Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Close to the Imperial War Museum in Duxford

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Public rooms were good, overall building has definite 'kerb appeal' and the staff were extremely helpful.
Cons: décor of the bedrooms
The hotel is in a very nice building and grounds. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The public rooms and overall grounds are very nice, clean and tidy. However the room we had, although being a good size, the décor was extremely tired (wall paper lifting at the edges down all seams on both the walls and ceiling. The bathroom was also very tired with some mould spots on the ceiling and grouting. although the restaurant was not open during our stay we found a wonderful pub in the village (5 minutes walk from hotel which I strongly recommend if you are in the area - John Barleycorn).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle Washington

Hotel Stay

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Close to the museum.
Cons: Maybe a shuttle to the museum would have been very helpful. It was a long and DANGEROUS walk for us.
Location: The Imperial War Museum A great pub around the corner. The people at the pub were especially friendly.
It was close to the war museum which was our targeted stay. The staff was helpful, but the first day it way a little understaffed. Some of the grounds could use some sprucing up. Very good stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, nice staff.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Rooms need some maintenance. Staff were friendly and worked hard at breakfast when it was very busy. Bed was comfortable.
2 out of 5
by Tracy

Not so good!!

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very expensive for a room in very poor condition. Will not return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A comedy of errors

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived an hour after earliest check-in to be shown a room we hadn't booked. After a lot of searching on the computer, our room was found. It wasn't ready but would be in '5 minutes', half an hour later it wasn't, so we dropped off the bags and went out. When we got back, we checked the guest information in the room - soup and sandwiches were available on a Sunday night. When we got to the bar, we were told they weren't. The information also told us about the dinner menu (and the hotel sign states that lunch and dinner is available to non residents). We asked to see a menu - there is no dinner. I don't remember having to ask previously for 'no herbs' on my full English before - I should also have said 'and no pepper'. I should also have asked for the toast to be served on a side plate and not the main plate. The last morning we arrived later than normal for breakfast but within the time stated in the guest info - breakfast was over. To be fair a member of staff came to our room and offered to make breakfast for us, but what had been vaguely amusing for the last few days was no longer funny and we just wanted to leave. The room and en suite were clean, but if you want to stay in Duxford, we would recommend the John Barleycorn where the food and service were great. We had the feeling that the Duxford Lodge Hotel would soon be on the market as a building plot with planning permission
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Good hotel near Duxford Air Museum

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Enthusiastic and caring staff. Good large quiet room.
Cons: Small niggles which I believe are being addressed.
Location: Location just off M11 is ideal for Cambridge and the superb Imperial War Museum Duxford Airfield
Hotel changed hands at the end of 2016 and the new owners are catching up with the lack of care shown by the previous owners. We had a deluxe room on the 2nd floor. It was generous in size and well fitted out but not yet back to tip top condition. Having met the owner, I am sure with his enthusiasm, it will be only a short time before this lovely building will be a top venue. I saw reviews that say continental breakfast only but this is not true. They do a wonderful cooked breakfast to set you up for the day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
Small room with extremely dated and some broken fittings, Restaurant was closed for refurbishment so we had to go out for a meal and no cooked breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lewes, East Sussex.

Hotel near Duxford Air Museum

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Food on Sundays. Covered walkway to the detached buildings.
Location: The hotel is close to the Imperial WAr Museums Duxford Airfield where there is so much to see and do it takes all day.
On arrival (Sunday 5.45pm) the car park was empty but the hotel open and a very nice young man appeared and showed us to a perfectly pleasant room - completely detached from the main building across a lawn so a good job it didn't rain. TV did not work so he changed it for another. No food at all available. Recommended pub no food either but told us of another about a mile away. Returned to find lavatory did not flush properly but too late to see to it. Altogether we felt rather isolated. Light went on outside room at night and shone through gap at side of curtains Breakfast buffet passable but cooked choice absolutely great and staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leics

hotel was convenient for our function in Duxford

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Comfortable room and excellent breakfast
Cons: Non-slip mats required in bath/shower. Otherwise great care is needed to avoid a serious accident
Location: Although our visit was connected with a 60th wedding anniversary, Duxford Aircraft Museum is handy
Since our booked room was not ready we got an up-grade and price reduction
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halesowen

Comfortable, friendly and relaxing

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: Location and comfort.
Stayed here before visiting the IWM Duxford. It is an ideal location, very comfortable with really friendly staff. The restaurant is great and the Wine cellar is excellent ! Vinny is an absolute star.