Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely hotel close to Cambridge centre.

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Clean, well run and lovely location.
Cons: Dinner menu could be changed regularly, we stayed four nights and it was the same each night. Could also do with draws in the bedrooms.
Location: Less than ten minutes walk and you are right in the centre of Cambridge. Also lovely green space across the road.
Would recommend this hotel. Lovely location, clean and comfortable with very efficient staff. Service in the dining room was excellent and the food very good. My only two criticism, no draws in the bedroom and they didn't change the dinner menu during the four nights we stayed with them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Very nice hotel well appointed central Cambridge

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Warm, attractive, very comfortable rooms and amenities. Close to centre of Cambridge, could have walked to all key sights if the weather had allowed
Cons: Food in the dining room was ok but not as good as in some of the country hotels
Location: Could walk to all the key sights in Cambridge
Very helpful and pleasant staff on reception all assisting early arrivals due to foul weather across Uk. Rooms were wonderful and recently refurbished, big spacious with very large beds a great luxury after a week of b&bs. public rooms were very attractive too. Cost of food was very high and although ok was not worth the cost. However we would certainly stay there again. On site parking a great plus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good central situation

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Well placed hotel, not cheap, but basic bedrooms and an extra charge of £15 to use the car park !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Great location

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Would definitely return and recommend. Service and breakfast excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Location ,lift access to rooms.
Cons: Air conditioner very noisy .No hair conditioner only shampoo.No vanity set and no body lotion .Hair dryer hard to locate under desk
Location: Centrally located across the road from a park and a short walk to shops and restaurants.Bikes at hotel for patrons use.
Good hotel well located .Rooms were spacious.Walk in shower and renovated bathroom.Beds were comfortsable .Easy parking at £15 per day.Lift to rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Standard hotel room

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Incredible Espresso Martini served by attentive bar staff.
Cons: Value for money.
We arrived earlier than the check in time and left our suitcase with the staff at reception. Upon checking in, we were told out suitcase had been left in our room, which wasn't the case. Our suitcase was found after having been sent to another room. Not the best way to start your weekend away. The room was overall small, cramped and the standard you would expect from a Travelodge. As we paid much more than Travelodge rates, we would expect much more. There was no iron or ironing board, a very small cupboard for clothing and the shower was luke warm. The price does not reflect the standard of accommodation, specifically the size or standard of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, excellent setting.

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Very good experience, highly recommended. Situated close to city centre for sight seeing
5 out of 5
by David

Great base for visiting Cambridge

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel convenient for the city centre. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The room was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was delicious.We had dinner at Cotto restaurant which is attached to the hotel. I would stay at the Gonville again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL USA

Perfect location

Posted May 3, 2017
Great hotel perfectly located in Cambridge. Near everything.
5 out of 5
by Katherine

Immaculate!

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous place. Immaculately clean. Lovely people. Would stay here again.