Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AUSTRALIA

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: peaceful
Location: very rural and picturesque
Very comfy accomadation lovley breakfast extras included
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for this lovely review. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Warmest regards, Robyn, Andy & Eden x
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice quiet location

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: All good
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to Cambridge
Enjoyable short term experience and there is nothing more to add
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Many thanks for this - glad you enjoyed your stay. Warmest regards Robyn
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The hotel was warm and comfortable and they had thought of everything in terms of making our stay enjoyable.
Location: Highly reccomend the Alpha Street Kitchen and Bar for dinner - 10 out of 10. Fantastic service, great atmosphere and the menu was faultless.
My sister and I had a short but thoroughly enjoyable stay. The hosts were extremely friendly and really helpful. Upon asking about a taxi for to town for dinner, Robyn did not hestitate to offer us a lift to and from the venue, we could not get over how generous the offer was.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for this super lovely review x We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and as a result of your review of Alpha St Kitchen, we will not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to our valued guests. Many thanks again - warmest regards, Robyn
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Comfy bed, close to Cambridge, very helpful staff

Posted May 6, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Friendly staff that were very welcoming and accomodating
Cons: -
Location: Close to Cambridge, lake Karapiro etc. great stay for cycling events.
Very homely feel. Heaters, electric blankets put on for us when we were out. Lovely little extras.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for this Vicki - we truly appreciate this lovely review. Thank you for choosing to stay at Huntington Stables Retreat, Cambridge x
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sevierville,TN

Room was fine. Hostess was rude.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Room and bathroom decorated nicely.
Cons: Screens on windows. More pleasant hostess.
Location: Hobbiton
I was really looking forward to spending the night at Huntington Stables. It was our last night of our two week journey in New Zealand. We knew we would be out late at Hobbiton Evening Tour, so I booked the Stable, since we would not have time to enjoy a more expensive option. The room was fine, except for no screens on the windows. There is no AC, so we had to leave the windows open. The room was decorated nicely. The bathroom was also fine. The property is in a subdivision, which is not what I expected. The continental breakfast supplies left for us included juice, milk, boxed cereal, one small container of yogurt, and canned fruit. We opted to eat elsewhere. All of this would have been fine with me. But the hostess was what dropped my rating. She acted quite annoyed and bothered by our arrival (afternoon arrival). She was terse and rude, and spent a total of about three minutes telling us about the room. No pleasantries - all business. What a disappointing greeting and stay at the Huntington Stables.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Robyn, Hotel Management
I am totally stunned by these comments & am at a loss as to how to succinctly respond. We clearly advertise what is included in the room. We do not charge for breakfast provisions in The Stall - these are complimentary! We also provide biscuits, chocolate apricots, a bowl of freshly picked fruit (feijoas), & unlimited wifi. I am sorry if these complimentary provisions did not meet your expectations. As I do for every guest, I showed you through The Stall. I checked with you that you knew you had booked the basic guest room. I asked you what you were doing for dinner & if I could book anything for you. When you told me you were going to the banquet at Hobbiton, we discussed this further - in fact I said how much fun it was going to be! I pointed out the hairdryer, pool towels, bathroom, information folder, laptop pillow, & maps. I asked you if you had any questions, then pointed out where the pool & spa were, & if you needed anything how you could contact us (right next door at the main house). Never at any stage was I rude to you - it goes against everything we do here! If you were unhappy with the room in any way, you could have let me know & asked for another room. We do not advertise that there is air conditioning in The Stall. I did point out the large fan however - which is more than effective for this small room. In regards to the property being part of a subdivision - this is completely incorrect. I'm not sure what lead you to think this. We are on a rural road, which has no subdivisions, & each property is one acre or more in size. I am incredibly sorry that you were unhappy with the room, the provisions, our property, & the service you received from me. We will certainly look to how we can improve in these areas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sevierville, TN

