Ratings based on 3,292 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice hotel with a view

Posted Sep 24, 2017
At the end of our weeklong New England trip staying with ABNB hosts (which was wonderful), it was nice to stay in a hotel with onsite bars/restaurants and the service one expects from a 3-4 star hotel. It was an added bonus to receive a room upgrade and WiFi through Expedia. Overall we enjoyed our stay. Our room had a lovely view of the river, the restaurant has a decent "appy hour". Note that it's "appy", not "happy", because Mass. has a ban on happy hour (no discounts on liquor in bars/restaurants - yes, you read right). The location is good (close to the river, freeways, and within walking distance of modern, hip restaurants like Glass House.).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Convenient and pleasing

Posted Sep 22, 2017
The Sonesta is in a great location in Cambridge close to everything yet not congested in Boston. Parking is easy and the restaurant options are fantastic! Rooms are appointed very well with nice touches and many have views. It’s my go-to spot for Boston visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Or

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Nice and quiet and overlooking the river.
Location: This hotel is right around the corner from the Museum of Science. It is a wonderful place for young and old, especially on a rainy day. I
Very comfortable and quiet. Wonderful shower and upscale toiletries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Great quality hotel, very well located. I'll stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The hotel is very business and event focused. The pool and the gym equipment is a bit outdated but functional.
Location: If you do not wish to stay in the heart of Boston, this hotel is quietly situated at the end of the Charles River.
Overall a 4.5/5 experience. We did not spend full days inside the hotel, however an overnight accommodation appears satisfactory.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fort lauderdale

Great place

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Beautiful hotel, very good located and with increíble service. The bar at the lobby it's great! We will came back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sc

Vacation

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Paid extra for river view but only got partial view. Ask for change and were given better room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Great Boston location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Great view of Boston
Cons: The employees don't seem to be very knowledgeable about the hotel.
Location: Right across the Charles River from Boston, so close you can walk into the heart of the city and/or to Harvard Square.
The Hotel Sonesta is a great location across the Charles River from Boston. It has such a great view of the city that I slept with the curtains open. Near everything in Boston, though traffic is wicked bad outside and around the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Posted Sep 17, 2017
They have a very accommodating staff, especially Ellen the Consierge. Both restaurants are quite good and attractive. Hotel is near the train, so no problem getting into the city. Great views of the Charles River and the city. Very modern and clean rooms. The shower was a little tricky to figure out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location location. Rooms are small.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Location and access to city
Cons: Expect an issue with your reservation
Location: Perfect
Reservation included a city view. Unfortunately not available during check in. Expedia don't promise what you can deliver..