Ratings based on 369 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed our short break. Staff very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Hotel good mattress very uncomfortable

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Good hotel and facilities were good. It was very busy during our stay with two functions being held. Bar very expensive Hotel room was quiet especially given busy with functions so that was good The mattress was very uncomfortable and we could feel the springs which meant back ache for the duration of our stay. Otherwise would want to stay again if the mattress was different. Some shops nearby and a pub with food = again this was packed
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Darren T, Hotel Management
Dear bigj - Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We will review the bar prices but it is compared to local food and beverage outlets in Cambridge. Please call ahead on a future stay and we can review your bed, as beds all have new mattresses. Thank you and kind regards Darren T
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Godalming, Surrey

Nice, quiet setting. Very comfortable rooms.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Really enjoyed the spa experience with the overnight stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Darren T, Hotel Management
Dear Jenny - Thank you for your review and we hope to see you return soon, Kind regards Darren T
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from worcestershire

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Excellent short stay. Great breakfasts. Good location. Clean rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Darren T, Hotel Management
Dear L - Thank you for your review, we are delighted everything was positive and we hope to see you return soon. Kind regards Darren T
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire

Expedia did not do what they promised

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Hotel itself was nice, also clean
Cons: If Expedia are booking on behalf of people, get it right! The hotel needs to learn how to handle paying guests when there is a function going on
Location: Location good. Not far from town. Handle stores a stones throw
I booked the Cambridge belfry, for our wedding anniversary. I was told at the the time of booking, and in confirmation email from you, the hotel would be notified to to something nice for us. The hotel, had not been informed. They said they would do something, but didn't! Was not happy at all. There was a wedding party staying there, the hotel couldn't cope. Breakfast both days were not pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Darren T, Hotel Management
Dear helene - Thank you for your review and I'm sorry the details was not passed on to us but we will make sure we give this feedback to Expedia as they are normally very good at passing on details on. I will pass on to the breakfast team about your feedback to make sure they are better prepared and does not effect guest path. Thank you and kind regards Darren T
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Location and customer service
Cons: Everything was good
Location: Plenty of places to visit nearby including Cambridge and St Ives.
Very nice décor, excellent staff and lovely room. Convenient for visiting Cambridge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Darren T, Hotel Management
Dear Marilyn - A superb review thank you, delighted that you enjoyed your stayed. Yes we are a good location to visit the surrounding attractions, when in St Ives hoped you were able to visit the Norris Museum and catch some history on Oliver Cromwell. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lowestoft

Nice room in a goo location, bad food!

Posted Aug 11, 2017
We had a nice stay for one night, got there in the evening so decided to eat at the hotels restaurant. Wish we had gone out....food was not good. it would have been ok, but not at the prices charged. and £5 a pint :I
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2017 by Darren T, Hotel Management
Dear Benji - Glad you enjoy stay, I hope the restaurant were able to rectify for food comments. With regards to the price of a pint our Premium lagers do edge towards £5 however we do have other lagers which are cheaper. Thank you and hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambs

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: As I said earlier the staff were friendly, and seemed helpful the breakfast was good.
Cons: Fit air conditioning to all rooms or at least supply cooling fans that work properly
On arrival we booked in and were allocated a room on the second floor, I asked it the room was air conditioned and was told that only higher priced rooms were and that all had been booked, but the room allocated had a fan for my comfort... this was completely useless as there was not hardly any air movement, we did find another in the wardrobe but this didn't work. The appeared to be designed for disabled use, as it had a wet room with shower instead of a bathroom all the time we were there a strong smell of drains emanated from there. other than these issues the rest of the hotel seemed ok the breakfast was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Darren T, Hotel Management
Dear John - Thank you for your feedback, I'm delighted the team were friendly and you enjoyed the breakfast. We are reviewing cooling system for the hotel, to cover for the few weeks in the year, when the weather increases in temperature. We do take every bit of feedback very seriously, as we would like to always improve on our customer journey. Thank you and kind regards Darren T
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kurri Kurri NSW Australia

nice relaxing place

Posted Jul 2, 2017
It was the end of a long holiday so it was nice to to relax here. Although, it is close to transport for a trip into the wonderful town. Nice place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Darren T, Hotel Management
Dear Garrie - Thanks for the review and delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York

Hot Hot Hot

Posted Jun 25, 2017
A reasonable hotel on the edge of cambridge and handy for Papworth Hospital. Staffs are lovely and helpful, the hotel itself is a little dated and could do with new furniture and carpets etc. Most of the hall carpets have holes in through wear and tear The room was clean, but my word it was so hot, there is no air con and the rooms are clearly nuclear powered. The fans provided merely blow hot air over you, it was pretty difficult to sleep. Staff were the saving grace, its fine for a night basically a big premier inn with a spa, but due to the room temp and lack of air con no ore that that
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Darren T, Hotel Management
Dear Peter - Thank you for your comments and pleased that our location near Papworth Hospital suited your needs. I hope you can appreciate that the unseasonal overnight temperatures of recent days have contributed to the hot rooms, as this is not the case usually. I will let the Team know that you found them helpful and lovely - hope to welcome you back again soon when the temperature has dropped a little and hopefully you will have the time to use our pool and Spa - thank you