Housekeeping
Location: Not applicable
Little time in hotel- for accommodation only Nice restaurant Spacious
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Modern hotel with great views of the river

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Overall , as ever with Hiltons , this hotel has a rather ' corporate ' feel , but this is mitigated by the fabulous views of the river cam . The staff were particularly helpful . Despite the 'business' ambience it was full of families which sometimes made breakfast a bit lively . Might be better outwith school holidays . Was not impressed with the cleaning of the room . Hardly seemed to have been hovered throughout our entire 1 week stay , and the cleaning of the bathroom was not thorough . Despite this , we enjoyed our stay in a hotel which is very well located .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Very nice hotel, very good location, excellent staff; only complaint was they were doing construction so a bit noisy at times but the staff went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by PAUL

A real treat

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
A most enjoyable stay. The position of the hotel was perfect with lawns that go down to the river. Here we sat in comfortable surroundings enjoying a drink watching the punting. I doubt I would stay anywhere else upon our return.
1 out of 5
by Sau Mei May

Not very nice hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
Is the graduation week in Cambridge. That's why the hotel charges US$400 per night. The hotel is very old and really need to renovate again. I was assigned to the lowest floor and the room's window is all blocked due to some renovation. But they said all the rooms were full.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Some staffs are very impolite

Posted Jun 19, 2017
Impolite staffs in check in counter. Not very helpful for travelers unfortunately
4 out of 5
by Kevin

Comfortable hotel with great location

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable hotel in a perfect location in Cambridge. The hotel restaurant has a large patio seating area adjacent to the river Cam and we delighted in eating lunch and watching the punters (attempt to) make their way up the Cam. The hotel is literally 1 block from Pembroke college 2-3 blocks from Kings and others. While the hotel is not fancy, it is clean and comfortable. I strongly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Alan

Alan

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Clean modern room Excellent breakfast buffet - worth getting breakfast as part of stay Excellent location with respect to University of Cambridge Front desk staff very good Overall excellent
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fab time at the Doubletree

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
Was really impressed with the hotel, location, modern, food and service were impeccable. Will definitely be recommending to others when visiting Cambridge. They even brought a surprise birthday cake and card to the room! So thanks to Gill!