Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Too pricey

Posted Mar 12, 2017
No fridge in the room . Very cold room . Nice breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The old character of the hotel was lovely
Cons: The restaurant prices
Location: Close to Peterborough Arena
Nice pool, polite staff, good buffet breakfast but expensive to eat in the restaurant in the evening.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F

Saved by the restaurant!

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Lovely looking building on the exterior, quite traditional inside (though in some areas looking a bit tired). Staff member who checked us in at reception quite unhelpful, seemed genuinely perturbed that I asked him to check if we'd booked breakfast and a feeble other requests were met with equal annoyance - though he wasn't rude he wasn't exactly helpful). The "spa" facilities are little more than a slightly glorified leisure centre, wanted to relax with the other half but had kids running around screaming for the afternoon. Shouldn't be advertised as a spa. Other half wanted a massage but all slots were booked up (even though requested days in advance - whilst this is unfortunate it didn't seem to be so busy so clearly understaffed/lack of facilities). What saved this place from a bad review from me was the restaurant, lovely room, very grand; genuine and friendly staff and delicious food for the evening meal (albeit reasonably costly for a best western it was worth it). Breakfast however at £30 for 2 is pretty extortionate... The "pub" associated with the hotel just next door did reasonable pub grub food and had a nice atmosphere for lunchtime and a drink. Overall, sufficient for what we wanted but lacking in a lot of areas. Spa is over-rated, rooms a little tired and hotel staff could do better. Nice building and lovely but expensive restaurant. Probably wouldn't return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eating was variable

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The quality of the food in the Ramblewood was mediocre and the service very slow. The quality of the food in the Huntley Restaurant was good. The quality of the breafast on the Tuesday morning was poor but much better on the Wednesday. To discover that our booking for Tuesday dinner was not 'in the book' when it had been reserved on our arrival on Monday, that the restaurant was full and that our only option was to sit in the brightly lit adjoining breakfast room, where others would be joining us soon, was not acceptable. It took two trips to reception and the intervention of the duty manager to get us a table in the restaurant. We noted that the restaurant at no time was full in the two hours we were there and that nobody sat to eat in the breakfast room. We were being fobbed off to cover incompetence. Our daughter was married in that hotel 10 years ago - for which it had our highest praise. We were disappointed with our patchy experience this time and no longer feel able to recommend Orton Hall to others. C S & S J Smith
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from huntingdon

Great spa experience for daughters birthday.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Need new mattresses on our beds.
Daughter and I went for spa and treatments.We enjoyed our time here would recommend this to everyone.We enjoyed our evening in the Ramblewood inn,best beef bogouignom we have tasted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Beautiful hotel, booked a double room but got a twin, when we asked reception, they offered a new room or complimentary breakfast and we very efficient
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

I was wiring to be honest my misses loved it

Posted Feb 6, 2017
My girl loved your sauna just a little upset the spa assuages were fully booked c my fault not checking first
1 out of 5
by lee

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
terrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value, good pool, good hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Good value for money, good pool - 7 year old kids had great time!