Room was fine, but the hostess was quite rude,

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Nice room. Convenient to Hobbiton.
Cons: Breakfast supplies. Attitude of hostess. Screens on windows,
Location: Hobbiton.
We chose to stay in the Stable, as we had plans that evening and knew we would not spend much time in the room, to enjoy a larger more expensive option. It was a cute room, decorated nicely. The bathroom was also very nice. Upon our arrival, the hostess acted annoyed (afternoon arrival) and quickly showed us the room. Even my husband commented on her rude attitude. The continental breakfast supplies left for us consisted of boxed cereal, canned fruit, and one small container of yogurt with milk and juice, Not exactly gourmet. We opted to eat elsewhere. The website gives the impression that the B&B is in the country. It is actually in a neighborhood. Frankly, I was excited about booking a room here and having the opportunity to stay there. Was disappointed!! One other comment-there were no screens on the windows.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Robyn, Hotel Management
I see you have amended your original review of your one night stay here. As I have already responded to the original review, I will summarise with bullet points. ~ We are not a Bed & Breakfast & do not promote ourselves as this style of accommodation. ~ You stayed in The Stall - a basic guest-room (not in one of the Stables). ~ Breakfast provisions are complimentary. I'm sorry they did not meet your expectations. ~ We do not advertise a "gourmet" breakfast for this budget room. We include provisions for a light continental breakfast, & there are more than enough provisions for 2 people. ~ We do not advertise that we are located in the "country". We are in a rural setting 5 mins from the centre of Cambridge. ~ We have neighbours therefore we are part of a rural neighbourhood. I do not know how this would have affected your stay in any regard, but I'm sorry that you were disappointed in our location. ~ We do not have screens on the windows due to the unusual shape & style of the windows. ~ Sorry you were "disappointed" with your stay here. ~ I apologise if my attitude came across to you as "rude". We go to great lengths to ensure we provide excellent service to all our guests. I spent much time showing you through your room & pointing out where things were located. I asked you if you would like me to book somewhere for dinner, I asked you if you had any questions, & if there was anything at all that you needed that you only need come to the front door & let me know. While this review & the original one you posted are somewhat scathing, we do take comfort in knowing that for some guests, it doesn't matter what we provide, what we do, or what personal service we offer them, we will never get it right. Thank you for choosing to stay in The Stall at Huntington Stables Retreat.
4 out of 5
by Stuart

Great for couples

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Decided to stay outside the town centre for a change which was a dumb move really as the place is really designed for couples not a guy writing reports on a business trip. My fault entirely. Would go back with the wife tho!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Stuart. We do urge potential guests to check the descriptions and photos of the rooms before booking, to ensure they choose the room that best suits their needs. We have four rooms that are quite different to each other. Your room - The Stall, is a basic guest-room designed for those simply needing a bed for the night. For business travellers we would suggest The Loft - which is better suited for working. The Loft also has a kitchenette which is ideal for those guests staying more than one night. The North or South Stable are luxury lodges for those wanting time out with their partner etc. Many thanks again for choosing to stay at Huntington Stables Retreat. Warmest regards, Robyn
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island, B.C.

Immaculate lodging and gardens near Cambridge.

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: The semi rural setting, the design and the quiet.
Cons: Nothing. Robin and her husband have thought of everything.
Location: Near Cambridge. Hobbiton is near by. Fine dining in Cambridge.
Our visit to New Zealand lasted 28 days, with stays at numerous lodgings; both B and B and Hotels. Huntington Stables was far and away the most memorable of them all. The Hosts were accommodating, gracious, generous and only there when needed. Our stay in 'The Loft' was the best. We were able to unwind on our own and relax. The Pool, the Gardens and the whole locale were beautifully and professionally maintained. Robin was very generous with her chickens eggs, gardens tomatoes, plus milk and bacon. We were very grateful for our stay with them and wished we had planned on a longer stay. The location, just 10 minutes from downtown Cambridge, got us away from traffic and congestion and noise. We would most certainly recommend Huntington Stables to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for this wonderful review of your stay here - we truly appreciate your kind words! See you again - Robyn, Andy & Eden.
5 out of 5
by Barb

Perfect location

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect location for town, Hobbiton, Bush walk, and other attractions. Really enjoyed the loft with its balcony overlooking the amazing Waikato landscape. I would stay again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for this positive review of your stay Barb - we truly appreciate it! Warmest wishes to you - regards, Robyn, Andy and Eden x
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Great short stay

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Beautiful quiet location and very comfortable accommodation.
I needed a place to stay overnight while on a business trip. The room was perfect for my requirements and provided everything (and more) that I needed. I received a friendly greeting on arrival and information about local restaurants and facilities. Couldn't have asked for more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for this positive review Steve, and for choosing to stay at Huntington Stables Retreat. Warmest wishes, Robyn