Ratings based on 516 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Hard to find any staff, very run down and in need of renovation
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Room was damp and smelly Breakfast limited choice and too crowded
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hythe.Kent.

any port in a storm

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: I am at a loss to find anything positive to say about this hotel.
Cons: everything from décor to service to breakfast.the list is endless.
Location: Can not comment on this as we were only passing through.
curtains were dirty,as were the windows which you could not unlock for any fresh air.Stains down the walls.Badly needs a major re-decorating job.The door lock was faulty and took some effort to open.Had I been an old person and needed to vacate in case of fire etc.it could have proved fatal.Breakfast facilities were poor and haphazard.The whole experience was like being in a halfway house for the homeless.The plumbing was bad with brown parcel tape under the basin pipe in an attempt to stop a leak.Only stayed there because it was close to Duxford and other venues were full up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blackpool

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Nice hotel if you just like simple, breakfast is nice healthy, tea/coffee all night, busses into city. Room is reasonable it does me, needs updating though, overall I'll keep going back
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

This is a hostel not a Hotel. Very very basic.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: I could park my car
Cons: A bulldozer and a wrecking ball. I really feel this building is completely unsuited for purpose.
Location: Cambridge is fantastic. And the Imperial War Museum was epic.
This place cannot be described as a hotel. The electronic locks on the rooms suggest this used to be some kind of 'secure unit', so if you are looking for that prison experience - this is the place for you. The rooms are stark and empty. There are no tea making facilities, not even a glass for the bathroom. 1 pillow and absolutely nothing else in the room apart from a tiny TV fixed near the ceiling, a basic B&Q wardrobe and desk. The floor was lino covered concrete, as I say, very prison like. Also, the breakfast, well there was none. What you did have was self service toast with jam/marmalade, with 5-6 nondescript cereals in self service containers, a fruit juice and tea & coffee. This could not even be called a continental breakfast as there was no cheese or meats. Absolutely nothing cooked at all even though there was clearly facilities to do so. Finally, the man on reception was abrasive and basically disinterested. The concept of service here is non existent. I managed one night and left early. I use budget accommodation all the time, but you would have to pay me (a lot!) to stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Not a good place to consider.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Sorry. We didn't like anything about this place. Extremely disappointed right across the board. We wouldn't consider staying here again.
Cons: Cleanliness of a good part of the building especiallly bathrooms and general smell as you walked in the main door
We were very disappointed with this accomodation. The entry smelt and our room was very disappointing. Extremely small with curtains that were falling off the poles. The bathroom had a bad dampness smell about. Parts of our room were clean including the linen. We saw some rooms which had shared bathrooms and they were much nicer than the one we had but the bathrooms were not at all clean. We saw these rooms and used the shared toilets as we waited for the manager, who was away, to check us in. We would definitely not consider staying her again and would certainly not recommend it. It appears to be poor quality student accommodation.
1 out of 5
by jake

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good friendly stay

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were friendly and helpful it would be greatly improved if a larger dining room was available or maybe a longer time allowed for breakfast as the room was packed however we were allowed to use the dining room throughout the day for our own lunch and dinner will be staying again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient place near Cambridge

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Very convenient place near Cambridge and very helpful staff
4 out of 5
by Mel

Good value for money

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
This is a vey good budget stay. For the price it represents good value